Preview Party!

Blogging has brought a lot of fun opportunities my way over the years (like that one time we were in a commercial). And honestly, I’ve turned down a lot of things I’ve been asked to do (including TV segments, a plethora of products to try and review, as well as many store grand openings). It’s not because there is anything wrong with doing those things, but I feel really strongly about only sharing things I’m legitimately interested in. So when a health food store contacted me and invited me to a preview party for their grand opening, I said “yes!” because that is right up my alley.

sprouts

I am SO excited that Sprouts has opened a location so close to me! There were a couple here in Memphis already, but Whole Foods is so much closer to me so I usually end up there for “health food” related things. But my gracious Whole Foods is expensive. So I’m happy to have Sprouts so close as another option! I can’t really speak to the prices at Sprouts because the ones I saw this weekend were grand opening specials (and they were awesome!). But from what I’ve heard, even when they aren’t “grand opening prices” they are still more affordable than places like Whole Foods or Fresh Market.

sprouts3A sign in the cafe

Sprouts is all about healthy living. They educate their staff at each location about nutrition. Specifically about probiotics, superfoods, multivitamins, and omega rich oils. Which means if you walk into Sprouts and have a question about any of these, you will find a store full of people who can answer questions.

with janet littlePosing with Janet Little against a wall of vitamins inside Sprouts

I got to meet Janet Little who is Sprouts’ director of nutrition. She’s a nutritionist and passionate about what she does and teaches. She shared with me a lot about Sprouts’ health-minded mission.

melissa'sMatt Bergholz & Jody Okamoto from Melissa’s Produce

One unique thing about Sprouts is that they sellΒ exotic fruits. Matt and Jody struck up a conversation with me when they saw me taking photos and next thing I knew they were having me sample all kinds of new things. I tried a sapote, lychee, and rambutan. And I came home with a kiwano horned melon and passion fruit.

exotic fruit

I love trying new things so this was a major selling point for me! Matt and Jody were both passionate about what they do for Melissa’s and taught me how to tell if the fruits are ripe and also how to cut and serve them which was a huge help. I’ve always been hesitant to buy exotic fruits because I’m not sure what to do with them once I get them home, ha! So I was grateful to them for that!

cookbooks

Mid way through my conversation with the guys from Melissa’s, Matt told Jody that I probably needed one of their cookbooks. So naturally Jody went and brought back three different ones from the display for me to take home. Ha! I loved it, though! Each of these cookbooks are fabulous! My favorite, though, is the one in the center. Check out the inside:

cookbook

It’s a book all about the 50 Best Plants on the Planet! The plants are listed alphabetically and there are a couple of pages devoted to the health benefits of each plant and then two or three recipes for each one. I.love.this.book. Seriously! It’s so educational and the photos are beautiful! I can’t wait to dig deeper into it!

My afternoon at Sprouts was fast paced and full of meeting people passionate about what they do. I really love to talk to people whose eyes light up when they talk about what they are involved in. I’m so glad I had the opportunity to do this. If you are in Memphis, check out all the specials the new Sprouts is hosting this week during their grand opening! And if you aren’t in Memphis, check out your local Sprouts. πŸ™‚

Have you been to Sprouts?Β 

Would you love that 50 Best Plants book as much as I do?

What’s your go to store for “health” foods?Β 

Sprouts contacted me and asked me to be there for this preview day and they gave me a tour of the store as well as a goody bag. But they did not ask me to write this post. I’m sharing because I want to! πŸ™‚ All of these thoughts and opinions are my own.

Love Rach

28 responses to “Preview Party!

  1. I’ve never heard of it, but we have to go when we come visit πŸ˜‰!

  2. I have never heard of sprouts before, but I think it is great that you only share things on your blog that you are truly interested it. I wish more bloggers did that πŸ˜‰

    • ​I hear you! I always love finding a blogger that I know I can trust when she tells me that so-and-so product is awesome. Not because she was given free stuff to say so, but simply because she likes it. πŸ™‚ ​{also I recognize that there are male bloggers – I just don’t follow any πŸ˜‰ }

  3. Wow that is such a neat opportunity! I’ve never been to Sprouts– there aren’t any close to where I live in central Florida 😦 However, I will say that when they finally opened a Trader Joes near me I braved the crowds to be there on the very first day because I was SO excited. Gotta love us health-conscious folk πŸ˜‰

    And those cookbooks look so beautiful! Who knew bok choy could look so good! πŸ˜‰

    • ​Can you believe I’ve still never been to Trader Joes?! Memphis doesn’t have one yet so until now I’ve been going to Whole Foods. I really am so happy to have this Sprouts so close by! I look forward to returning on a less busy day, haha! ​

  4. The 50 Best Plants book looks awesome! You know, I tend to forget about Sprouts, even though there are a couple that aren’t too far away from me. Anytime I’ve gone there I have been happy with the selection and quality though! I need to remember them.

