That one time I got food poisoning in the Dominican Republic

Why hi there, friends.

I am here.

Sitting upright. Back in the land of FDA regulated foods.

For those of you who didn’t see it on Instagram or Facebook, I managed to get food poisoning while on our trip to the Dominican Republic. On our anniversary day. True romance, my friends. πŸ˜‰

We had three exciting days full of fun and the sun and the ocean before I got sick. And for those days I am so grateful!

rach in the DR

Then on Sunday – our actual anniversary – we had a gorgeously perfect day on the beach, playing in the water, and talking about this past year and the future. We went back to the room and got cleaned up and started getting ready for a romantic dinner when I started to feel a little sick. I brushed it off and we walked out on the balcony to take a photo.

us in DR

After perfect weather all day long, the sky was rapidly darkening. We decided to book it trying to get to dinner. We made it halfway there before we had to take shelter from what turned out to be a pretty major storm and not just a passing rain shower like we had anticipated.

us in the rain

I know it’s dark, but that was us, huddled together under a shelter. We found the whole situation pretty hilarious to be honest. I mean, “happy anniversary to us”, right? πŸ˜‰ Oh man, we had no idea what was coming.Β We got stuck there for almost an hour before we decided just to run back to our room through the storm. It was hilarious, you guys. We ranΒ through that storm until we made it back to the safety of our room. Totally soaked. We waited out the storm and while we did so, I started to feel more and more “off”. But I kept thinking that I’d be fine. So when the storm finally passed we decided to go to dinner.Β Then I realized I was definitely sick. We ate a quick dinner and made it back to the room just before I started to feel really awful.

So instead of a romantic anniversary evening, we spent the evening with me being crazy sick. It was a miserable night, but there were sweet moments. Like when Christopher wrapped me up in his arms and told me all the reasons he loves me. He was attempting to salvage our tradition of renewing our vows on our anniversary. Because he’s a sweetheart. πŸ™‚ He got up with me every time I was sick in the night (which was a lot)Β and really took the best care of me.

It was a pretty miserable 48 hours, but I breathed a huge sigh of relief when we got back to the States. Of course that was before I realized that our flight would be delayed because of bad weather and we wouldn’t get home until after 2am. But after a night in my own bed, I woke up feeling oh so much better!

in the DR

The trip wasn’t all bad, though!Β The Dominican Republic was beautiful! We had so much fun those first few days. I don’t know that we’ll be back just simply because we are more cruise-types than we are resort-types. But it’s not just because of the food poisoning. I mean, yes, I got sick, but Christopher didn’t. And you can get food poisoning anywhere (Christopher has had it twice in the States). Aaanyway, we had a good few days, but we are definitely glad to be home and feeling much better now. πŸ™‚

us

Have you ever had food poisoning while on vacation?
Have you been to an all inclusive resort before?
Love Rach

46 responses to “That one time I got food poisoning in the Dominican Republic

  1. That is just soooo not fun! I think that being sick so far from home would make it that much worse… But it’s so sweet how Christopher took care of you. πŸ™‚ He’s a keeper, for sure!

  2. Ugh, food poisoning is the worst!! I’m glad that you are feeling better now and were able to make it back on the flight. I also love that you can still look back and appreciate the good days you had there. Actually when I was living in Spain and first dating my husband I either had food poisoning or a virus, but anyway I was sick for several days and Tomas took such good care of me. Always good to have someone by your side in those times! Do you know what you ate that made you sick? My dad had the bad luck of getting food poisoning 2 out of the 3 times he visited Spain…one time he wasn’t even sure if he’d be able to make it on the flight home!

    As for resort vs. cruise…I am a resort girl! But, I’ve also never been on a cruise, so I guess I can’t really compare haha

    • Yes! I was so glad I made it through the flight okay!

      It’s so good when you have someone there to take good care of you. Tomas is a winner! πŸ™‚ Is that when you knew he was the one for you?

      I’m not sure what it is that I got sick from. It could’ve been anything. I suspect it was either all the fruit I was eating (washed in local water and left sitting out too long) or an undercooked steak I ate one night. But it really could’ve been something different entirely. Whatever it was – I’m glad to be home and better! πŸ™‚

  3. Ahh, man! What a damper on the anniversary day. I’m glad you’re starting to feel better now that your home… Christopher really had the chance to prove the “in sickness and in health” part of the traditional wedding vow! I’m glad that you guys had a few really nice days there before the food poisoning hit.

    You look gorgeous in all the photos!

  4. that is like one of my biggest fears!
    i’m so glad yo uwere able to get those great days beforehand and push through ❀

    • It’s not really something I’d considered before. I mean, it’s always in the back of my mind that it’s a possibility, but after living in a third world country and surviving just fine as a teenager, I just kind of get comfortable. This was a good wake up call to me. I was so glad that I brought medicine for upset stomach with me as a “probably won’t need this, but just in case” sort of thing!

  5. oh my gosh that absolutely sucks. i’ve never had food poisoning will on vacation but i have been sick. so nice of your husband to get up with you, mine is like ‘you okay?’ haha. that rain is intense though! glad you had a good time besides being sick.

  6. optimistichealth

    Yikes, glad you’re better! My husband and I went to Disneyland the weekend after we got married and he got super sick from Disneyland food. We drove the whole 6 hours back to phoenix with a bucket in his lap. ‘Twas just the beginning of “through sickness and in health”.

