Bone Broth in the Slow Cooker

Before I forget to mention it yet again… the winners of the Thai Pants are Kelsi (blue) and Jayda (black)! Hooray! You’ll be receiving them from me soon! 🙂

Earlier this week I mentioned how Casey and I sat together chatting while drinking our bone broth. A couple of you asked me to share more about that. I had thought I would see if I stick with drinking it daily for awhile before posting about it, but since you guys asked, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to go ahead and share. 🙂

Bone Broth (4)(Not coffee! Nope, that’s my mug of reheated bone broth that I drank today. I add a pinch of salt, pepper, and garlic and it’s perfect!)

Several years ago my sister, Melissa, sent me her favorite method of making chicken broth. I added it to my list of things to try and then just never got around to it (I had no idea how simple it was – I kept thinking it was easier just to grab chicken broth from the store). Fast forward several years to last spring when we went to visit Casey’s family. While we were there Casey shared with me what she had been learning about gut health. And one of the big things is making homemade bone broth and drinking it daily.

Basically bone broth is made by simmering bones in water for a long time. It extracts all the minerals and goodness inside the bones and puts it into the broth. {more on the specifics at the end}

Bone Broth (1)

I came home and did some of my own research and thought “I should try that!” But then summer came with all its craziness and then it was the holidays and then I forgot. Until April. When my doctor told me that I needed to change some dietary things (long story for another day). So I decided to try my hand at making bone broth (which is the same as my sister’s method of making chicken broth). And decided to try drinking it every day.

I haven’t been doing this long enough to say “oh yes! I will make bone broth weekly and drink it daily forever! And the health benefits are awesome!” But I have been making it long enough to know that it is so much easier than I expected. And that I did feel awesome during the two weeks I drank it daily (of course I made several dietary changes during that time so it could’ve been any number of things that made me feel so great). About three weeks ago I had a week where I wasn’t feeling great so I ate pretty much nothing but carbs (hello comfort food). And then I got out of the habit of making my bone broth. But the weekend with Casey has jump started me again.

My bone broth broth recipe comes from Wellness Mama. If you are interested in the benefits of bone broth, read her post about it! She goes into a lot more detail than I did here.

Bone Broth (3)

Bone Broth

-2 lbs of high quality bones (I’ve only used chicken bones so far because that’s what I make most often – in fact the carcass from that roasted chicken recipe that I shared with you guys became bone broth!)
-1 onion, roughly chopped
-2 carrots, roughly chopped
-2 tbsp apple cider vinegar (to help draw out the goodness from the bones)
-enough filtered water to just cover the bones & veggies in your slow cooker

Add all ingredients to your slow cooker. Turn on low and let cook for 24 hours. After cooking time has passed pour bone broth through a strainer to remove the bones, veggies, and tiny gritty pieces. Store in fridge up to 5 days or freeze in silicone muffin molds for individual portions. Let broth freeze in silicone muffin mold then pop each one out and place in large freezer bag.

Bone Broth (5)

Like I said before, I don’t know that I will continue to drink it daily forever. But I do know that it is better than any chicken broth I have ever bought from a store. So if nothing else, I will continue to make it just to have chicken broth on hand. And if it continues to make me feel great, I might just keep drinking my bone broth every day forever.  🙂

Have you ever made bone broth? Or chicken broth? Or any homemade broth?

Would you try drinking bone broth or does this gross you out? Christopher thinks it’s weird to just drink straight broth. But to me, it’s like sipping on the broth from soup (which I love!). So it’s no hardship. 🙂

Love Rach

22 responses to “Bone Broth in the Slow Cooker

  1. I’ve made chicken bone broth from the bones of a whole chicken when I’ve made chicken noodle soup. It was more abbreviated though – I would just cook the broth on the stove for 2 hours or so, rather than 24 hours. And I didn’t use apple cider vinegar. I’ll have to try this method!

  2. I like to make my own broth when I make chicken noodle soup. It really is easy and handy to make it and freeze like you mentioned. I always have chicken broth on hand so we usually just buy it, but the homemade is so much better. I’ll have to read more on the health benefits. I started doing it to avoid so much sodium in the store bought kind.

  3. I want to find those muffin pans! I haven’t had mine today, but will after reading this post!

  4. I’ve heard about the positive effects of bone broth, although I’ve never considered drinking it just like that. I did make chicken broth once and used it to make homemade potato soup! I was on a baking kick that day. Putting them in muffin molds is genius!

  5. I’ve always wanted to try bone broth but never get round to it. I’ve heard that it’s so nourishing and good for the body.

  6. To be totally honest, just the name grosses me out. I remember my husband’s cousin drinking it leading up to her wedding so she would fit in her dress. It made me want to barf. ha! I believe you that it tastes good though. I’m intrigued by the health benefits as well.

    • I hear you. The first time Casey mentioned the name to me I was super grossed out too. But when I realized that it was essentially the same thing as chicken broth (just cooked longer), I felt a lot better about it. 🙂

  7. Drinking chicken broth when I’m not feeling well is definitely a normal comfort beverage for me, so I wouldn’t see any difference in drinking homemade bone broth! I never knew it was so easy. 😉

    -Tia

  8. Very, very interesting! I’ve never heard about this before. I like the idea! I just don’t know if I have the time to make it…I don’t have a slow cooker, so I’d have to make it on a day where I know I’ll be home for several hours. I’m most interested in it for it’s digestive benefits. I’ve had stomach issues for years, and at this point I’m pretty much open to trying anything! I’ll be bookmarking this recipe. Maybe this Sunday I’ll have time to make my first batch! Thanks for sharing, Rach! xx

    • ​I haven’t done the GAPS diet personally, but I have a friend who has lots of digestive issues and she did the GAPS diet for a while and felt awesome on it. Bone broth was a big part of that diet. You might look into GAPS and see if it might help you? ​

  9. If someone would make it for me, I would drink it.. The carcass idea does kinda freak me out. Hahaa! I love it, though!! Good for you!!

  10. Hmmmm, I do love broth! I think it’s really soothing and yummy. I’ve never heard of bone broth before now, but I do imagine it’s really delicious!

  11. GAH, this is so interesting!! And it sounds really good…I’m heading over to the Wellness Mamma link as soon as I’m done catching up on your blog! I’ve made homemade chicken broth before, and it sounds really similar (except for the apple cider vinegar.) I might have to try this! I feel like Steve would have the same reaction as Christopher, but it sounds good to me. Of course, I pretty much drink sauce/gravy every time we have that kind of meal, so maybe I’m not the best judge of what’s gross/not.

    OH, and so excited about the Thai pants!! 😀

Leave a Reply

