Kielbasa and Cabbage Skillet {low carb dinner}

Since last October we have incorporated a lot of lower cholesterol meals into our routine to help lower Christopher’s cholesterol. It was going along quite swimmingly until about March when I finally made it to the doctor and got all my blood work done and found out that I had an insulin resistance {for those who know about IR and are concerned – they also tested for diabetes and I’m in the clear there for now}. So with an insulin resistance that means my body doesn’t know what to do with all the insulin it produces when I eat certain things… like carbs. You know, pasta. My fav. I can still eat carbs, but I have to eat them spread out through the day (so fewer giant bowls of pasta or cereal). So now cooking a meal for the two of us is kind of hysterical.

We joke that if we make something he can eat that it’s going to be full of carbs (like fish over rice or chicken and pasta) or if we make something I can eat then it’s going to be full of cholesterol (like the recipe I’m sharing with you today). So what ends up happening is that we just do a little of both. Sometimes our meals are ones that are great for both of us (like last night when we made our healthier taco salad recipe) and sometimes they are going to lean one direction or the other. The recipe I’m sharing with you today is definitely one that leans more toward my side of the spectrum.

kielbasa and caggage

Kielbasa & Cabbage Skillet

Ingredients:

2 lbs fully cooked polka kielbasa, cut in half lengthwise, then cut into 2″ pieces {I actually subbed in turkey kielbasa because it was a little lower in saturated fat & cholesterol, but I’m sure the real stuff would be awesome in this recipe too!}
1 tbsp olive oil
1 head cabbage, coarsely chopped
1 large sweet onion, coarsely chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 tsp rice wine vinegar
1 1/2 tsp dijon mustard

Directions:

1. Heat olive oil in large nonstick saute pan over medium high heat. Add kielbasa and cook without stirring for 1 minute. Then stir occasionally for about 3 minutes. Transfer to a plate with a slotted spoon.

2. In the same pan with some of the rendered kielbasa fat, add the cabbage, onion, garlic, sugar, salt, and pepper. Stir to combine and cook for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

3. Mix in the vinegar and mustard; add the sausage back to the pan and cook for another 2 minutes to heat through. Taste and adjust seasoning, if necessary.

4. Serve immediately

kielbasa and cabbageOriginal recipe found here at Very Culinary

So simple and so delicious! And yes, all the meat in this meal falls more on my spectrum of can-eat foods, but we choose turkey kielbasa because it had less cholesterol & saturated fat and it was easy for Christopher to eat more of the cabbage and less of the sausage. Don’t get me wrong, he still occasionally eats red meat, but it’s just not like before. And I still eat carbs (I’m about to have a bowl of oatmeal for breakfast right now in fact), but I just eat fewer at a time. We’re trying to figure out this whole eating-for-your-specific-health-needs thing. Low carb & low cholesterol doesn’t have to mean no tasty food. 🙂

Do you have any suggestions for meal ideas that aren’t particularly high in cholesterol or carbohydrates? 

Have you had to change eating habits because of a health concern?
Love Rach

21 responses to “Kielbasa and Cabbage Skillet {low carb dinner}

  1. This looks so good! The whole family loved turkey kielbasa so I will have to try this one.

  2. Over time I’ve figured out that my body doesn’t process lots of carbohydrates the best, so Will and I are always looking for lower-carb meals to add to our menu. I’ll absolutely have to save this one!

    One of our FAVORITES is the zucchini lasagna from Dashing Dish. The prep takes a bit of time, but it truly is worth it! AND you’ll absolutely have leftovers for lunches 🙂 Here is the link: https://dashingdish.com/recipe/no-noodles-about-it-the-best-low-carb-lasagna-ever/

    • Thanks so much for passing on this recipe! I’ll check it out right now!

      Bummer that your body doesn’t process a bunch of carbs at once very well. But at least you know how to eat well for your body! So that’s good for sure. 🙂 And hey, if you have any other suggestions for lower-carb dinners, I’ll take ’em!

  3. That looks delicious! I love cabbage.

  4. I second zucchini lasagna! I made one from skinny taste which was amazing 🙂

  5. I want to try this! I love turkey kielbasa and cabbage but have never had them together. I have never had any other type of kielbasa. I recently made fried rice but with cauliflower instead of rice and it was surprisingly really good! I added broccoli, carrots, peas, etc. and ground turkey to make it more filling.

  6. I’ve never heard of kielbasa. I definitely need some heart healthy meals to make for alan! Is this one really that high in cholesterol? How do you figure out how much cholesterol is in it?

    • ​It’s not super high in cholesterol, but it’s also not a low cholesterol meal. I just check the packaging to figure out how much cholesterol is in stuff (you know, where you read how many calories are in the product). Or if I don’t see it, then I Google ​the information. 🙂

  7. This recipe looks great! Especially since Justin and I are trying to be low carb (during the day at least). 😉

  8. I love bulking out meals with cabbage. It’s really cheap to make and low in calories too. This sounds really good 🙂

  9. Eggs, ham and bacon for me. Because I think I’m getting fat….

    • HA! I wondered when your first comment would be. I think I need to share your butter steak recipe on the blog. I mentioned it on here once before, but didn’t really share the recipe. Now there is a solid, cholesterol-filled, awesome meal. Yum!

  10. oh my gosh YUMMMMMMMMMM. seriously this looks so good! And even better that it is healthy 🙂 I am always looking for healthy recipes so thank you!
    xo, Candace | Lovely Little Rants

  11. Pingback: 18 Favorite Go-To Healthy Recipes |

Leave a Reply

