That one time I aged 20 years in 2 days…

This past Monday I went to get my hair trimmed. My stylist’s first question was “So are you out of school for the summer yet?” I laughed in response. Then I told her that I actually graduated high school 11 years ago. She told me I was lucky for having such a baby face and I didn’t disagree with her. πŸ™‚

little RachMe when IΒ reallyΒ had a baby face, haha! I was a cutie. πŸ˜‰

Ever since I was 13 years old people have guessed my age to be around 16-17. I think some of that was that I was a bit more mature for my age because of the things I saw and experienced living overseasΒ (we spent the school years living in China, only returning to the States for 6-8 weeks in the summers). And I think a lot of it was that I was always so tall. I liked that people thought I was 17 when I was so young, but it was in the back of my mind that someday I might look 40 when I’m 20.

abs, rae, hollyTwo of my sisters and me in December of 2000. Abby (on the left) was 11, I was 13, and Holly (on the right) was 19. I was already 5’6 or 5’7 by this point so you can see why people guessed I might be closer to 16 or 17.

Well thankfully that didn’t happen. Instead I hit age 17, 18, 19, 20… and continued to look 17. These days people typically guess my age to be between 17-22. I still get asked pretty frequently what grade I’m in or what I am majoring in. If I’m with Christopher during the winter when he has his beard, people guess his age to be 30s and mine to be late 20s. And those are pretty accurate guesses (he’ll be 30 in December and I’ll be 28 in July). But most of the time people guess my age way low.

Until Wednesday night.

Every Wednesday night we go to church with the teens we mentor and then go out to dinner with them afterward. We got to meet the new college student who is interning with the teens this summer. He’s a college student named Easton (we already knew the girl intern). Poor Easton made the mistake of asking Christopher if we were Kelsi’s parents. Kelsi just graduated high school and is turning 18 in July.

us with kelsiUs with Kelsi at her high school graduation last week

You guys, this college studentΒ thought that I was old enough to have BIRTHED a high school graduate. Christopher and I both died laughing (and so did Kelsi when I called and told her). We love Kelsi and would be honored to have a daughter like her, but honestly we think of her more as a sister. She’s only 10 years younger than me.

So somehow, between Monday and Wednesday I managed to go from looking like a high school student to a lady old enough to have given birth to a high school student. I’m definitely not wearingΒ thatΒ outfit again! πŸ˜‰

Have you ever had someone guess your age and beΒ wayΒ off? I’ve had little kids guess my age anywhere from 12 to 100 because, well, they are little kids and don’t quite grasp the concept of age, haha! But this was definitely a first for me coming from a college student!

Love Rach

34 responses to “That one time I aged 20 years in 2 days…

  1. Yall do not look old enough to be her parents! Ha! I have had people ask if alan was my dad, which is ridiculous. They just looked at our height haha.

  2. Hahaha, this post and Casey’s comment made me laugh out loud!!! So funny! And you really did look 17 when you were 13!!! That’s amazing!! I’m the same way – I still feel like I look 17 and most people guess that I’m early 20s. I’m hoping they still think that when I’m in my early 30s.. ;))

  3. Oh no!!! Sounds like you handled it well at least, I probably would have been on the floor in tears:) like you, people have always thought I was younger, but now it seems to be catching up with me. There’s really no getting around it when your pregnant and have four kids running wild around you- I’m obviously not 22:)

  4. lol!!! You definitely don’t look old enough to be the mother of a high school student. Don’t worry!!

    People say I have a baby face also, and there have been times when strangers thought I was around the 15-16ish age too! Hopefully when we’re elderly we’ll still be looking at least a little youthful πŸ˜‰

  5. This is too funny. You look no where near old enough to birth an 18 year old don’t you worry.

  6. For the record, I don’t think you look like you could be parents of a high school graduate! Don’t worry, I think you look young and fabulous!

