This is We

Last week we went to the National Civil Rights Museum here in Memphis. If you ever get the opportunity to go, you need to go. It’s incredibly moving. No surprise, I cried as we walked through it. I cannot understand hate and divisiveness. I never have. But they weren’t just tears of sorrow over the suffering of a people from long ago, but also tears for the people who still face racism every day. And tears shed because I was so moved by all the people who stood up and made a difference.

I love this city where I live, but I’m not going to pretend that there isn’t still racial tension here. But there is a lot of good here as well. Last night we walked down Broad Ave in the arts district. And we saw the melting pot. People of different races and socio-economic statuses chatting together. Looking at art, listening to music, and sharing food. Art, music, and food seem to bring people together and I love that Memphis is so rich in these.

We aren’t all the same here in Memphis. There’s a collision of cultures and backgrounds represented here. To be 100% honest, ever since Bethany and her family moved away, my closest friends here in Memphis are all white. But I love that every week I get to chat with people who are African-American, Asian, Hispanic, and some sweet ladies from the middle East. And that’s just by going to the gym, church, dropping the kids off at school, and going to our favorite restaurants within a couple of miles of our house. I love living in a place that is so influenced by so many different people and cultures. Which is why I loved the art on Broad Ave last night.

this is we muralThis is me. This is you. This is we.
We are Memphis.

Have you been to a Civil Rights Museum? 
Does your city have an arts district? 

Love Rach

23 responses to “This is We

  1. I would love to go to something like this! How cool.

  2. Honestly that sounds a lot like Richmond. I love our city but it has a long way to go!

    We do have some pretty cool arts district near us and that’s one of my favorite parts!

    • It’s good to be able to take an honest look around and see the bad, but also recognize the good in a city. Memphis is always making the news for something terrible, but there is so much good here too! I’m glad you understand where I’m coming from!

  3. Sounds like a great experience! Currently where I live it’s not very diverse… but when I was in school and when I lived more in the main city it was! Definitely a great opportunity for me to experience “real life.” 🙂

  4. Sounds like fun! We need more cool places like this in my town.. – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  5. My friend just went last week and said it was amazing!

  6. I love that mural!! And I have never been to the Civil Rights museum. It’s one of those things here in Memphis that I just have never checked out. I’m working through a list of things though to see on staycations though.

    • Girl, you need to go. Seriously. I can’t believe it has taken us this long to finally make it down there, but I am so glad we finally went. We plan to go back and take friends with us every time we have someone visiting from out of town. It’s *excellent*!

  7. That sounds wonderful! I love this post. I would have totally lost it, stuff like that really gets to me. I’m with you, how could people be so hateful and cruel? Glad we get to be a generation to change that.

  8. The mural (and the sentiment) is beautiful. I definitely would have cried my way through the museum too. What a powerful message.

  9. Awesome mural! I haven’t ever been to a civil rights museum, but I would definitely go if I have the chance!

  10. Memphis sounds a little like Manchester, it is a big mix of people and mostly everyone gets along, but it still has a long way to go and their can be a lot of tension.

  11. Pingback: Day 23 Check In |

  12. That wall is amazing!! What a cute picture of you two…I think it deserves a frame. Or a canvas on the wall even. 😉 Glad you had a good time. You two are getting so much in!!

Leave a Reply

