Happy birthday to our favorite mutt!

Last week we celebrated Oreo’s fifth year in our home! We brought him home on July 10th in 2010 just after we finished the major renovations in our new house.

oreo's bday

If you look at my Instagram, I am like that proud momma who can’t stop posting photos of her baby.Β Except my baby has four legs and is covered in fur. πŸ˜‰

oreo and rach

Once upon a time Christopher and I claimed that we would never call ourselves “mom” and “dad” to a pet. And we wouldΒ neverΒ put our pet in clothes. And we would love our pet, but certainly wouldn’t spoil it.

oreo and toph

Yeah, so we were wrong about all of those things.Β πŸ˜‰ Oreo is definitely our baby. He brings us so much joy. He’s picky about who he likes, but he’s fiercely loyal to those he does. He has no concept of personal space and thinks that he is a lap dog. He’s a great cuddler and sugar sweet to people he likes. He snores louder than any human I’ve ever heard, but it’s kind of endearing in its own way. Really just over all, he’s awesome. And we love him.

family pic

Happy five years, Oreo! We are so happy to have you in our family! πŸ™‚
Love Rach

34 responses to “Happy birthday to our favorite mutt!

  1. Happy birthday Oreo!

  2. Happy birthday Oreo! Popcorn just turned 4 in the beginning of July, and I can safely say that I know exactly what you mean about vowing to never dress up your dog or call yourselves “mom” and “dad”. I never thought I’d spoil a pup this much! But he’s just sooo worth it πŸ™‚

    • I’m glad we aren’t the only ones! I feel like it’s totally normal now until my parents are around (they are definitely not pet people) and they are always really kind about Oreo, but it’s clear that they don’t understand how on earth we can spoil him so much. πŸ˜‰

  3. Aw, Happy Birthday Oreo! He’s such an adorable pup! I hope his day is filled with awesome dog things!

  4. Happy Birthday Oreo – what a cutie.

  5. Aww how sweet! We said the same thing about our dog, but we seriously treat her like our baby. We are “those” dog people and it’s still weird to me, but I can’t stop, haha. A friend of ours saw the way my husband treats her at home one time and she just looked at me and said “yall need to have a baby” hahaha! I get it. We are crazy. But that’s ok lol.

  6. aww happy birthday oreo!! i love puppy birthdays!!

  7. Yay for pet-babies! Happy birthday, Oreo!

  8. Happy five years, Oreo!! πŸ™‚ (We just celebrated our cat’s seven year birthday, since we know they were born in July. We didn’t adopt them until November though, so – come November – we’ll celebrate 7 years since we adopted them. I just can’t believe we’ve had them that long already). πŸ™‚

    • Wow! That has been a long time! It’s so neat that you know what month they were born! We don’t even know how old Oreo is, haha! From different vets we suspect he is somewhere around 6-7 years old. Speaking of your kitty cats… I haven’t seen a lot of them lately. How are they adjusting to life with a little brother?

  9. Haha we didn’t think we would do those things for our fur child either, but they really do become more like a child than a pet! Happy Birthday, Oreo!

  10. Love the spots on his eyes! Happy birthday Oreo!

  11. He is the cutest! I love the family picture at the end. It is funny how the “I will nevers” change over time. That happened with our dog and now our son too. πŸ™‚ Happy Birthday Oreo!

  12. You guys are so cute celebrating Oreo’s birthday! Fonzie’s birthday came and went without any formal recognition (poor guy!). Oreo is lucky to have parents like you! πŸ™‚

    On Fri, Jul 17, 2015 at 7:02 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “Last week we celebrated Oreo’s > fifth year in our home! We brought him home on July 10th in 2010 just after > we finished the major renovations in our new house. If you look at my > Instagram, I am like that proud momma who can’t stop posting photos of her > “

  13. Happy Birthday Oreo! Your a little cutie pie :).

  14. Happy birthday Oreo!! I hope it was lots of fun and there were extra treats.

  15. So sweet! Happy Birthday!

  16. Awww, I love Oreo! Happy Birthday, pup! Did you make him any special treats for his birthday this year?

  17. Awww he is adorable πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

