Regarding a bouncy house and chicken foot

Last weekend we drove out to Oklahoma for a family reunion! It was my dad’s dad & his siblings. So my grandparents and great aunts & uncles. And all their kids. And all their kids’ kids. And their kids’ grandkids. Which makes for kind of a huge group. And we weren’t even all present!

family reunion10

Christopher and I are at the bottom right. And the rest of those people… well… they’re my family. πŸ™‚

family reunion3

Lots of old family photos came out and my mom put together a family tree so all my second cousins and I could figure out how we were related. πŸ˜‰ Speaking of, I really enjoyed getting to know my extended family! I’ve grown up close to all of my grandfather’s siblings, but I didn’t really know their kids or grandkids. So I really enjoyed that about this weekend! πŸ™‚

domino competition

We had aΒ chicken foot tournament. Yes, this is really the name of the game. You play it with dominoes. However, the rules are a little fuzzy depending on who you ask. Every round you had to switch tables and every table I played at had different rules, ha!

the bouncy house

There was a bouncy house for the kids to play in… and by “kids” I mean everyone under 14 and me. πŸ˜‰ It was fun! And exhausting. Those kids wore me out, ha! Also, my one year old nephew couldn’t fall asleep in his pack & play because it was so noisy with everyone playing games. So my brother found a reprieve in the bouncy house with Jackson. Austin found them later and fell asleep too. It was pretty precious. πŸ™‚

niece and nephew collage2

I played SO HARD over this weekend. There were silly times and sweet snuggles and throwing balls and frisbees and chasing kids everywhere. I was exhausted at the end of every day, ha!

niece and nephews

My brother and his kiddos were able to come and I was SO excited to see them! I hadn’t seen them since last year when Jackson was newborn. I sure do love these little rascals!

rach & austin

My nephew, Austin, latched on to me on Friday when we arrived and stayed in my arms for the next hourΒ while I caught up with my brother. Β It was absolutely wonderful. πŸ™‚

We had a wonderful time together! It was so good to see all my great aunts & uncles and to get to know the rest of my extended family!

Did you grow up close to great aunts & uncles?Β 

Does your family do the whole family reunion thing?
Love Rach

24 responses to “Regarding a bouncy house and chicken foot

  1. I LOVE big families like this! My family in Arizona is pretty large and when my sister and I visit we all try to get together at least once. It’s wonderful.

  2. How sweet that you have such a big family! Aw, and what a fun weekend! I would’ve so been in the bounce house too πŸ˜‰
    If my family decided to have a reunion, we would probably have about 6 people in attendance– TOPS! lol! We just don’t have a lot of relatives for some reason!

    • That’s like Christopher’s family! So few people. At our wedding we had 5 rows for my family to sit in and 1 row for his family (he had 6 family member’s present). It’s crazy how some families get so big and some are so small. Christopher loves that he married into a big family because despite all the craziness it’s a lot of fun. πŸ˜‰ He keeps trying to convince me that we should have at least half a dozen children. πŸ˜‰

  3. Aww I love this! How wonderful so many were able to get together! I was just talking with my cousin last night about how great it is being near family. We didn’t live near each other growing up and when they came into town it was like a huge week long slumber party at my grandparents’ house.

  4. I grew up close to my extended family, but now that the grandkids have kids and that the family has really grown, we don’t see each other all that much anymore. It’s sad really! Brady hasn’t met many of my aunts, uncles, or cousins yet. A reunion is definitely needed for my family!!

  5. This is so awesome and what a great looking family you have!!

  6. We just had a family reunion this weekend and it was SO fun! Nothing better than catching up with family πŸ™‚

  7. Where did you guys have this reunion? It looks like you’re set up in a school gym or something. My dad’s side of the family has had reunions in the past, but it’s generally more older folks than younger people–your reunion looks fun! Reuniting with older folks can be good too, though. They always have lots of interesting stories! My mom’s side doesn’t reunite as much (maybe because we’re always together? We don’t need to “reunite!”), but they are big into games. We used to get into pretty heated rounds of Mexican Train. My grandparents tried to teach me Chicken Foot once, but I didn’t like it as much (or maybe….I wasn’t as GOOD at it, haha).

    • You’re close! It was a church gym. πŸ™‚ I’m with you on loving to hear stories from the older generation! I have lots of great story tellers in my family (I am not one of them, haha!).

      Oh goodness, I remember some heated rounds of Mexican Train too! We just played it with my family last month and it was actually fun for a change (my family can be a bit on the competitive side). I’ve always thought I hated all dominoes games. But I think I just don’t like playing games when people get really competitive. Because it turns out that I enjoyed both Mexican Train and Chicken Foot!

  8. wish upon wishes i had a bigger family! my dad is an only child and my mom’s siblings didn’t have children until we were much older, and so our family reunions were always kinda small — and my siblings and i were the only kids running around. i’m hoping my brother & sister give max lots of cousins πŸ™‚

  9. We play Chicken Foot too! Haha! I always thought we were the only ones. πŸ™‚

    -Tia

  10. I would have been in the bouncy house, too! This looks like such a blast! My Dad’s extended family used to have a family reunion every Christmas, till my great-grandparents passed away. Now, they usually get together every time my parents are back in-country, so once every 4 or 5 years. It’s always good to see everyone! But unless, in the future, we coordinate our trips to the USA to match up with my parents’ trips, I don’t know how good we’ll be at attending family reunions!

  11. Family reunions are the best!!! We have one in October, that I hope to get to go to!

  12. The family tree idea with pictures is great!

Leave a Reply

