I like to eat buttery pasta

Remember when AIM was a big thing? Everyone had cool names on it that had nothing to do with their real names (Christopher’s was kiwisurferboy… how adorable is that?) . Well, I remember a girl whoΒ had the name iliketoeatbutterypasta. And I remember that it made me hungry every time I talked to her. And today I’m thinking fondly of her as I talk about how I really do like to eat buttery pasta. πŸ˜‰

Last week Jayda shared a photo of a Pioneer Woman recipe that she had made and I was smitten. I knew I needed to make it immediately. So I did. And it was ah-mazing. But I mean, it’s butter and pasta and some fresh herbs… what’s not to love?

pioneer woman pasta

I had some basil growing on my front porch that just begged to be added to this dish and I can’t help myself from adding garlic to pretty much everything IΒ cook. But other than those two modifications, this is pretty much just like the Pioneer Woman’s original recipe.

Buttery Lemon Herbed Pasta

Ingredients:

4 oz pasta
1 tbsp butter
1 clove garlic, minced
handful of fresh basil & parsley, minced
squeeze of a lemon
salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Cook noodles according to package directions (I used tagliatelle pasta so it cooks for only a few minutes before it’s al dente). Drain and give your colander a good shake to remove excess water.

2. Melt butter in skillet over medium-high heat. Add garlic and let it begin to sizzle. After 30 seconds-1 minute when it starts to turn golden (just before it turns brown), toss in your cooked pasta and allow it to pan fry for a couple of minutes.

3. Slice a lemon in half and give it a good squeeze over your pasta while it pan fries. Then toss in minced parsley & basil. Add salt & pepper to taste, then toss together. Serve while warm.

Worth making. Over and over again. It’s all ingredients I always have so it’s perfect for a quick lunch when I’m not sure what to make. As always, The Pioneer Woman doesn’t disappoint. πŸ™‚

Did anyone have a fun AIM username? I had a couple of different ones. Usually speck or speckjoy (speck and joy were both nicknames) or dinghaile (my name in Chinese – it means “ocean of joy”).

Do you like buttery pasta?

Love Rach

38 responses to “I like to eat buttery pasta

  1. Oh man, when I was a kid all I’d eat was buttery pasta. I would also put at least 3-4 servings of Parmesan cheese on it too. Those were the DAYS. yum.

  2. I had a few names, but my favorite was in college when it was IreMexSP. It stood for the 3 trips I went on in school (Ireland, Mexico, Spain).

    I loooooove buttery pasta. And now I want buttery pasta. πŸ˜›

  3. You and Jayda both did a great job with this dish – I want some! I’ll have to make it soon.

  4. Mine was GatorGirli27, the good ole days! haha. I used to make an awesome pasta with butter, parm, salt & pepper. Not sure why I haven’t made it lately but now I want it. This one looks awesome too!

  5. And even though I just had lunch, I’m now hungry for these noodles!

  6. I wish I could eat this yummy meal!

  7. Yum!! I actually ate noodles like this just 2 nights ago. πŸ™‚ Great minds think alike. πŸ™‚ My AIM name was gellbellz. Just a random play on my name anGELa. So clever. haha

  8. This is right up my alley, and looks AMAZING!!!

  9. Pasta with butter is my go-to “I don’t know what to make but I’m hungry and kind of poor” meal! Love it – this looks great!

  10. YAYYYY, I’m so glad you loved the pasta πŸ™‚ I will have to try it with your edits next time…garlic is always a good idea! MSN was the popular messaging platform here back in the day (I don’t know for sure if you could use AIM in Canada? I know they’re essentially the same thing though!) You could change your MSN name all the time, since you found your friends through their e-mail addresses, but for the longest time, my name was “pretty kitty” with cat face emojis. MSN was way ahead of its time haha. And I was…gah. So glad not to be thirteen anymore!

  11. Oh this looks like a PW meal I can whip up ASAP and it’s one I haven’t made! YUMMMMMM!!! Thanks for sharing. Oh and my AIM name was adaisy2003…because I liked daisies and my grad year was 2003. Oh the good old days of IM. Haha.

    • Oh man, so many people had birth years or graduation years as part of their AIM names! I had the year I was born (87) at the end of my email address when I was a teenager! I was so cool. πŸ˜‰ And yes! Definitely whip this one up. You know PW never disappoints! πŸ™‚

  12. I will never be able to figure out how some people don’t enjoy the simplicity of buttered pasta with fresh herbs. It’s mind-boggling to me. Ha!

    I don’t remember my exact AIM name but I do recall it having the word “bananas” in it. Haha!

  13. I always made butter noodles as I called them. haha. Mine were just egg noodles and butter though. I’m sure I would like the grown up version much better! πŸ™‚ Pioneer Women is the best!!!

    My AIM was curlygirl37 and it was because this guy in my youth group called me curlygirl one time…one time….and his football jersey number was 37. Oh memories! haha

  14. Oh my gosh!! AIMs!! Throw back!! …and yum! These look delicious! I used to love butter!! Haha, so good!

  15. So random to bring up AIM! I remember being kind of miffed about the whole separation of Facebook messages and the Messenger app…I kept wondering why they wanted to have their own thing. I wonder if they’re trying to bring back the AIM trend (don’t people just text/email instead?). I used to have five or six AIM conversations going at once on my computer back in the day…I’m not sure if I’d be able to keep up with all of that anymore, LOL.

    Also, I like buttery pasta, too…but I wonder if Italians don’t? Justin grew up eating Italian food all the time, and I remember once (while we were staying with my parents between houses) there was some pasta left over in my parents’ fridge, but no pasta sauce to go with it. Justin was really craving some spaghetti, but my mom suggested that he eat it with butter instead since there was no pasta sauce. He looked at her like she was CRAZY. Then he told his dad, and they had a good laugh about it. “Butter on pasta?! Ridiculous!” But I didn’t get it! I’ve been eating buttery pasta since I was a kid!

    On Thu, Jul 2, 2015 at 9:45 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “Remember when AIM was a big thing? > Everyone had cool names on it that had nothing to do with their real names > (Christopher’s was kiwisurferboy… how adorable is that?) . Well, I > remember a girl who had the name iliketoeatbutterypasta. And I remember > that”

    • Yes! I totally had multiple conversations going at once all the time! I look back at that and wonder how I kept up with it all, haha! And yeah, I’m not sure what’s up with the FB/messenger thing. You’re probably right about them wanting it to be like AIM used to be. Not likely, though!

      Interesting! Maybe Italians don’t like it? I remember a couple of dishes like it being served in Italy, though! It could be a regional thing? I know that the Italian I’m married to loves it (and grew up on it), but his mom did the cooking and she didn’t cook traditional Italian food.

  16. This looks AMAZING, and I need to make it next week for a meal! Ha, ha. πŸ™‚ It looks like comfort food, for sure!!

  17. Mmmm this looks so good! Love that that was her username haha. πŸ™‚

  18. i absolutely love fresh herbs in my pasta! ❀

Leave a Reply

