30 Days

As our six years with theΒ teens we mentor comes to a close, we have decided to take a break. A 30 day break from what our life has been these past six years. Nearly every night of the week for the past six years, we have been go-go-go. Volunteer work, juggling different friend groups, and trying to fit in time together just us here and there where we can. And lots of house projects. They are never ending, ha! And even before that we had college and graduate school and juggling multiple part time jobs and hobbies and friends. We’ve always been the types to have a packed full schedule. And honestly, we love that fast paced life style. We thrive on it. But after so long without a real break, we need to stop and breathe.

I want to call it “30 days of rest” but that wouldn’t really be accurate. We are taking 30 days off from normal life, but we’re going to fill those days with time together. Date nights, trips together, romance, and adventure. I.Am.So.Excited. πŸ˜€

We will still go to church on Sunday mornings and work Monday-Friday (while we’re in town), but all our evenings and weekends will be ours for just us. Every rare now and then over the past few years we’ll take a week and spend it like this and it’s wonderful. So I can’t tell you how excited I am for us to be doing this for 30 days!

We will also spend a lot of time in prayer over these 30 days as we try to decide where life is taking us next. It would be so easy for us to immediately fill up all of our time again with the next volunteer organization (and believe me, I’ve got a list of places I want to get involved with!), but we want to be discerning. We want to give of ourselves and serve, but we also want to be better about carving out set time for us.

Currently we make a point to spend an hour together at the end of every day, talking and praying together before bed. And we try to have at least one date night in per week. But often that date night gets sacrificed. So we want to spend 30 days together, almost like a honeymoon. To laugh and play together. To spend a solid chunk of time together. And to intentionally plan out what our next year will look like.

Our 30 days will be bookended by two trips. We are beginning this time together on August 10th which is the Monday before we head to an all-inclusive resort in the Dominican Republic for a relaxing trip celebrating our seven year anniversary. And we will end the 30 days on September 8th which is the day we return home from a fast paced, adventuresome trip to NYC. I’m looking forward to relaxing together and adventuring together not only on these trips, but also all throughout the 30 days.

This week isΒ packed full like normal in order to spend time with people we love before we disappear for 30 days. It’s going to be a great week. And an awesome 30 days after that!

halloween costume touristsWe are ready for adventure! (Halloween 2014)
Love Rach

51 responses to “30 Days

  1. Oh. my. goodness! You guys are going to have so much fun during this time together to just enjoy each other! I’m so excited for you. I’m super excited to read about your trip to the Dominican Republic and NYC – what two extremes those are in travel destinations!

    • Yes! They are such extremes in travel locations, but I’m excited about both. It’ll be good to bum around the beach for a couple of days at the beginning of this 30 days. And then to go-go-go adventure at the end of the trip in NYC!

  2. That sounds so heavenly!! What a great idea and a season of rest!!!! Love it!

  3. enjoy your 30 days together! i can’t imagine being as busy as you all are / were. my husband and i are definitely not busy people and we rarely go on date nights lol

  4. I hope you receive some much deserved rest on your trips. I look forward to hearing all about your adventures. I pray that God guides you and Christopher into your next steps in life!

  5. This sounds like a great idea πŸ™‚ I can only imagine how much six years of volunteering with the youth can take out of you! I’m sure it’s added many amazing things to your lives too, but the break will be nice. I hope you have an amazing time together!

    What resort are you going to in DR?! Will and I stayed at an all-inclusive there for our honeymoon! It was called the Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar

  6. I LOVE THIS IDEA! You are so wise to be so intentional about your time together. I hope this time is rejuvenating to your minds, hearts and spirits. Have so much fun on your trips!!!

  7. love that you take an hour for each other every single day. an hour doesn’t it sound like much, but it truly does get tricky to fit it in. love this idea πŸ™‚

  8. I’m excited for your 30 days!

    Before I got married a really wise friend gave me this piece of advice: “guard time with your husband.” She said people will want you to do this or that and so on but to make sure time alone is set aside and guarded. I so appreciate her telling me that.

    Secondly, Dave always tells me that if I say no to something in life (even if it is good) then I, in turn, am saying YES to something else. That has always helped me put things into perspective.

    Enjoy your 30 days!

    • Yes! Such excellent advice. We were given similar advice before we got married, but we have such a hard time saying no to people who are asking for help. However, I LOVE what Dave says. I just recently have started hearing people say that. That if you “say ‘no’ to something, you are saying ‘YES’ to something else”… what a better way to think of it! I love that!

  9. i LOVE that y’all are doing this. seriously, taking the time to build your marriage, build your foundation with the Lord as a couple, and seeking His guidance in your next steps! ENJOY this time, soak it in, bask in it, and i can’t wait to see where it leads you!

  10. This will be so great for you guys! A 30 day rest/second honeymoon period sounds pretty amazing πŸ™‚ You’ve definitely deserved it! Enjoy your time together – and your upcoming trips, too!

  11. Yall have fun!!! A break sounds fabulous!

  12. This is such a nice idea! You guys need a break, for sure! I can’t wait to see pictures from your trips!

  13. I love this idea! I hope it’s a fun and restful time for you guys. Those trips sound great! I’m sure you’ll have fun πŸ™‚

  14. It sounds like you have an amazing 30 days coming up. We went to the Dominican Republic for our honeymoon and it is incredible. The beaches are stunning!

  15. Sounds like SUCH a great idea! I love consciously taking time to jumpstart everything. You’re going to have so much fun in DR! We went for out honeymoon and it was BEAUTIFUL! The water can be crazy rough though, so be careful!

  16. What a fantastic idea. Enjoy these next 30 days together. These are the moments in life that we never get back. Make the most out of the days you have together.. which I 100% know you will. Can’t wait to hear about all the adventures you’ll encounter. Safe travels, Rach!

  17. i had no idea how busy y’all have been. i know you guys are involved, but i had no idea it was pretty much every night. this sounds like a great idea and good for you both!!

  18. Great idea! Enjoy your break!

  19. I love this! You guys are so cute and definitely deserve the break/ alone time after all the work you’ve put into the mentoring program! I’m excited for ya girl! Enjoy your break!

  20. This is such a great idea! We are good at packing our schedules so full that sometimes it feels more stressful than it is fun. Other times, it is great because it usually means spending time with the people we love. But I think it is so important to take time to just be together and have fun as a couple again. I hope it is the perfect break for you both!

  21. That sounds amazing, you are smart for recognizing how essential a break is! I hope you have a wonderful time together and find direction for future plans!

  22. So excited for you both! Enjoy this time together! Love that picture of you too. So awesome. πŸ™‚

  23. This is SUCH a wise decision!!! I can’t wait to hear about it as you go along or after it’s over (are you going to keep up blogging or are you taking a break)? I just know it’s going to be soooo good for you both and I think it’ll give you a fresh perspective on the years to come! πŸ™‚

    Every now and then I go through times where I tell people I’m putting on my blinders and saying “no” to all the extras. It’s always sooo good for my soul!

    Enjoy your 30 days!!!!

    • I’m definitely planning to still keep blogging through this time. Like normal I won’t blog when we’re traveling, but the rest of the time I’ll try to keep up with it. πŸ™‚ I am definitely looking forward to how good this will be for the soul. πŸ™‚

  24. This is awesome!!! Making time for ourselves in this busy world is much easier said than done! I can’t wait to see how these next 30 days turn out for you and hear about your travels!

  25. Pingback: The end of the 30 Days |

  26. Pingback: Things I’ll remember from 2015 |

  27. Pingback: As it turns out, we are continually drawn to teens (in a non creepy way) |

Leave a Reply

