Impromptu Girls’ Night at the Drive In!

Every Tuesday night (for nearly 4 years now!) a group of 10ish of us have gathered at our friends’, Whitney & Jonathan’s home for dinner. Usually we sit around and chat for a couple of hours and then we all head home. Well not this week! Mandy and I were talking about how much we loved Pitch Perfect 2 and the other girls were saying that they wanted to go see it. Mandy and I both said we’d be more than happy to go see it again. Then the drive-in got brought up. And we all thought that was such a great idea. And next thing I know I’mΒ checking movie times. And it’s playing in 20 minutes at the drive-in. So we grabbed a bunch of blankets and pillows, left the boys with the kiddos and off we went!

at the drive in

Even though Christopher and I don’t have kids, a lot of our social life is lived as if we do. Since most of our friends have kiddos, we work around their schedules (naptimes, feedings, bedtimes, etc). Which means we are rarely out late with this group of friends.Β This was such a fun (and totally impromptu) night!

at the drive in2Whitney, Courtney, Me, Mandy, and Heather

We sat all squished together and laughed all through the movie. Even though Mandy and I had seen it, we both still found it hilarious!

malco{source}

Also, I’m not sure how I have never blogged about the Summer Drive-In. It is a favorite of ours! $7.50/person and you get to see a double feature if you want to stay late enough for it (we ended up leaving after Pitch Perfect and not staying for the second movie because it was 10:45pm and way past all our bedtimes… so yes, we are old, haha!). They even let you bring your own snacks which I think is super great. πŸ™‚

Have you been to a drive in movie?Β 

Are you more of a planner or an impromptu fun sort of person? I am most definitely a planner by nature. I’ve learned a lot from Christopher about being more spontaneous which has been good for my soul. πŸ™‚ So while the two of us have a good balance between planning & spontaneous/impromptu fun, we usually have more planned times with our friends (because of their kiddos’ schedules). So this was such a fun, unexpected, unplanned evening! πŸ™‚

Love Rach

36 responses to “Impromptu Girls’ Night at the Drive In!

  1. It looks like such a fun time! I’m glad you ladies were able to get out without the kids, and the guys! LOL

    • I’m not going to lie, I pretty much always love being with Christopher (I am so THAT girl). But I know what a reprieve it is for my friends to have an evening without kids pulling on them from every direction. So I was glad that we were able to make it a girls’ night for their sakes! πŸ™‚

  2. I haven’t been to a drive in movie in YEARS! How fun.

  3. I’ve never been to a drive in! We don’t have one anywhere close to us. I guess I’m more of a planner when it comes to hanging out! I can’t remember the last time I was spontaneous!

  4. I love going to the drive in! There’s one in my hometown, and David and I would go every summer while we were dating and the first few years of marriage. It’s become super popular lately, since it’s one of the few in MA, so we haven’t gone in a while. I think I need to change that!

  5. The first movie I ever saw at the drive in was E.T. in 1982. Love drive ins!!! I remember seeing “The Blob” at the drive in, Empire Strikes back, Indiana Jones. Good times.

  6. This is so fun! That is exactly the way to be spontaneous!

    I have been to a drive in movie. It was actually my second date with the guy I dated before I dated Kevin. We drove to a town two hours away to get to the drive in movie place! He did pretty good with that date…. Fortunately he messed up plenty of other things, so I was free to move on to Kevin when the time was right for both of us.

    • So I just love stories about how little things led to where people are now. I’m just glad the previous guy didn’t ruin your experience with drive in movies. Maybe someday you’ll get to experience a drive in movie with your family of three! πŸ™‚

  7. I went to a drive in for my last birthday, and it was so much fun! I’m hoping to go see Pitch Perfect 2 with a group of my friends as well…it sounds SO funny!

    -Tia

  8. Oh how fun!! I’ve been wanting to see this! And I always forget about the drive in but it’s the perfect time to go.

  9. Aww that looks like so much fun! I love the set up you all had going on in the back of the truck. I love going to the drive-ins. They are definitely on my bucket list for this summer!

  10. Fun!!! We have these in Austin but I’ve never been…..You’ve made me officially add it to my 2015 summer bucket list!

  11. The drive-in is so fun! It’s the only way we saw movies last summer in Pittsburgh because we could bring Jake and he would sleep through them. We found a drive-in here in Knoxville about an hour away and we’ve been once. It’s so fun!

    • That’s so brilliant! Before Nicole mentioned this up there, I would’ve never thought about how perfect the drive in is for new parents! Baby can eat and sleep and make noise all without disturbing other people. And mommy & daddy can still see a current movie with a theater experience. I love it! We definitely thought movies would be cut out for a little while after we have kids, but nope! The drive in, it is! πŸ™‚

  12. Fun!!! I’ve never been to a drive in, but it’s on my list of things to do! I love that you guys just made it work and happen.

    Your Tuesdays sound really awesome! I think it’s great that you and Christopher go with the flow. Life with kids can be challenging, but it’s so fun!

  13. This looks like so much fun!! Glad that you got to have some R&R time with your girls!! I’m all about that! πŸ™‚ Glad it was a good time!

  14. I didn’t even know that drive-in movies still existed!! That looks like so much fun! I’m not a big fan of going to movies, but I would totally go to a drive-in just for the experience! Normally I’m more of a “planner” but I enjoy a few spontaneous decisions from time to time!

  15. This just says summer to me. I’ve never seen Pitch Perfect either and I’ve been told I need to.

  16. I LOVE going to Drive-In theaters!!!! πŸ™‚ Nate and I might try going this summer, since Brady can sleep through it (as we’ll adjust the volume in the car and can easily feed him if he wakes up). Were going to try anyhow… πŸ™‚ Fun times!!

    • That is SUCH a good idea! I read this comment to Christopher and he is excited too. We’ve always thought that once we had kids, movies would kind of be out for a little while (unless we get a babysitter). But of course! The drive in! I’m glad you mentioned this because now I’m totally logging this away for later!

  17. Oh my, I’m so jealous of the drive-in!! I’ve always wanted to go, but there isn’t one near me! Looks like such a fun night…impromptu friend time is the best πŸ™‚ And Pitch Perfect 2 is the best! It was way funnier than I expected it to be!

  18. Super fun girls night! I was hoping to go to the drive in again but now it’s too hot. Maybe if we are here in fall we can go again! I really want to see PP2, as well!

Leave a Reply

