A morning on the beach

I wake up when the sun rises. Even on vacation. So in the summers that means I wake up around 6 every morning. Which is great in day-to-day life because Christopher is an early riser as well. We love getting an early start to our day. However, on vacation Christopher usually sleeps in (and by “sleeps in” I mean 7-8am so still not late, haha!). During that hour or so that I’m awake before him on vacation, I usually take some time to spend with Jesus (in normal day-to-day life this time usually happens in the afternoons). Since we were at the beach this weekend, I could think of no better spot to spend with Jesus than to go watch the sunrise over the beach.

beach morning

I pray a lot. All throughout the day. In some ways it’s like breathing. Something that just happens because God is so much a part of my life. But taking time to sit down and rest in His presence is something that I really have to be super intentional about. So I have a prayer journal to help keep my mind focused. Day-to-day my quiet time with God consists of reading scripture and writing my prayers down in my prayer journal. But I’ll be honest,Β I often forget to just be still. To just sit in His presence and allow Him to speak to my heart.

beach morning2{my current prayer journal}

But this past Sunday was different. It was such a beautiful time of worship. I’d say normally about half of my prayers are prayers of thankfulness (because really, God has blessed me above and beyond what I ever could have asked for) and the other half are prayers of petition (“God, please heal this person. God, please teach me to love better. God, please forgive me for my selfishness.” etc). And that’s not wrong or bad. But that morning on the beach, there were no petitions. No asking anything of God. Just pouring my heart out in praise and thankfulness to Him.

beach morning3

I was overwhelmed by the beauty and majesty of the creation surroundingΒ me. So for an hour I sat on the beach and worshiped the Creator of everything around me. I took some time to just sit and be still in His presence and you guys, it was wonderful. The whole trip was fantastic and nurturing for the soul, but that specific morning was especially awesome.

Love Rach

25 responses to “A morning on the beach

  1. What a special time! In a gorgeous setting with your God, just giving thanks. I can see how that specific morning was especially awesome.

  2. I’m so glad you had this experience. I agree that the beach is one of those places where it’s easy to marvel in his awesomeness. (The mountains too!) I am the same in that it’s hard for me sometimes to just sit in his presence. My mind starts running with all the things I have to do or, the opposite, I fall asleep. Writing down prayers or saying them out loud keeps me focused.

    • Yes! The mountains definitely are another place where I feel this way as well!

      It can be so hard for me to keep my mind focused during quiet time! There are so many things that pop in my head during that time that remind me of things I need to get done. It’s good for me to practice that self control and quieting my mind. Just resting in His presence. But it’s definitely a learned skill. Days like last Sunday, at the beach, make it so easy. Reminds me of the spiritual high I’d get every summer from the Bible camp I went to. Places where it’s easier to be filled. πŸ™‚ And now I’m just rambling on, haha! πŸ™‚

  3. Beautiful post my friend, it made me feel so warm inside.

  4. This is beautiful!

  5. so absolutely beautiful. ❀
    what a special, heart warming time.

  6. There’s just something about the ocean that make devotionals and quiet time so much more profound! ❀ – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  7. This sounds like the perfect setting for such a special time with God. I love those times when we are so overwhelmed with all of the good in life that giving thanks for it all just comes so naturally. God is good!

  8. I had a similar moment last time Justin and I went to the beach…which I guess has been years ago (no wonder I’m dying to get back there!). When we returned from China in 2012, the first place we went was to Justin’s dad’s apartment in Cocoa Beach. And for our anniversary we found a cheap little motel (in between all of the expensive high rises) that sat right on the beach, just for a night. Justin was in the room that night, watching some kind of sports game, and I ventured outside in the dark with a flashlight. But at some point, I turned off my flashlight and just sat under the moon and listened to the waves splashing onto the shore, feeling like I was sitting on the edge of the earth. And as I was also on the edge of a major life transition, I started to pray that things would go smoothly. But I found myself unable to pray for any specific outcome or path, because I was just filled with an overwhelming sense of peace that God had something great in store for us. And so far, he has. πŸ™‚

  9. This is SO Great! I just love that you poured your heart out to God! Honestly, I LOVE prayer journals! I keep one about a year or 2 ago and LOVED it and how much closer I felt to God… now I still keep one, but it’s not as consistent. Thanks for reminding me to get back on that! Glad that you had such a great time on the beach! Sounds like a wonderful experience!

    • Absolutely! I’m always glad to help a sister out. πŸ™‚ Prayer journaling has been one of the biggest blessings for me. I LOVE being able to look back at all the prayers God has answered and the ways He has moved throughout my life. And it definitely helps keep my mind focused while in prayer which helps too! πŸ™‚

  10. It sounds wonderful- I love the times of just complete and utter thankfulness. An adoration for creation and the thrill of being on this earth even for a brief time. Glad the trip was everything you needed!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  11. Beaches are awesome for that kind of thing. There’s this island in Lake Huron in Michigan that my family has vacationed on many times–morning quiet times on the beach, looking out at the lake, are just what the soul needs sometimes.
    Also, I can relate to waking up when the sun rises, whether there’s a need to or not.

  12. My last beach trip I got up early before everyone and sat out on the balcony. It is one of my favorite memories from the trip. The ocean and waves are an amazing atmosphere to pray, worship and to just be still.

  13. This looks and sounds SO perfect! I’m so with you on praying all day, but forgetting to take time to be still. It’s so much easier for me to talk, read, and actively learn than to just praise and listen. Thanks for reminding me to be still! Also, if I ever live near a beach, it will be my quiet time location every day *insert heart-eye emoji here*

Leave a Reply

