The Centennial Celebration!

If you follow me on Instagram you know already that we had quite the eventful weekend. There were dinosaurs and alligators involved as well as a trip to a Stone Henge replica. I plan to blog about all of those things, but first I want to share with you guys the reason we got together with my family in the first place.

hundredth birthday

The last week of April, my brother-in-law turned 40 and the first week of May, my mom turned 60. Those are both kind of a big deal mile stone sort of birthdays. So we decided to gather together to celebrate. It didn’t take us long to realize that we were celebrating not only a 60th & 40th birthday, but really 100 combined years of wisdom and life. Which led to us calling it “The Centennial Celebration!” {yes all those decorations above say “happy 100th birthday!” ๐Ÿ˜‰ }

fiesta party dinner

We threw a fiesta complete with Mariachi music and tex-mex food! Taco salad, 7 layer dip, and enchiladas! It was all so very tasty if I do say so myself. ๐Ÿ˜‰

hundred years of life

The guests of honor! 100 years of wisdom and life between the two of them! (check out the “100th birthday” sashes they are wearing). And of course a cheesecake for dessert. Speaking of that cheesecake… it nearly caught on fire when we brought it in. We talked about trying to fit 100 candles on it, but were afraid of setting the house on fire. So we settled with a candle in every slice. It’s a good thing too because we had a candle fall over just before they were supposed to blow themย out. Thankfullyย nothing caught on fire and no cheesecake was hurt in this process. ๐Ÿ˜‰

We had such fun celebrating their combined 100 years of life! There were presents and fun. But best of all was a little additional present that we gave our mom as the festivities were winding down. We had missed celebrating mother’s day with her in person so we added that celebration into our centennial evening.

For years my mom has talked about how she would love to have a Kitchen Aid mixer, but that she couldn’t fathom spending that much money on one (she and my dad are the sort who seldom buy anything material for themselves). She talked about it the way that other people talk about owning a sports car. A nice thought, but not something she ever expected to own. Well, I happened to find a steal of a deal on a Kitchen Aid mixer and my sisters and I went in on it together and surprised the socks off our momma.ย Christopher got her reaction on film:

I love Wesley’s “Are you crying because you’re sad?” question. She was just so happy! And clearly I was too. Christopher got such a kick out of how excited I was for mom to receive her present. I’m not kidding when I talk about how empathetic of a person I am. I really do grieve with friends who are grieving and rejoice with friends who are rejoicing. It brings me such joy to see other people so happy. And I just knew my mom would love this gift. ๐Ÿ˜€

the kitchenaid

More exciting things coming up on the blog soon! I’m looking forward to filling you in on the rest of our weekend fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

Tell me about a time you surprised someone with a gift you knew they’d love.ย 

Have you ever celebrated 100 years of something or someone?
Love Rach

21 responses to “The Centennial Celebration!

  1. Wow! This is so exciting!! Congrats Congrats!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What a lovely celebration! This past Mother’s Day I presented my mom with a bracelet charm with her mother’s signature etched in it (from Etsy). My grandmother passed away 10 years ago and this gift actually took her breath away. We both started crying.

    In 2012, when I was working at the Fairmont in Boston, we celebrated its Centennial. It was quite the year since the city celebrated 100 years of Fenway Park as well!

  3. The video melted my heart! I’m empathetic too! I can’t wait to hear all the details about this weekend!!!

  4. That’s so sweet! Especially since it seems that most mother’s never ask for anything, but you know when they’d really enjoy receiving something in particular! I crocheted a blanket for my mom for Christmas—I had mentioned once that I would make her a blanket, but purposely never brought it up again so she’d be surprised when she received it…and boy was she! It was extra special for her, since she’s the one who taught me how to crochet!

  5. Awww! Love these celebrations. And you! That video is so so so sweet. โค

  6. I LOVE that you celebrated 100 years between the two of them. How special! And oh my goodness, what an amazing surprise for your mom!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ That was such a special thing to do for her!

    • It was such a fun celebration! And crazily enough, we have several “round” birthdays this year. Not only are they 40 & 60, but this is the year that Christopher turns 30 and we have a grandparent turning 70 and my nephew turned 10 in February. Big year for our family! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. We’re about to celebrate several family milestone birthdays this year too! Justin and I are turning 30, my mom is turning 60, and my dad is turning 70! Not sure yet how we’ll celebrate….

    • โ€‹That’s awesome! So many milestones! Christopher turns 30 this year too! We’re trying to figure out how we’ll celebrate. He keeps telling me that a a cruise would help soothe his soul as he deals with “being old” ๐Ÿ˜‰ โ€‹

  8. This is the cutest! I love the 100th birthday theme…such a sweet idea! And I may have teared up a little watching the video. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I get SO excited to give people gifts! It’s my love language ๐Ÿ™‚ I actually really want to see if my siblings will go in on a FitBit for my mom for Christmas or something. How awesome! I’m glad you were able to find a good deal. I registered for a KitchenAid for our wedding on a complete whim, and one of Jordan’s dad’s lawyer friends actually bought it for us! Talk about surprised. I love that thing. They are expensive but totally worth the money, I think! P.S. Love the 100 years of wisdom idea ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That is such a fun idea! I hope your siblings will go in with you! And yes, that KitchenAid is totally worth every penny. My mother-in-law had one sitting on our counter for years that she never used. After we bought our house she was over one weekend and watched me kneading dough by hand when she asked if I wanted her KitchenAid. I think I refused it ten times before she said, “I never use it. I haven’t used it in years. I’ll bring it next time we come.” And that was that. I’ve had a KitchenAid ever since. And I LOVE it. I think fondly of her every time I use it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      This is the first time we’ve ever done this for our mom. Two years ago we did something similar for our dad. We all went in together and bought him a flat screen TV for Christmas. For YEARS he has joked about how he wants a flat screen TV (the one they had was the same one we had growing up). But of course my parents are far too practical to spend money on “luxury” items. So I sat in line all day on Black Friday to pick one up for him so we got a steal of a deal and my sisters went in on it with us. He was SO surprised! Now that we’ve given a big gift to each of them they keep teasing us that they’d really like a new car (totally kidding, obviously). If we had that kind of money, I’d totally get them one, though. Gifts isn’t my top love language, but I do really love giving them to people. Especially if it’s something that I know they will really love. ๐Ÿ™‚

      So since gifts are your love language… what’s the best gift you’ve received?

  10. That’s a cute idea to celebrate the centennial! What a fun dual birthday.

  11. Pingback: Because I’m happy… |

Leave a Reply

