This is my story

Over the years that I’ve had this blog I’ve shared favorite recipes, travels, daily life, and stories. So many stories. And often I find myself talking about Jesus here. And the more I tell “my” stories, the more you hear about Jesus. I heard a song recently that really summed this up  beautifully.

If I told you my story, you would hear hope that wouldn’t let go

If I told you my story, you would hear love that never gave up

And if I told you my story, you would hear life, but it wasn’t mine…

If I should speak then let it be: of the grace that is greater than all my sin! Of when justice was served and where mercy wins! Of the kindness of Jesus Who draws me in. Oh, to tell you my story is to tell of Him!

This is my story. This is my song. Praising my Savior all the day long.

-Big Daddy Weave

Yes, this. Exactly. I could have written the lyrics to this song. This is my story. It is full of hope and love and grace. When I tell “my” story, really I am telling you about Jesus.


^Listen to the song here^

My teen girls have all graduated high school and are headed to college next month. In a couple of weeks we will have our last sleepover together at my house and I am working on what exactly I want to share with them. Choosing parting words after 6 years is no easy task for me. But this song sums up so beautifully all the things I want to communicate to them. I hope that this is what they have seen in me all these years. That “my” stories and life point to Jesus.

Do you have a song you feel like you could have written because the lyrics ring so true for you? 

If you were sending a group of girls off to college, what would your final parting words or advice be? 

Love Rach

30 responses to “This is my story

  1. I remember in my small group in high school, we each picked a song that summed up our faith (I mean, as best it could!) and then we each took turns playing our songs and discussing them. It was such a neat experience. Maybe you could do that with your girls!

  2. I love Liz’s suggestion. And oh, what beautiful lyrics – I had never seen/heard them before, but yes, that is what I want/hope my story to me as well!

  3. Wow 6 years—what a journey! You definitely have a crown (or two) in Heaven for that! As far as advice….I’d say be true to who you are. Cheesy, but when you feel pressure to act a certain way or do a certain thing, you have to cling to your identity as a child of God. 🙂

  4. You’re going to say the perfect parting words to those girls. What an important part of each others’ lives you have been and will continue to be! It’s all God.

  5. Those lyrics are beautiful and so true! It is pretty evident that you love those girls so much. You have invested so much time into their lives, and I think that is what a teenage girl really needs. It is what I needed at that time in my life. I am sure you will find the right words, but I am willing to bet that they feel the love, even if you didn’t have any words at all. 🙂

  6. This post was so beautiful!
    I feel as though my theme song changes, depending on what I’m going through. Lately, a song that has really been speaking to me is ‘Hope in Front of Me’ by Danny Gokey. When I hear it, it just reminds me of Nate’s assault and of how God was the hope in front of us. 🙂

    • Oh yes! Mine definitely changes from time to time as well. I know exactly what you mean. Also, I don’t know if I ever told you or not, but awhile back you mentioned to me that this song was your current theme song (or maybe just that you really liked it?). Anyway, I remember that I had heard it on the radio and liked it, but you shared with me why it meant a lot to you and suggested that I watch the video. I was in tears. So now when I hear that song I always think of you. And I love it in a whole new way now. I love the idea that there is hope in front of me. So thanks for pointing me to that song! 🙂

  7. I think the most important thing that I *wish* someone had told me before college is that it’s okay to be nostalgic…but it’s also okay to grow and change. Becoming yourself take a lifetime of constant change, something that’s easier with a good foundation, but something that’s really scary too. Basically that change isn’t bad, especially when it’s personal growth!

    Good luck – they sound like lucky girls to have your guidance!

  8. It seems every couple of months I find a song that just speaks to me! You picked a good one! ❤ – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  9. love when your share your heart for Jesus, and it’s such a beautiful message to pass along to your girls ❤ they are so lucky to have you!

  10. I’d remind the girls to stay true to themselves. Don’t change for anyone.

  11. I love your relationship and influence on those girls. They are incredibly blessed to have you!! I’m sure God will give you just the right words to say!!

  12. I’m at loss of words. You’re a rockstar, Rach! Those six ladies are extremely lucky to have you in their lives. If I were to give advice it’d be to always trust yourself & never let negative people bring negativity into your lives. There are going to be others who say something or try to persuade you into doing something you don’t want too – it’s not worth changing who you are.

  13. that is so sweet and precious that you have been able to mentor them for 6 years! what a gift to you all!!

  14. The truest thing I know is the very first verse in the Bible: “In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.” When you lose your way, it is the rock to return to. When your faith begins to capsize, it is the lifeboat that rescues. In those times, no other theology will do. May you never lose your wonder at the stars or recover from your awe of the universe. We mortals cannot even see all the galaxies God has made–may you always worship the One who not only ignites their stars but also counts them and knows them by name (Psalm 147:4).

Leave a Reply

