A weekend in Louisiana

This past weekend we drove to Louisiana to visit some sweet friends of ours.

with casey

Casey and I have been friends for nearly 3 years now. We “met” through the blog world and quickly went from commenting on each other’s blogs to sharing our life stories. We first met in person in the summer of 2013 when she and her family passed through Memphis. Christopher and her husband, Alan, hit it off instantly. Since Casey and I were so close and Christopher got along so well with Alan, it just made sense for us to go visit them for a weekend last year. So we did. And had a wonderful time. So we decided it should be annual thing. Which brings us to current day… and the reason why we were in Louisiana this past weekend. 🙂

us with casey and alan

Casey has her hands full with two little girls now so she doesn’t write on her blog often these days, but I love that a friendship that began through the blog world has lasted. Despite the fact that she rarely blogs, Casey and I still talk often (2-3+ times a week). Usually through text, but email and phone calls as well. Casey is so good about picking up the phone to check in (and I’m so bad about initiating that – I’ve learned a lot from her!).

sisters collage

Briley is nearly two months old now and we were so excited to finally get to meet her. And seeing how much Landry has grown really blew me away! Time is flying by, but I’m so glad that we have these quick little weekends together to spend in person.

me with the girls

This weekend included a lot of good conversations and just some sweet fellowship together. Including the sweet fellowship of the boys making fun of Casey and me as we sat together drinking our homemade bone broth. Casey was the first one to really start educating me on gut health last year. I’ve learned a lot from her so it was only fitting that we should sit down together and chat over steaming mugs of bone broth. 😉 We had such a wonderful weekend together! Casey and Alan are such a blessing to us. And we love getting to watch their sweet babies grow up. 🙂

Have you gotten close to any of your blog friends? I have found myself so thankful to have such an amazing group of ladies I’ve met through blogging! 

Been to Louisiana recently? If so, how does the humidity compare to where you live? Memphis is humid because, well, it’s the south. But every place I’ve been in Louisiana (Baton Rouge, New Orleans, Monroe, and Alexandria) confirms for me that it is literally the most humid place I’ve been in my entire life {and I once spent a week in Houston, Texas in July!}. No wonder Casey and her friends all have such perfect glowy skin, it’s like they live in a sauna. 😉

Love Rach

25 responses to “A weekend in Louisiana

  1. Louisiana is the most humid place! And I’m a Floridian, haha. Glad you had such an awesome time!

  2. I don’t know much about humidity these days. It rained quite a bit last week and I still wouldn’t call it “humid” in the 505. 🙂

    So nice that you guys got to see your sweet friends and meet the new baby! I’m intrigued by the idea of bone broth. Share more about that!

  3. Blog friends are some of my best friends! I just met another one in person yesterday! It was lovely.

  4. Awe!!!! Every bit of this post feels me with so much joy! You and christopher are good for the soul! I can not wait to see the pictures! I didn’t see the one of landry behind briley saying “shhh.” We sound like such nerds sitting and drinking bone broth! Hahaha. Let me know when you make a batch and we will hold one another accountable!

  5. That’s so cool that you girls became friends via blogging! I really appreciate the relationships that have formed through blogging, although I have never met any of my blogging friends in real life.
    I’ve never been to Louisiana, but visiting New Orleans is on my bucket list! As for the most humid place I have ever been…Buenos Aires, hands down. For example, today the humidity level is 88%. (And I used to think NJ was humid!)

    One last thing…what is bone broth? I feel out of the loop haha

    • Totally not out of the loop! I just learned about it last year. 🙂 I blogged about bone broth today so you can read all about it! 🙂

      And girl, one of these days we will totally meet up and you can say that you have met a blog friend! 🙂

  6. I shall be experiencing the Louisiana humidity for the first time this year. I can’t say I am looking forward to it.

  7. Pingback: Bone Broth in the Slow Cooker |

  8. Oh my gosh, Louisiana and its humidity. I thought Cincinnati had bad humidity and then we were relocated to Louisiana (Alexandria) last year and the humidity is crazy.
    Love that you and Casey met through blogging and visit each other 🙂 so awesome!

  9. How fun that you met through blogging and became good friends! Her girls are beautiful. It looks like you all had a great time together!

  10. I’ve never been to Louisiana before, but I think the Illinois humidity is about all I can handle! haha
    It sounds like you had a fun trip. Isn’t it great how we can develop genuine friendships with people through blogging and social media?!? And as always, you look gorgeous in all of your pictures!
    XO
    Amanda

    • Yes! I think it’s so cool how real friendships can begin through blogging!

      Christopher was talking about the humidity difference between Illinois and Tennessee the other day. He said he couldn’t have imagined what it would have been like to go from living in Illinois to living in Louisiana!

  11. Briley and Landry are gorgeous! I love those little outfits! It’s great that you’ve had the chance to make REAL friends out of blogging friends. I’m so excited to meet you later this summer! (And I know what you mean about the phone–I am a bad phone friend. I’m just not great about picking up the phone to make a long, “catch-up” phone call.)

    On Mon, May 18, 2015 at 2:28 PM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “This past weekend we drove to > Louisiana to visit some sweet friends of ours. Casey and I have been > friends for nearly 3 years now. We “met” through the blog world and quickly > went from commenting on each other’s blogs to sharing our life stories. We > fi”

  12. I just typed a really long comment, and then I accidentally made it disappear, so hopefully it doesn’t show up twice!

    What a sweet family! And the girls have such pretty names!! Unique girl names are my favourite 🙂 I’m really curious about bone broth now, and as I was scrolling through the posts I missed, I saw that you have one about it…SO excited to read more! Oh, and I’m jealous of the humidity (there and in Memphis) the humidity here is literally non-existent. Every time I travel somewhere even remotely humid, I feel like I’m suffocating for the first couple hours. But once I’m used to it, it’s the BEST.

    • Yeesh, you would’ve loved this past weekend in Memphis, then! I felt like I was drowning in the air because it was so humid! I had two photo sessions this weekend and both were in the 100 degree heat with 90% humidity. It was something awful. But the good news is the photos turned out great, haha!

      Also, I adore unique girl names too! Sometimes I worry that they are going to be “too” unique and more “weird” than anything, haha! So sometimes I try names out on strangers. Like if I’m at Starbucks where I don’t know anyone and they ask for a name for my order I’ll tell them a name we like for a baby and see if they have to ask me to repeat and then whether or not they spell it correctly on my cup. It’s helped me knock a couple of names off our list. I figure if Christopher can tell them “Batman” as “a name for the order” then I can try out baby names. 😉

  13. Megan valentine

    Louisiana is so much more humid than anywhere else I’ve lived! I work right by the river in Alexandria, and it’s really bad sometimes !!

Leave a Reply