  7. Oh Rach! That’s the WORST–to be sick on vacation! As I’m reading this post, I’m laying in bed with some sort of stomach flu, so I feel your pain! I got sick during the middle of 4th period this morning. Like literally, right in the middle of class, I just had to run out the door. I had time for a quick, “Sorry, everyone! I’m feeling really sick. Can someone go tell Ms. Morris in the office…?” I just barely ran down the hall and made it to the bathroom in time. Ugh! The worst! Like you, I was feeling a little off all morning but just kept thinking it would go away. No fun!!

  8. I had some kind of bug, perhaps food poisoning when I came home from Mexico in 2007. We stayed with locals and ate the local food, which clearly didn’t sit well in my stomach. Glad you still managed to have a good time!

  9. Oh no, that’s awful. I have heard of a lot of people getting food poisoning in the DR, but I was fine. I did get food poisoning on a Spanish island though, and it was horrible.

    I am happy you still managed to have some fun though πŸ™‚

    • Ever since it happened to me, I hear about SO many people who got food poisoning in the DR. Apparently it’s pretty common there. Yikes! I’m just glad Christopher didn’t get sick too. I don’t know what we would’ve done with both of us ill!

  10. Oh man, I’m sorry about your food poisoning. No fun.

    I’m glad you still had fun though.

  11. I am so glad you weren’t sick the whole time and actually got to enjoy some of the vacation. I have friends that got sick in the DR on their honeymoon. Being sick on vacation has to be the worst. It hasn’t happened to me but it has happened to my daughter. It was the worst seeing her sick like that.

    • Yikes! Ever since I got sick in the DR, I keep hearing other similar stories from people. Apparently it’s pretty common there. I’m just glad Christopher didn’t get sick too!

      Aww, your poor girl! I can’t imagine what it must feel like to be a mom and see your kiddo so sick. 😦

  12. Your pictures are beautiful! You guys look great. How’s that water? I’m sorry about the sickness though. Was it the food or the water?

    • The water was pretty, but not as pretty as Cozumel or the Bahamas (two of my favorite beaches). But then I think it just depends on what time of year you go and what the weather has been like. While we were in the DR there was tons of seaweed in the water so I think that was affecting the color. It was cold, but not like Mediterranean Sea cold. The breezes were awesome, though. πŸ™‚

      I’m not sure what I got sick from. I was careful not to drink the water (or brush my teeth with it), but I did eat a lot of fruit that had been washed in the local water and probably had been sitting out too long. It could’ve been anything, though. I’m just glad to be home and feeling better! πŸ™‚

  13. I am so so sorry you got food poisoning, on your anniversary, too! Ugh! I love your attitude about it though! You just took it in stride and realized that you still had wonderful days leading up to it and even sweet moments when you were sick! It reminds me of when Jimmy got the flu on Christmas day and was sick for a week afterwards. I was so bummed we were cooped up on our holiday break together, but it was okay in the end and only one of was sick instead of both!! I love all of your pictures, though! You two are such a gorgeous couple!

    • Oh man, I remember when you blogged about him having the flu at Christmas. What a terrible thing! I definitely agree with you that it’s so much better when only one of you is sick. I don’t know what we would have done if Christopher had gotten ill in the DR as well. Small mercies, for sure. πŸ™‚ By the way, I am oh, so happy that you are back to blogging! πŸ™‚

  14. Oh man, food poisoning is the WORST! But I’ve only ever gotten it from FDA approved foods, haha! – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  15. Okay, so I’m SO behind on your blog…YAY for going to the Dominican!! Food poisoning though…oh man, BRUTAL. I’m glad you managed to have some good days before you got sick though. Your pictures look gorgeous!

  16. Oh no!! I’m sorry that happened but I’m glad you were able to enjoy a few days before then πŸ™‚ This isn’t food poisoning, but last Fall I flew to New Orleans for a girlfriend’s wedding and the day of the wedding I came down with a high fever and ended up on an IV at Urgent Care. Yay for the flu! Needless to say I missed the wedding I had flown there for and spent 2 days holed up in the hotel room praying that Tamiflu was fast acting. Being sick and traveling is no fun, I’m glad you feel better!

  17. You poor, poor thing! I’m so glad you have such a sweet husband who lived out your vows that night (in sickness and in health right?!) Glad you got a few good days in…that last picture of you two is just GORGEOUS! XO

  18. Sorry you had food poisoning! I love all inclusives (and cruises!) and have been lucky enough not to get sick during one of those trips. We got married at an all-inclusive and spent our 1 year and 4 year anniversary at one. I still have to convince Jay to go on a cruise though! He says he’ll hate it, even though he’s never been on one, grrrr.

    • ​I have a friend who is convinced she’ll hate cruising too and she’s never been! Her husband wants to go, but she’s convinced that she’ll get seasick and be miserable. Hopefully you can convince your husband eventually! Cruising is the best! :D​

  19. I am so sorry that this happened to you! I actually got an e.coli infection when I went to Mexico for my senior spring break, and am scarred for life haha. I’ve pretty much sworn off that country! Glad you had a few good days before the sickness hit though!

  20. I am so glad you got a few really good days. The pictures are beautiful! The food poisoning part sounds awful though. Glad you had your sweet hubby there to take care of you. It is awful getting really sick like that, but not being home when it happens makes things soo much harder!

  21. That is so rough!! Thankful you got a couple good days in first at least. πŸ™‚

  22. Pingback: Day 23 Check In |

  23. Pingback: The end of the 30 Days |

  24. Pingback: Things I’ll remember from 2015 |

  25. Pingback: We’re headed back to Europe! |

Leave a Reply

