An awkward moment as told by the cast of Friends

I’ve mentioned to you guys that I go to a sketch gym, but in general it’s a safe place where I’m not harassed much. I mean, who wants to harass the “Jesus girl” she’ll just talk your ear off about grace. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Anyway,ย yesterday at the gym I was minding my own business reading my book while walking at a nice slow 3.5 pace on the treadmill.ย Aย very fit looking 20-something-year-old guy approached me and waited for me to take my earbud out. When I did he said, “I’m interested in your services.”

shocked chandler gif
{source}

I’m like: smiling at the stranger, oh hello person, yes let’s chat… EXCUSE ME?! You are interested in my what now?!

I took a quick inventory of my messy hair, oversized teeshirt, and athletic shorts and thought to myself “What message am I sending here?!” I had no idea how to respond to him. So I just stared instead. Because that’s what normal people do.

Staring Phoebe
{source}

After my awkward silence he finally follows up with, “your photography services.”

ross gets it{source}

Inwardly I’m thinking: ‘OOOOOOH! I get it now. I’m cool, I’m cool. This just got way less awkward.’ Realizing that I should probably speak since I haven’t said anything besides “hello” to this guy, I finally begin talking with him about photography packages I offer. When he finally walked away I laughed to myself a little about how this whole scenario could have been way more awkward.

rachel green{source}

Then it hits me. This guy knows about me becauseย my gym buddies are passing on my name as a photographer. And this naturally calls for a happy dance.

monica happy dance{source}

Which I did inwardly. Because I’m not coordinated enough to do a happy dance while walking on a treadmill.

In case you haven’t noticed a theme with the GIFs here… I’ve been watching a lot of Friends lately. As in, I began with season 1, episode 1 a couple of months ago and I’m in season 7 now. I relate to Monica (with her organization obsessions) probably a little more than I’d like to admit. But a favorite GIF of mine that I came across when writing this post was this little treasure from Joey that I totally relate to:

joey doesn't share food{source}

I’m a kind and caring person. I share well with others. Unless it’s the food that’s on my plate. That stuff isย mine. I’ve gotten much, much better about sharing my food since I met Christopher (he’s the first one to offer anyone a bite of his food at a restaurant because he knows people like to try different things). But still, it’s something I have to consciously think about. It’s entirely possible that there’s a story of me backhanding a guy (across his chest, not face) who tried to steal my slice of pizza once several years ago. I’m not a violent person. Really. Reflexes man. Don’t get between me and my food. Joey understands. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Okay, I’ve gotten way off track here. Awkward moment at the gym averted and new business for this girl. Win all around. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have you had an almost awkward moment like this lately? Or just a straight up awkward one?
Love Rach

37 responses to “An awkward moment as told by the cast of Friends

  1. Love this!!! You are so clever. And I’m cracking up. Glad that the issue of…services…was all cleared up satisfactorily. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. This is hilarious! It made me laugh out loud! I know I’ve had awkward moments, I just can’t think of any. I didn’t share food well until I had kids and I’m still not great at sharing!

  3. hahahaha!!! so glad it was about photography!

  4. Hahaha!!!! That is so priceless!

    And girl, I totally feel ya on the food sharing! Dating and marriage have helped with that! lol!

  5. If you want an even more hilarious experience, go put on the song “Shout” by The Isley Brothers and watch that happy dance GIF!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL!!!! I pulled my Mom and brother over to read this post and they thought that the music was attached to your post because it fits so well. We spent a good 30 seconds just watching the happy dance with the song that happened to be playing on pandora!

    Now..back to your post! I have laughing tears in my eyes reading this!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Ohhh and the food sharing….I’m the same way! If I’m EXPECTING to share, I will, but otherwise, keep your hands off my plate, PLEASE! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. So is this your first time going through the Friends seasons?! I can quote the entire series basically. I LOVE THAT SHOW. It never gets old. Also, super awkward gym moment! He should have led with that instead of being weird about it.

    • Yes! Before this year I had never seen the Friends episodes in order. I would catch one here or there, but that was it. And mostly the newer episodes. So going back and watching them all from the very first one has been perfect. They really are hilarious!

