Visiting Graceland during Elvis Week

We’re only on day 3 of 30, but it has been AWESOME so far! I know I said on Monday that we were planning a low key night in, but halfway through the day we realized that it’s currently Elvis week and we’ve never been to Graceland for it before. So we had a quick dinner at home and then we were off to Graceland!

graceland{us at Graceland in 2006}

We’ve been to Graceland once before. It was before we moved to Memphis. This shot was taken in 2006 when we were still college students. We had come to Memphis for Christmas with my extended familyΒ and my mom snapped this shot of us outside the front gates of Graceland. Check out how young we look. And how classy we are in our sweats & hoodies aka traveling clothes. πŸ˜‰ Little did those youngsters know that in two short years we’d be married and living in Memphis!

us at graceland 2015

There we are this week in front of Graceland! This photo was taken by our newest friends from the UK. Flo and Linda. They live 90 minutes apart in England and yet they met here in Memphis. Flo has been to Graceland for Elvis week 8 times and Linda has been here for Elvis week 15 times. This is Linda’s first trip without her husband who just passed away this year, but she said that it as sad as it is to be here without him, it feels like coming home to family. We were blown away by the community of people we discovered who gather together every year in our city.

us graceland2

When Linda and Flo heard that we lived here in Memphis, they told us how jealous they are. It cost Linda and her family $10k this year to come here for this. They couldn’t believe that we live in Memphis and that this is only our second time to ever come to Graceland. We didn’t dare tell them that we’ve never even been inside (We’ll make it happen one of these days)! Plus, we’ve been to Graceland Too and that’s just as awesome. πŸ˜‰ You guys should’ve heard them in their adorable British accents, “Live ‘ere in Memphis and never comeΒ to Graceland?! Can you believe it?” They cracked us up! I’m pretty sure it’d be how I’d feel if I heard someone living in Rome had only gone to the Colosseum once. And never even bothered to pay to go in. Just sounds ludicrous.

elvis' grave

Linda and Flo were just the tip of the iceberg with people who make the trek to Memphis to honor Elvis during the week of the anniversary of his death. Tens of thousands come every year during this week alone (I heard on the news that it was 35,000 in 2013, I’m not sure how many this year). There were so many different languages being spoken. We saw a woman weeping at his grave and many others sitting around in reverent quiet. It’s humbling in a way to see people who have come from across the world to visit the place I call home. Elvis has had such an incredible impact on music and generations of people.

elvis is forever

It wasn’t the low key night we had originally planned, but it was way way better. We had such fun and really loved getting to meet Flo & Linda. A night well spent!Β We had more of a low key night last night (grilling out and packing). And tonight there will be more adventures! πŸ™‚

Have you been to Graceland before?

Is there something your city that tourists flock to?

Love Rach

26 responses to “Visiting Graceland during Elvis Week

  1. Yall were so young! I’ve never been to Graceland, but would love to go! That’s crazy that it cost them so much to come visit!!!

  2. That’s so awesome that you’re able to eat a quick dinner and then just drive to Graceland! πŸ™‚ I love that there’s so much to do in Memphis. It’s definitely a fun place that I’d love to check out someday!!
    So don’t laugh, but the one event that my town has every year (other than a Memorial Day parade) is a craft fair. LOL! (Yes, we live in the sticks). πŸ˜‰ BUT it’s such a great craft fair that people all over New England travel to it. It has really talented artists such as painters, carpenters, silversmiths, etc. AND amazing bakers (hmmmm, apple cider donuts)! πŸ™‚ So it’s really fun to walk through (and even shop). Even my hubby likes to go, because it’s not your typical craft fair. It’s pretty great! But… still it’s kind of funny to say that your town’s one event is a craft fair. Hee, hee! πŸ™‚

  3. I am going to Graceland next month and I am so excited. I am excited about all things Memphis.

  4. So fun! Graceland is definitely on my bucket list. Not sure why… but I really want to see it!

  5. Oh my word!! You guys are the cutest!! Glad that you are having fun together!! πŸ™‚

  6. That picture of you two in 2006 is super cute!!! You really do look soooo young! πŸ™‚ And to think…you probably felt so grown when it was taken.

    That’s crazy that they spent $10k to come and that it’s like a tradition!!!! I can’t even fathom the craziness that has outlived him for so very long!

    I’m glad you guys decided to go!!!! πŸ™‚

  7. This is incredible! I’ve always wanted to go to Graceland – fabulous pics πŸ˜€

  8. Oh how cool! I think I’m going to have to make it out to Graceland for Elvis week one year. I am supposed to run the 5k there Saturday but I’m not even sure if there are still people in town through the weekend or if they just came in for last weekend. It would probably blow their minds if they knew how many Memphians had never been to Graceland. I only went for the first time about 4 years ago, lol.

    • I know! Very few of my friends here in Memphis have actually been in Graceland. I guess it’s just one of those things that we know we can do “someday” so we’re in no rush. Especially since it’s so expensive. One of these days we’ll make it! πŸ˜‰

      How was the 5k?

  9. I’d love to visit here someday. Looks like fun.

  10. I’ve never been to Graceland. Oh my gosh that picture of you guys…you were BABIES!! So glad you two are making the most of your time! Spontaneous nights like that are the best!

  11. I had never heard of Elvis Week. I have been to Graceland. I went in high school on a field trip. I honestly can’t remember our main reason for the trip but we stopped at Graceland and the Peabody Hotel. I have the worst memory ever…

    Almost everything in Tuscaloosa is football related so the stadium and the UA campus would be what most people travel here for.

  12. Last minute plans are always the BEST! I’ve never been to Graceland before either. I think I would probably go if I visited Memphis, but it’s funny that you guys live there and never go! I would probably just go incidentally, because it’s a famous tourist attraction. But that Elvis love that you’re talking about is CRAZY! All of the flowers and the die-hard fans? That is really intense.

    • I think that if we didn’t live in Memphis and came to visit – we’d totally go! I think when you live here it’s just like “oh, we’ll go one of these days…” but it’s just so expensive and you just don’t think to go. One of these days we will actually tour the house, though!

  13. Ah, so fun that you got to visit during Elvis week!! And that you have sweet new British friends πŸ™‚ Yay for fun last minute plans!

  14. Pingback: Day 23 Check In |

Leave a Reply

