That one time I held a baby alligator…

Yup, you read that correctly! This past weekend I held a two-year-old alligator! After we explored the Barber Marina area (you know, with Bamahenge and the dinosaurs), we ate a quick lunch and then drove a short ways to Summerdale, Alabama which hosts Alligator Alley.

alligator alley2{giving Kenzie a piggie back ride in the parking lot of Alligator Alley}

I’ll be honest with you guys, alligators aren’t really in my top favorite animals categories. I tend to like fuzzy puppies, kitties, bunnies, and horses. But when we heard that we could hold an alligator at this place, I was sold. My nephew thought the whole places was awesome because… well… alligators. It was worth it to go just to see how happy he was there.

alligator alley4

Oh, and because we can now say that we have held an alligator. That’s just cool. I mean, how many people can say that? Besides, you know, all the people who visit this place ever year, haha! 🙂

alligator alley3

We even got to see “Captain Crunch” who holds the world record for bite strength. He was 800 pounds of terrifyingness. Before he came to Alligator Alley (which is a refuge for nusance alligators), he was a puppy killer. He used to come up into peoples’ yards at night and eat their sleeping dogs. Isn’t that awful?! I was pretty horrified by that. But at least he is contained here and no longer hurting puppies.

alligator alley

We had fun seeing the alligators of all different ages and sizes and also seeing the alligators in their natural swamp habitat. Though let me tell you, after seeing how well they blend in with the marsh, I don’t ever ever ever want to walk through a swamp that doesn’t have bridges, fences, and wire keeping them away from me. 😉

Love Rach

31 responses to “That one time I held a baby alligator…

  1. That looks like such a fun time! I love the last picture of you and Christopher lol!

    How interesting–there’s also an Alligator Alley down south in Miami, Florida! I wonder if they’re the same 😀

  2. Reptiles creep me out. I don’t know that I could touch one. Your facial expression in the last picture is spot on!

  3. So cool! I love that last picture. Awesome 🙂

  4. Looks like a neat place. (I would say fun but I’m not sure how much fun I would have there haha!) The last picture is too cute!

  5. That’s crazy! We have moose, bears, coyotes, and fisher cats out here… but definitely no alligators!!

    • I had never heard of a “fisher cat” before this comment. So naturally I Googled it. Those little guys look kind of terrifying. However, I think it’s awesome that you guys have moose! My brother visited Alaska a couple of times and he said he woke up one morning and there was a moose looking in his bedroom window! I always thought that was the coolest thing!

  6. Very cool!! I would do it once just to say I’ve done it haha! 🙂

  7. That picture is hilarious!!! Captain Crunch sounds like a terrible alligator! That’s so sad that he ate so many dogs! I don’t know if I could hold one!!!! Eeek!!

  8. That last pic is so awesome! Sounds like a cool day!

  9. I hear you on not wanting to walk through a swamp and surprise one! Love that last picture of you both.

  10. Haha that last picture is perfect. Your face is amazing. I love that you got to hold a baby alligator. So fun! But I don’t blame you for not wanting to walk through swamps now. Yikes!

  11. I am jealous! That is so cool! Definitely an experience that will forever be remembered.

  12. Oh my goodness!! I’m with you on being a cute fluffy animals person, but I have to say, that baby alligator is pretty adorable!! So horrified by the dog stealing one though! Much better that he’s contained and not terrorizing the neighbourhood.

  13. That is one VICIOUS gator! You are so brave. 😉😄

  14. We used to spot alligators in our neighborhood in South Florida, but I’ll leave the alligator holding to you 😉

  15. That picture of you and Christopher looks like so much fun 🙂

  16. Pingback: Family Staycation! |

Leave a Reply