    • It’s easy to get in a routine of going to the same grocery stores. I’m terrible about going to the one right by my house because it’s convenient even though it’s pricey. And sometimes I just do all my shopping at Whole Foods because I need to go there anyway to pick up one or two speciality items. But that always costs a small fortune, haha! I’m excited to see if Sprouts will be a good spot for me to do all my shopping or if it will just be a better option than Whole Foods for speciality items. Either way it’s a win to have it so close to me! We shall see! πŸ™‚

  5. Love Sprouts! We used to have one for the short time we lived in Modesto. Lately I’ve been going to New Leaf, a local healthy food store here in Tallahassee.

  6. This is so cool…what a fun opportunity! It looks like such a great store too! I had never heard of most of those exotic fruits…so fun that you got to try them! And I love the picture of you guys posing with the vitamins πŸ™‚

  7. I’m always slightly jealous that your blog is SO POPULAR that people are always asking you if you will PLEASE take some free stuff or come out and be treated like a VIP. Good for you, using so much discretion with your celebrity status! Being a health food nut is so NOOOT my thing, but I’m coming around to it. I’m starting to realize that not all organic, cage-free, grass-fed people are crazy fanatics, and many of them do make a good point. All of the extra junk in our food is taking a toll, and now that I’m feeding Jake pieces of whatever I’m eating, I’m definitely more conscious about reading the ingredients. Trader Joe’s has been my go-to since Whole Foods is just TOO expensive. But this place looks really neat! I’ve never heard of Sprouts before.

    On Wed, Jul 8, 2015 at 9:56 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “Blogging has brought a lot of fun > opportunities my way over the years (like that one time we were in a > commercial). And honestly, I’ve turned down a lot of things I’ve been asked > to do (including TV segments, a plethora of products to try and review, as > w”

    • As awesome as Memphis is, we don’t yet have a Trader Joe’s. One o​f these days it’ll come, though! Thankfully Sprouts really does seem like it will be a good option for us! I’m excited to go back this next week after the grand opening crowds die down and see what typical shopping there is like. πŸ™‚

      It’s so interesting how being responsible for what someone else is eating makes you more aware of what you are eating! I’m definitely like that with Will and Mallory too!

  8. I love Sprouts!! We don’t have them in Washington, but there is one about 2 miles from my dads house in Arizona and I go there at least every other day when I visit! HA. How cool that they contacted you!

  9. How exciting!!!!

    I think I’ve seen a Sprouts somewhere on my travels, but I don’t have one anywhere near me. I’d definitely check it out if there was one near me!

    I love the way they were so eager to show you around and take care of you! That cookbook in the middle DOES sound super helpful. I had my first experience with Leeks this week! A friend gave them to me along with a recipe (that it turns out, they haven’t tried) and it was a fun little experience!

    • That cookbook has already been so fun to use! I made one of our favorite bok choy recipes last Thursday and so we pulled the book out and read all about the health benefits of what we were eating! πŸ™‚

      That’s so fun about the leeks! What a sweet friend! Did you enjoy the recipe?

  10. What a fun opportunity!! I have got to check out Sprouts, but I was waiting a few weeks for the crowds to die down, lol. I love learning more and more about heath foods but you’re right, Whole Foods is so expensive! I’m excited that there’s a Sprouts not to far away now. And I’ll have to pick up that book too. I love cook books or cooking reference books or anything on nutrition, lol. I’m a health geek. I probably should have been a nutritionist instead of an accountant.

    • I would have loved to have been a nutritionist too! With as much as I research about food/health stuff, I feel like I could’ve earned my degree in this amount of time. And I would’ve been learning from actual professors instead of Google. πŸ˜‰

      I hope you like Sprouts! I’m waiting until the crowds die down a bit too before I go back. I’m excited to see what shopping there is really like! πŸ™‚

  11. I had heard of sprouts before but have never been into one because we don’t have one around here either. It looks like you had so much fun exploring and testing new foods. That cookbook looks amazing!

  12. they are building one by my house. i’ve never heard of them before i saw the Coming Soon sign, so it’s cool to see what they look like!!

  13. I have heard so much about Sprouts and wish there was a location here in the Nashville area. So glad to read your review on this store and am looking forward to checking it out as soon as I find a location anywhere close at all! lol

  14. i’ve heard lots of good things about sprouts, and i’m hoping we get one here — it’s always fun trying new grocery stores πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

