Good news!

In September of last year Christopher injured his knee playing basketball. He took some time off from basketball to rest his knee and see if it would heal. He finally saw an orthopedic doctor in November and found out that he had torn his ACL and would need surgery. So in January he had surgery and began physical therapy. From day one he has been ahead of schedule in his recovery because he worked hard not only in PT, but also at home doing the exercises. So now after six months of determination and hard work, he has finally been cleared to play basketball again! And there is so much rejoicing!

christopher basketballI went to cheer him on for his first official day back yesterday! πŸ™‚

I can’t tell you how happy I am for him. It has been 9 months since he last played basketball. And as I shared with you guys in November, that’s a big deal. Basketball has been such a huge part of his life for so long and I’m so glad that he’s able to play it again!

topher

I really am amazed at his attitude throughout all of this. If someone told me that I had to give up one of my favorite things for 9 months, I know I wouldn’t have handled it with as much grace as he has. He hasn’t complained once about it. He was sad when he first found out that he would need surgery and how long the recovery would be, but instead of whining about it (as I surely would’ve done), he set his mind to getting back on the court as quickly as possible. So he focused all of his energy on recovery. It could have easily taken as long as a year for him toΒ recover his strength and mobility in that knee. It took 6 months. Because he’s a beast and was so determined.Β He’s the bomb dot com. πŸ˜€

So rejoice with us, friends! Because the joy of basketball is back in our lives! πŸ™‚
Love Rach

31 responses to “Good news!

  1. Good for him for working so hard to get back to basketball! That is great that everything healed up well and he can be doing what he loves again. I think I would be more of whiner about needing surgery too. πŸ™‚

  2. W-hoop W-hoop (see what I did there? with the hoops? ;-))!! His work ethic and positive attitude are inspiring! Awesome job.

  3. Aww my husband plays too…wow 6 months is a long time! How awesome that he was passionate and made it back to where he was!

  4. That’s so awesome that he’s back at it! And great that he recovered faster than planned. It would be really tough to give something up like that.

  5. Yay, that’s great! Oh, and I don’t think I’m commented on this before, but I’ve thought it often: I love how you praise and talk well of your husband here. So many people talk negatively when chit-chatting with friends, and of course we all have our shortcomings, but I think it’s great. The love you have for him is very evident. πŸ™‚

    • ​I know what you mean! That’s actually an intentional decision on our part. Christopher and I learned the hard way in our early dating years that talking to other people about our problems was not productive. It was just us complaining about the issues in our relationship and never learning to work through them. We had a huge falling out with that group of friends and we realized that we had been terrible about protecting each other. So from that day on, we learned not to speak negatively about each other to anyone. Instead when we have an issue we go to each other and talk about it. It wasn’t easy to learn at first, but it has been so good for us.

      Now we are in the habit of saying good things about each other all the time and it’s awesome how much it builds up our relationship. I love hearing from other people the sweet things Christopher has to say about me even when I’m not around. πŸ™‚

      To clarify for anyone reading this comment who doesn’t know me: I wouldn’t say this advice is always right in every situation. If you are in a relationship with someone who you think might be abusive, you should definitely talk to other people about it because you need another perspective and someone to tell you to get out of that relationship. I’m not advocating covering up abuse. I’m talking about when you have a problem with someone and talk to everyone else about it except that person. End of ​ ​ PSA. πŸ™‚

  6. Yay! I am so glad to hear he is cleared. Sticking with PT is hard work…..good job!
    Dresses & Denim

  7. So happy to hear Christopher is back playing basketball again! πŸ˜€
    That’s awesome!!

  8. That’s such great news that he is back in to it. Yay!

  9. Woohoo! It’s the best feeling when you can get back to doing something you love so much. It makes you feel like yourself again. Stoked for him!

  10. yay! such awesome news!! glad that he is back at it. i bet he is thrilled to bits!

  11. How wonderful. I couldn’t be happy for Christopher. I’ve always believed that hard work does pay off in the end. Obviously no one knows when the end is, but with time & patience things work out the way there supposed too πŸ™‚

    Have fun playing basketball, Christopher!

  12. aww, nice! always nice when hard work pays off, and even better when you get to enjoy stuff you love as a result πŸ™‚

  13. Tell Chris it’s time we play one on one

  14. YAYYY for this!! Such great news πŸ™‚ And I was creeping the comments, and love your response to Kelly. Steve has always been so good about telling people only the best things about me. It was something I definitely had to learn because I’m so non-confrontational and I always found it easier to vent about problems to others than to deal with them head-on. It’s literally one of the best things I’ve ever learned though. (okay, way to make this about you, Jayda) More importantly, yay for Christopher’s knee, and for how well he handled the whole situation πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

