It’s like every day is my birthday…

Thanks for all the birthday love ย yesterday, friends! I had a great day! It started with an early morning breakfast date with my husband (biscuits smothered in gravy – oh so good!). And then I spent a couple of hours with the kids I nanny (a trip to the library and a lunch date with Christopher). Then some friends came over and made my hair all pretty and we chatted together. Then Christopher and I went out for delicious Italian food at Pete & Sam’s. We came home and opened presents and Christopher made a delicious dessert (without sugar!) for me. And over all it was just an excellent sort of day.

birthday collage

One of the best things about the day was realizing halfway through the day that there wasn’t much about the day that was different than my every day life (other than the presents and my phone blowing up with “love you” and “happy birthday” messages). Christopher kept saying “do whatever you want. Enjoy the day!” And I realized that the things I enjoy doing most… are things I do every day. I have twoย jobs I absolutely love so going “to work” on my birthday is fun for me. Spending time with Christopher, our mutt, and people who love me are things I do every day. The only thing I love to do that we didn’t do was go to the beach. Because… well… it was midweek and our dog sitters are out of town, haha! But we’re headed to the beach again in just a couple of weeks so don’t feel sorry for me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

with my love

Seriously though, it’s humbling to realize this. To realize that I get to spend most every day as if it were my birthday. Doing things I love. Yes, sometimes I photograph a session in 100 degree heat and feel like I’m melting, sometimes I clean up accidents during potty training, sometimes I have to clean toilets at our house, sometimes I get a stomach bug, sometimes we get bad news from the doctor, sometimes we hurt. But those things are so minusculeย in the grand scheme. Day in and day out, life is so great. I know there will come a time when our little family looks different and I won’t be able to be so selfish with my days. And I know that it will be an awesome kind of different. But it will be different. So for now, I will enjoy my days where every day feels like my birthday. And I’m so grateful. ๐Ÿ™‚

Love Rach

26 responses to “It’s like every day is my birthday…

  1. What a beautiful realization and message!! I’m so glad that the day was filled with your favorite things – and that your everyday is filled with those same favorites. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You inspire me! I love your gratitude! Your beauty radiates! I’m so blessed to call you friend!

  3. How wonderful!! Life is a beautiful thing and should always be lived how we want to live!

  4. Aw, this is so sweet! Such a great realization.

  5. thehipandthrifty

    That’s a wonderful thing when you find joy in the things you might otherwise take for granted. A lot of people don’t get that feeling often. Good for you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I had the same realization this past birthday as well. It really is an amazing feeling to know that we live such wonderful lives. Sure we all have our ups & downs, but when you have support and love from your family, those little instances seem as small as a spec of dirt.

  7. What a great realisation. It’s always nice to realise that you spend every day doing all the things you truly want to do ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. It’s like Buddy the Elf “treat every day like Christmas!” … except it’s a birthday this time.

    I’m glad you had a good birthday and I’m thankful you love each and every day. That really is a big blessing.

  9. What an awesome realization! I am always striving to “be more present” and enjoy the moment I’m in, rather than waiting for something that I want to happen later that day or later that year. I try step back and realize how sweet it is when I have Jake sitting on my lap, listening to a book that I’m reading him. Or just Justin and me having a nice conversation in the car on the way home while Jake sleeps in the back seat. Things like that. What a neat birthday gift to realize that you’re really doing all of the things that you love EVERY SINGLE DAY! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. so glad you had a wonderful birthday. it sounds like it was spent just like it should be!!

  11. Aww, I love that you enjoy every day just as much as your birthday!! It’s so inspiring for me to see someone that makes the most and enjoys every single day! Reminds me not to take any moments for granted!

  12. It sounds like an awesome birthday. I love that picture of you two!

  13. Awww!!!! I loved reading this! ๐Ÿ™‚ It made me a little teary eyed!

Leave a Reply