  8. Oh my goodness this is so hilarious! ๐Ÿ˜„ Glad that issue with your services was cleared up. Haha!

  9. That would be so awkward! I’m glad you didn’t slap him or anything, haha! And I’m glad you’re getting more photography business!! I also love the show Friends. It’s timeless! I went through a binge-watching phase right before Jake was born (much to Justin’s dismay). ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Haha this post was hysterical! We finished up with friends a month or two ago and the GIFs went so perfectly with the story. Glad it was all cleared up!

  11. You are famous girl. Those photography skills are paying off. So exciting! And I started rewatching Friends too…and like you I’m a very giving person, but when people take my food I have to fight not to yell at them. Especially my french fries, my Chipotle or my chocolate. Don’t touch it! Hahahahahah.

    • โ€‹Maybe it’s some sort of centuries old survival instinct inside us that makes us not want to share food. I’m not sure what it is, but maaan, when someone reaches for food on my plate… they better watch out! Ha! โ€‹

  12. Hahahah I loved this story! I’m always immediately suspicious of people coming up to me, so my reaction would have been the same as yours! Also, I am a HUGE fan of Friends (own all of the seasons on DVD) and I can watch the episodes OVER and OVER and OVER again. I also relate most to Monica, but have a slight hint of Joey lying underneath there. I can share clothes, I can share my makeup…I can pretty much share everything….but when it comes to food, I get very selfish haha I have no idea why! I have gotten better over the years, basically since I met my husband (just like you!) but honestly I have no idea where this food thing came from. It’s not like I wasn’t fed well growing up—but the way I am with my food, you’d think that I used to fight for my food all my life! haha

    • Yes, yes, yes!! I am such a good sharer with everything else! I’m not exactly sure why I’m like this with food. I did grow up in a big family and if you didn’t guard your plate, siblings would try and steal food from each other. But I mean, there was always PLENTY of food to go around. We would just be fighting over the last slice of pizza. No one wanted the perfectly made salad sitting there. ๐Ÿ˜‰ So it’s not like I’ve ever gone hungry. Maybe it’s just a centuries old survival instinct inside us. But hey, at least I’m better than I used to be! Glad you understand where I’m coming from!

  13. Bahahahaha!!!! Oh, Girl, this post cracked me up!! I would have done the same thing… I would have been there smiling and then suddenly wondering, “Hmmm, wait, what are we talking about here?!?”
    I enjoyed reading this from start to finish!
    Oh, and speaking of Friends… Fun fact. My brother is Matt LeBlanc. Well, okay, not THE Matt LeBlanc. But he has the same name, so that counts for something, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • For a minute I thought you meant he was THE Matt LeBlanc! I mean, obviously, he is Matt LeBlanc, but I thought for a second you meant he was Joey from Friends and I about died, haha! I kept thinking, “But I thought I had seen photos of her brother!!” Then I realized what you meant. Crazy cool, though! It’s not like that’s a common name!

      So glad you enjoyed the story! It was funny after I realized it wasn’t at all what I thought it was, haha!

  14. Oh my goodness, I love this!!! The Friends gifs are perfection. And YAY for being promoted as a photographer at the gym…that’s awesome!! (And obviously totally understandable, because YOU’RE awesome!) Also, YES to not sharing food. I’m pretty stingy with the stuff on my plate, and if I’m eating popcorn, there’s no hope.

  15. Love this! I watched all the seasons in college, and started them over again when they got put on Netflix but haven’t gotten too far yet.

  16. that is awesome!! good for you! and yes, i had a man come to me and charlie and in broken english tell me he wanted to mate with me. he meant my dog with his, i finally figured out!!

  17. This. Was. Awesome. Soooooo hilariously funny ๐Ÿ™‚ and also, I love Friends ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. LOL. this is a hilarious story, but even more hilarious with the animated GIFs that give a real insight into your thought life.

    and girl, that’s awesome you can talk anyone’s ear off about grace. His grace is what it’s all about! =D (and have you read Ragamuffin Gospel?) =)

    this post totally made my day.

  19. Pingback: Oh, by the way, I have a blog… |

Leave a Reply