    When I was younger (like a teenager) I would go to restaurants with my family and they would give me the children’s menu thinking I was under 12 when really I was 16 or something. It always infuriated me, but as you get older you learn to REALLY appreciate when people underestimate your age!

    Last year I went to the supermarket with my Mom when I was visiting in the States, and the woman at the check-out asked what grade I was in…”Well, actually, I’m turning 27 next week” haha

    With that being said, I’m always on the lookout for the best eye cream I can get my hands on, because I think my age is starting to catch up to me! haha

    • Aww thanks, girl! I’m glad to hear that you think we look young and fabulous! πŸ™‚ You definitely do still look really young! I’m with you, though, on wanting to take care of my skin. I don’t want to go from looking like I’m in my early 20’s to looking 40 overnight. πŸ˜‰

  7. Hahaha! Oh my gosh! There’s NO way you look that old. πŸ™‚ Usually people guess that I’m way younger than my age–I work at a restaurant and people always come in and ask, “Why aren’t you in school?!” I always tell them that I actually am out of school and graduated college 5 years ago. It’s always a shocker to them. πŸ™‚ When I was pregnant people always gave me looks like they felt bad for me, because I was a young pregnant girl working while I should be in school haha. I always tried to flash them my wedding ring or something–but that doesn’t always work.

  8. we went to a pizza farm on saturday and our waitress was your doppelganger. sure enough, however, she was 17…

  9. LOL, cute post, and cute pix! Blast from the past… but yeah.. no way you look that old!! – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  10. How sweet of your hairdresser! I can relate! At 24 I still get ID’d at the movies for 15 reted films! haha πŸ™‚

  11. Ha, ha, ha!!!! That’s too funny!
    I’ve always had a baby face too. People usually think I’m in my early 20’s, when I’m really going to be 32 in June. I don’t complain either… πŸ˜‰

  12. ha! that’s hilarious!! i’ve had it both ways. at this age, i like it when people guess i’m in my 20s! I was on vacation for a week so I am slowly getting caught up with everyone! Elle Sees

  13. Haha that is way too funny! I got a lot of very rude comments with my first pregnancy (I was only twenty years old). People were always asking if I was dropping out of school. I also got a few comments about how sad it was that sixteen year olds were getting pregnant left and right. I ended up buying a cheap “wedding band” to wear when mine was too small toward the end of the pregnancy, because I was so sick of the mean comments. I would love to hear more about your school days in China sometime!

    • Aww people can be so rude! That’s awful! 😦 Hopefully with this one people will think you look at least a little older since you have Logan running around with you. Hopefully no rude comments this time!

      It has been along time since I really blogged about China. I should do that again sometime! Here’s a post I wrote about it several years ago. πŸ™‚

  14. hahahah oh no!!! that’s crazy they thought that!!

    I get asked what I’m studying in school ALL THE TIME too. I’m a few years younger than you, 25, but they still guess I’m 18ish. It’s fine by me! Everyone says that will come in handy later down the road πŸ˜‰

  15. Haha! How funny. He just couldn’t gauge age well – that’s my guess for how he could possibly think that.

  16. Haha! I get the super young thing too. A couple of years back my friend (who is two years younger than me) and I were checking out at Walmart when the cashier asked (we were buying wine) if my friend was my mother. She wasn’t pleased. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, you do look super young. Silly college student! πŸ˜‰

  17. HAHAHA, oh my goodness!! I literally cannot see it at all! You guys definitely look more like siblings than anything. People usually guess my age to be around high school or college too, but once when I was 19 or so, my Dad and I were playing at the new church he and my Mom were going to, and the pastor introduced me as “Grant’s wife.” SO mortifying for both of us, haha.

    • Oh my goodness, I can only imagine how mortifying that would be!

      Side note… I’m guessing you meant “playing” as in “playing an instrument” and not like “playing on the playground”… so what instrument does your dad play? Also, where is the video of you playing? Because I’m pretty sure that should happen eventually. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

