That one time when I saw a group of men in high heels…

We went to an Easton Corbin concert this past Tuesday. He was a great entertainer! It has been in the 100s here lately (yesterday at 4pm when I checked my phone it was 105 with a heat index of 117! SO HOT!) and it was hot as blazes even after the sun went down at the concert. But the sky made up for it. I’m not sure what was going on with the clouds, but it was so cool looking!

sky at easton corbin concert

The kids I nanny have a pool in their backyard. We’ve been living in it this week with the 100 degree weather.Β Some kids have tan lines, Mallory has “goggle lines”. πŸ˜‰ She’s a cutie!

pool days

We also went to the zoo earlier this week. And it was crazy fun. But kind of a mistake. Because it was 100+ degrees and even in the shade you feel a little bit like you might be baking alive. But we went with friends and all the kids had fun together (especially when we got to the running through the water fountain part). So it was still a win. But until it’s below 100 degrees again I think we’re sticking with the pool. πŸ˜‰

zoo dayIf you’ve never been, the sea lion show at the Memphis Zoo is awesome!

We had a girls’ night last night in Downtown Memphis. We ate at Aldo’s pizza and went to see Clueless at the Orpheum.Β I got down there a little early because I wanted to avoid rush hour traffic so I sat on a bench on S Main Street and just watched the world go by. It was a good little time for prayer and reflection. It was also an awesome spot for seeing a group of men (of all ages and races) marching by inΒ high heelsΒ carrying signs protesting rape culture. Well, hobbling more than “marching” because high heels take some getting used to. Especially if you’re wearing them for a long time on uneven terrain. I had no idea this was happening, but it made me proud to be a Memphian.

no more collageMarch on, my friends. March on.

Happy Friday, friends!
Love Rach

24 responses to “That one time when I saw a group of men in high heels…

  1. I love that marching photo, good for them!! Google tan lines are the best.

  2. That’s awesome! March on, guys. I am jealous of the pool time you’ve been having with the kiddos.

    • ​It has been so great! I think Christopher is planning to come join us tomorrow over his lunch break (the kids’ parents said he is welcome to join us anytime)​. He eats lunch with us sometimes anyway and the kids adore him. They’re going to love getting to play in the pool with him too! πŸ™‚

  3. Oh I saw Easton Corbin at Minglewood a few years back and he was SO good!! I hate I missed the men in heels last night though. We were a little late getting down there. Plus I had to stand in line forever to pay for parking. I felt like I was cooking on that pavement and dressed in a wool plaid skirt and knee highs to look the “Clueless” part lol!!

  4. Haha!! I saw that on your Instagram and got a kick out of it. How neat that there is such a variety of men involved– I love the older gentleman with his hat and blue pumps lol!

    Enjoy the pool! It is hothothot here in Orlando too, and I’ve been enjoying the AC very much πŸ™‚

  5. Oh my goodness! That sounds so unbearably hot! I’m glad you have an pool that is convenient to hang out at and I am so grateful for the splash pads at the zoo too! They are a life saver for me and my son on 100 degree days. Have a great weekend
    Dresses & Denim

  6. and I thought the 90 degree weather in Alabama was bad… The men in heels are awesome!

  7. haha…I love that! I love how the guys are wearing socks. πŸ™‚

  8. oh goodness, it was about 80 degrees here the other day and we were boiling. that’s minnesota for ya, i guess πŸ™‚ lucky that you get to swim around πŸ™‚

    • Haha! I understand, though! It’s all relative to how it’s felt lately. It finally cooled off to the low 90s this week and it feels *lovely* in comparison to last week. πŸ˜‰ I imagine if 80s were as hot as it got here, I’d feel like that was hot too!

  9. I know this is the shallowest comment ever, but…I can’t take my mind off of that POOL!!!! You guys will have such a great time in that this summer! How many days a week are you with those kids?

  10. I need a good pool day! What a great way to spread awareness.

  11. Oh, this is awesome!! I love that they did that…I know we have a similar march here (because working at a shoe store in college, I sold some heels to men who explained that that’s what they were doing), and I think it’s so great! Also, THAT POOL!

  12. Wow…men in high heels. I wasn’t sure what that protest was going to be about, lol! I remember visiting Asheville one time with Justin, and we were out with our friends who have two young little girls. We went downtown to hang out at a festival that was going on and to grab some dinner, and there was apparently a topless protest going on. Hundreds of topless women were marching through the streets, protesting that if men can be allowed to walk around shirtless then they should be given the same rights and privileges! It was awkward enough without having to steer those two little girls away from all that mess. “Daddy, why aren’t those ladies wearing shirts?”

    On Fri, Jun 26, 2015 at 9:48 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “We went to an Easton Corbin > concert this past Tuesday. He was a great entertainer! It has been in the > 100s here lately (yesterday at 4pm when I checked my phone it was 105 with > a heat index of 117! SO HOT!) and it was hot as blazes even after the sun > went”

Leave a Reply

