What do you say in moments like these?

It was a hard weekend, friends.

I nearly posted this yesterday, but decided I needed a day to just breathe and think about happy things, like the day we began our marriage. But now I’m ready to tackle the feelings and try to put them into words.

I spent Friday night with one of my teen girls in the ICU. The family hasn’t been very public with the details so I’ll remain vague here, but this precious family just lost their 25-year-old daughter and sister. If there is something to be said in times like those, I don’t know what it is. Instead I was a shoulder to cry on and a hand to hold. I dropped that sweet teen girl of mine off with her aunt around midnight and came home and poured my heart out to Christopher. We grieved and prayed together for this family. We crashed late that night.

Saturday afternoon as I was fielding texts and calls from my other teen girls about the situation I got another heart wrenching text. One of my best friends had gone in for a routine 16 week ultrasound and there was no heartbeat. I hate how often I have heard this story in the past 5 years since all my friends started having kids. She was induced and delivered her son that night. My heart just felt like it had shattered. I cannot image what she and her husband are going through right now. And again, I find myself without words. What do you say in moments like these?

Sunday morning I met my friends’ new foster baby. I looked at her perfect face and saw all the innocence there. I breathed deeply and prayed for this tiny preemie baby whose future is so uncertain. There is so much brokenness and pain in this world and it tugs on my heart strings to think of all the possible futures this baby might face.

rach and little miss

So yes, it has been an emotional weekend. My prayers are spread out. I feel so helpless to comfort and help people who I love so much. But I hold close to the truth I know: the Lord is close to the brokenhearted and He saves those who are crushed in spirit. (Psalm 34:18)

If you would, say a prayer for these sweet souls who are in the midst of grief right now.
Love Rach

33 responses to “What do you say in moments like these?

  1. Sometimes just being there and being the person they can turn to is enough. Sometimes there really aren’t words.

  2. Praying for all of these sweet people. There really are no words. But I know God understands even when we don’t know what to say. ❤

  3. Praying for your friends during this hard time. My sister jokingly told my dad the other day that it’s tough being an adult (she’s getting her first job). I told him that lately it’s been extra tough being an adult because it seems like more people are vulnerable to this kind of grief now that we are older and have children and spouses. I’ve just tried to remind my friends that they are not forgotten. I know one mentioned that she was still grieving so hard but everyone else is going about their daily lives like nothing happened. So I’ve tried to remind others that I think of them often. I’m not sure if there are really any words that can truly comfort them though. Just gotta keep praying for them

    • That’s such good advice. I need to be better about checking in on people months after hard things happen. I always try to write myself a note to check in on them on anniversaries of deaths and birthdays, but it’s easy to forget during the day-to-day.

  4. Oh wow, it sounds like an emotional weekend. I will keep the families in my thoughts.

  5. Oh what hard things to have come up all at once. It is so hard trying to find the right words to bring any comfort. I can tell you care so deeply, so I am sure they feel that too. I will be praying for them (and for you too).

  6. i’m so sorry for the hard things that are happening to you and your loved ones.. thoughts are with you!

  7. I Will certainly be praying. Gosh, that is so hard. I wish we knew why things happened but hopefully God is glorified through these situations.

  8. Sorry to hear about everything that has happened this weekend, Rach…I also feel at a loss for words as to what to tell you. I’ll be sure to pray for you and your friends. Sending hugs your way.

  9. I’m praying for you, Rach. God is clearly using you and your kind heart to comfort so many people around you!

  10. I don’t think there is much that you can say in situations like this. Just being there for the people that you love makes a huge difference.

  11. heart break indeed. i’m glad you are able to be a comfort to them!

  12. Pingback: Pizza on the Grill |

  13. I am definitely praying, Rach. For all three situations and the people involved. Thanks for sharing the beautiful and true scripture.

  14. So heartbreaking. It’s so great that they have kind souls like you in times like this!

  15. I know that I’m reading this late, but I will definitely still pray for you and all the heartache around you!

  16. I haven’t had as much opportunity to comment, but I want you to know that I have been praying… My heart aches for those going through such difficult times!

  17. Aww, sure I will pray. I’m sorry for you and your friends. Sometimes we have to carry such heavy loads and it is hard not to wonder why God would allow them, but perhaps in learning how to carry them and not holding it against Him, we will be better suited to shed them when we are ready, and help someone else who is going through something similar later on in life, so that from our stories, they gain the comfort of knowing that there will be a future.

Leave a Reply

