Oh, by the way, I have a blog…

This past weekend I found out some of our friends here in Memphis didn’t know I had a blog. I’ve never purposely kept the blog a secret, but I suppose it just doesn’t come up in frequent conversation. My blog is linked on my Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram, but I quit sharing posts on Facebook years ago without any real reason. Which means that somehow a couple of our closest friends had no idea that I wrote in this little space. Well today that changes. I’m linking this post to my Facebook. So welcome new visitors! πŸ™‚

Last year I wrote a whole post explaining why I blog so I won’t write it all out here again. If you’re curious about why I write so much in this space, check out that post! So if you’re new to the blog and wondering what all you’ve missed, here are some of my favorite posts.

Sharing My Heart:

Dayenu
Why The Little Drummer Boy Makes Me Cry
Breaking the Fast
Thankful For Hope

Glimpses Into Our Marriage:

Christopher
I love you more
Bella Roma {vow renewal}
A Love Letter
How well do you know me?

Favorite Trips:

A video for your Friday {Italy Trip!}Β 
Cruisin’ to the Bahamas
The Grandest Canyon I’ve Ever Seen
Cozumel, Mexico

Deep Thoughts:

Mixed Emotions this Father’s Day
Aunt Jane’s Words of Wisdom
Surrounded {learning life lessons}
Ancient Paths

Awkward & Embarrassing Stories:

An awkward moment as told by the cast of Friends
Who is that paranoid lady on the news?

Five Minutes of Fame:

Bricks in the Wall {Fix It & Finish It}
We are FAMOUS!
Little Known Fact About Me

Well there you have it, my friends. That should beΒ moreΒ than enough reading to get you started! πŸ˜‰ If you are looking for my favorite recipes, I have lotsΒ of those on my Recipe Book page. And if you are in Memphis looking for good eats, check out my Memphis Eats page for our reviews on local places. Welcome to new readers! It’s good to have you here. πŸ™‚

If you have a blog, do your friends & family know about it?
Love Rach

28 responses to “Oh, by the way, I have a blog…

  1. I don’t hide my blog, but I don’t really talk about it either with friends. A handful of people know about it, and that’s about it I think!

  2. I bet it was fun to compile the list of posts to link to for this one! Highlights of your life and blog.

    I don’t hide my blog but I don’t really advertise it either. That seems to be how most of us bloggers roll!

    • It *was *fun to compile this list! I enjoyed reading back through so many old posts. πŸ™‚

      Yeah, that does seem to be how most bloggers go. It’s just weird to bring it up out of the blue, “Oh well, on my blog yesterday I…” because most people who know you in real life are already aware of what you wore the day before or know your fun stories. I used to talk about it a lot more when I was sharing recipes all the time on my blog (because people in person would ask for the recipes so I’d just refer them to the blog). But as I post fewer and fewer recipes, that happens a lot less. I get lazy and make the same old staples all the time, haha!

  3. I don’t really mention it all that much either, but I’m starting to more and more. The only group of people I really don’t mention it around are the people I work with. It’s funny, we will do a blog training day for school (for our teacher blogs), and it’s a little frustrating to sit through, but no one knows! Haha.

    • Hahaha! That’s hilarious to me! I love that you sit through that training every year even though you clearly know all about blogging. I can understand how it’s weird to talk about at work, though. Definitely understandable!

  4. It’s funny that you have CLOSE friends who didn’t know you were a blogger! (And such a prolific blogger, too!) We recently made friends with a couple in Knoxville and when we had them over for dinner at our house, they were asking us all kinds of questions (about living in China, getting Jake sleep-trained, etc.) and when I asked, “How did you know about that?” they admitted to having “snooped” around on my blog. It’s not really snooping though, when it’s published for everyone to see! But I thought it was funny, like they were fessing up to some secret.

    • Haha! That’s hilarious about your friends “snooping” around the blog. That is definitely one nice thing about people who have blogs – you can know so many details about their lives. πŸ™‚

      And girl, believe me, I was shocked when I heard they didn’t know. I’m not sure how that has happened because everyone else in that friend group knows and has talked about it. I think they must’ve known at some point and just forgotten.

  5. This was for your last post, but it kept giving me errors:

    So fun! Great pictures! Isn’t it SO great meeting up with other bloggers? I always love it!

  6. this is a great collection of posts! my blog is absolutely a secret, one friend found out accidentally via google, another i told. that’s it! lol

    • That’s crazy your friend found out via Google! Did she suspect you had one and go looking for it or did she find it from Googling something you had blogged about? I’ve had a couple of people find my blog from reviews I’ve written on Urbanspoon (which is now Zomato).

  7. fun to read more and “get to know” you a bit better. I don’t try to hide my blog but I also don’t shout it out either. I’m not sure but it feels a little weird but I’m quite ok if they want to read it.

  8. You have a blog? ;). I’m so thankful for your blog!

  9. I’m not at all shy about my blog, and post about it on IG at times with a link in my profile, but I don’t often talk about it. A handful of my friends read, and my parents do as well. It makes me smile.

    • Aww, I love that your parents read it! My mom reads mine and so do my sisters, but they almost never comment. So I honestly kind of forget that they read it until I get a text from one of them saying “I can’t believe you shared that old pic when I had ugly hair!” or something to that effect. πŸ˜‰

  10. Pretty much all of my friends and family know about my blog. it’s such a massive part of my life that it would be strange that they didn’t really.

  11. My blog is the biggest kept, not secret in my life too!!! I feel weird telling people about it and equally weird when someone says, “I was reading your blog and…” The strangest thing about people outside of my family and blogging friends is that they are reading but they rarely comment so I kind of forget they’re there.

    I’ve THOUGHT about telling people or putting it on FB, but then I always change my mind. Maybe I will soon. I’ve also “forbidden” my Mom from sharing every post that she thinks people just NEED to read…Maybe I shouldn’t do that either! lol!

    Anyway…Way to put your blog and yourself out there! I’m sure your friends and family will love popping over here!

    • Haha! I love the way you put this. “The biggest kept NOT secret.” πŸ˜‰ I love that your mom is such a big supporter of your blog! That’s awesome! My mom and sisters read my blog too and I am always forgetting that they read it because they seldom comment. But then every now and then I get a text from one of them about being offended that I shared an old family photo where they have crazy hair (okay, not really offended – if they were really upset, I would delete it!). But you know “fake offended”. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, you should put yourself out there! I bet more of your friends would love to read it! πŸ™‚

  12. Ha it is always funny figuring out that some people you are close to have no idea you have one, and then there are random people who you would never expect read along that mention they were reading a post. I stopped posting each one on facebook a while ago too (almost felt like I was spamming everyone with all of those posts), so I am probably in the same boat. I only post once in a while when there is something big that happened. I am sure your friends will love getting to read more about you here.

  13. For some reason, talking about my blog ‘in real life’ is the weirdest thing to me so I never bring it up! I’m so glad you did this though because as a new reader, this is perfect for me to catch up on all your best posts!!

    • Yay! I’m glad you enjoyed reading this post! It was definitely fun going through and picking some of my favorite blog posts to share. πŸ™‚ And I totally understand how weird it is to bring up the blog in real life.

  14. I don’t hide that I have a blog, but there are a lot of people that are surprised when they find out! This is a great round up of fun posts.

Leave a Reply

