The very last Princess Party

Five years ago when we bought our first home and began renovating it, we would put up little videos on Facebook of how the progress was going. In one video Christopher and I talked about a color for our entryway. We had asked for suggestions from people and the color “Tinkerbelle” was brought up. His response was, “I have actually picked out the color. It’s a light green. We considered ‘Tinkerbelle’ but I will not have any room in my house named after Tinkerbelle or anything with Disney. So we going with ‘Water Spout’ because that’s manly. Because that’s a water tornado.” Cue laughter.

Anyway, one of the teen girls who I was close to (not one of the ones in my group of 7th & 8th graders, but an older girl) commented on the video about how awesome Disney and princesses are and how those things definitely need to be present in our house. Which led into this “joke” of how we needed to host a “princess party” at our house as soon as we moved in. Well, wouldn’t you know, that joke not only became reality, but something that happened over and over again. Since 2010 I’ve hosted 8 princess parties. And this past weekend was the very last one.

princess collage3

My, my, how things have changed. There are three little girls in that 2010 shot who were also present at the very last party this past weekend. Can you tell which three? Here’s a hint:

original girls

They were such babies! And now they are all graduated and off to college in a few months! I had a group of about 5-6 when I first started with the 7th & 8th grade girls, but these were the three who were most active and present at everything. And from these three our group grew and grew over the years. I mean, we are awesome… why wouldn’t other girls want to join us? 😉

princess party4

A princess party consists of four main elements: 1. dressing up in adorable dresses. 2. eating out together somewhere in said adorable dresses. 3. taking photos together in adorable dresses. 4. coming back to my house to change into comfy clothes, eat junk food, and watch princess movies. Sometimes there’s a sleepover. Sometimes there are prank calls. Sometimes we play Sardines. Sometimes there are serious conversations. Always there is laughter. I won’t miss the drama of working with teenage girls, but I will miss having our house filled with their laughter.

princess partyKirby, Anna, Kelsi, Carissa, me, Kate, Becca, Sara, Grace, and Elise

I love these girls. Really and truly. When people ask us why on earth we gave up our 20s to volunteer with teenagers, this is why. It’s because we love our kids. Yes, we missed out on a lot of fun stuff with other adults over the past 6 years. We had to say no to a lot of other things we wanted to be a part of because our Sunday nights, Wednesday nights, Thursday nights (and sometimes Fridays & Saturdays) were taken up with teenagers. We sacrificed a lot to dedicate time to these kids. But it’s not because we’re super awesome, ever-patient people {trust me, there have been days when they drove me absolutely crazy}. But like love does… we continue to choose to love them. To invest in them. To pray for them. To pray for ourselves that we say the right things to guide them and show them a good example of living life loving Jesus.

In a couple of months they will be gone so I’m so very glad that they were all able to come to this very last Princess Party! I heard yesterday that they were telling other people that it was the best party yet. I’m thinking nostalgia is catching up to them. 😉

Love Rach

25 responses to “The very last Princess Party

  1. These were always so fun to read about, I’m glad you were able to continue the tradition for so long!

  2. I’m so glad you had such a positive experience doing this! p.s. someone just gave me that dress you’re wearing for my birthday. It looks so cute on you!

  3. ahhh this is so dang precious! ❤

  4. What a fun tradition! I bet these girls will always cherish the memories of Princess parties with you!

  5. Aww, last one!! You guys look lovely as always, and I love the story behind the princess parties 🙂 Also, I think it’s so cool that you guys have devoted so much time to your teenagers. They are so lucky to have you!!

  6. These princess parties look so fun! It’s crazy to see how much those three girls have grown in the past few years! I know you’re going to miss them and these parties! (I’m still not entirely convinced that you’re done working with teens. 😉)

    • Haha! It’s possible we might not be done with teenagers in general. I do know we’ll be done with the specific group we’ve been working with (it’s at a different church from where we attend on Sunday mornings and we really want to get more involved with stuff going on at our church). But who knows, maybe we’ll end up working with teens at our church now, haha!

  7. aw, how precious!! i know you will cherish the memories always.

  8. This is so sweet! Crazy how fast five years can fly by!

  9. I love the little reunion with the girls of your princess party!! Isn’t it fun to reminisce about these memories?! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  10. I LOVE the idea of a princess party! And, Girl, you will probably never fully realize just the extent of how much you influenced their lives. Young women need more positive role models, and I know they found one in you. You are simply amazing!! 🙂

  11. Awww!!!! I love this!!!! 🙂 There are so many things that start out as jokes and then turn into something precious. Thanks for sharing!!!

  12. Pingback: Things I’ll remember from 2015 |

  13. Pingback: As it turns out, we are continually drawn to teens (in a non creepy way) |

  14. Pingback: That one time I was in graduate school |

Leave a Reply

