Day 23 Check In

So I had great intentions of blogging about all the fun things we’re doing during our 30 days. And I have a little. I shared about going to Gracelandour trip to the DR, our Italy Memories Night, and going to the Civil Rights Museum & down to the arts district. But that’s all I’ve shared on the blog. And on Instagram I shared a picture from a bookstore date night, a family walksome thrift store shopping, and a snapshot from the Renaissance Faire. I’ve also put up a couple of pictures of some of the food we’re making, but there is just so much more that I haven’t managed to share yet. I plan to share all the recipes we really enjoyed in individual posts, but so much of the fun stuff we’ve been doing can easily be shared in list form. Soooo… here ya go!

Other Fun Things We’ve Been Up To:

-Bowling (cosmic bowling of course. With the black lights and disco ball)

-Lots of family walks

-Hitting up the gym together

-Lazy nights in watching sitcom reruns with take out Chinese

-Played Wii Mario Kart (we haven’t played this in years and Christopher is still crazy good at it. He’s weirdly incredible with hand-eye coordination)

-Watched a couple of really great movies (a whole blog post coming on this!)

-Downtown to the Orpheum to see Gone With the Wind on the big screen

-Thrift Store Shopping

-Renaissance Faire (a whole blog post coming on this very soon!)

-Too many trips to frozen yogurt (Menchies is our fav because they have great sugar free flavors for me!)

-Board Games & Coloring in coloring books (because the child in us loves it)

Serious Talks

We’ve also spent a lot of time talking about future plans (home renovation, career things, volunteer work, etc). I’ll be honest, I thought I knew “for sure” which things I really wanted to do. But after this time of prayer and more discussion, I’m finding that I’m not as sure. And that’s probably good for me, ha! I’ll share more on this as we make decisions.

Spiritual Life

We also started a new daily devotional during these 30 days, but we just couldn’t take the cheesiness of it (it was a daily devotional to help build marriages and really took a lot of scriptures out of context) and quit it last week. So we’ve switched to reading through the book of James for the rest of this week since that’s what we’re studying at church. After that we’re switching to the SheReadsTruth & HeReadsTruth app/website to study the book of Daniel. I love studying scripture with Christopher and being challenged by God’s word. And I especially love that we have plenty of time every night to do this instead of trying to cram it in after we get home from wherever we’ve been before we crash in bed. 🙂

Travel Coming Up

This week we leave for NYC and we are super excited about it! We are also a little sad that our 30 days is coming to a close, but this trip will be the perfect way to end it! We’re just hoping that we both manage to stay healthy on this trip, ha!

So all in all, the 30 days has been AWESOME! A few more blog posts on the fun things we’ve been doing are coming soon! And plenty of delicious recipes will be up on the blog soon. 🙂

Have you played the Wii lately? It is sooo 2007-2009. 😉 But we still have our Wii. I’m glad we brought it out last night. We had fun!

Do you have a favorite frozen yogurt shop?

Any recommendations for a good daily devotional or Bible study? Most of the really great ones I’ve seen have been geared toward women. Which is great for me, but we like to study together sometimes, too.

Love Rach

28 responses to “Day 23 Check In

  1. I’m so glad you guys have had a fun and joyful and blessed 30 days together. What a fun little chapter – you’ll look back on it fondly for years and years!

    • Yes! I really do think we will look back at this time fondly. And I hope it won’t be the last time we do it. Hopefully we’ll do something like this every so often. Maybe every other year. I think it would help a lot with keeping us from burning out. 🙂

  2. I absolutely have loved seeing your thirty days posts, so overjoyed for you both. What a wonderful documentation – sending love and blessings to you both!

  3. I can’t wait to read about everything you’ve been up to! And have a great time in NYC!

  4. What was the devo you didn’t like? I want to start Francis Chan’s new one. You and Me Forever…. I’ve heard good things!

    • It’s one that was given to us after we attended a marriage conference. I’ll email you the name of it.

      How did I not think about the “You and Me Forever” one?! I totally forgot about that! Earlier this year when we visited my parents, their class at church was doing that. We watched one of the videos and really enjoyed it. I need to put that in our rotation. Thanks for the reminder! If you start it, let me know how it is. I just saw one video in the middle of it all.

  5. This all sounds like so much fun! Chinese and a lazy night in sound great. I can’t wait to read what movies you have been liking. Hope you have a blast in NYC (and stay super healthy)!

  6. Aww sounds like you guys have been having an amazing time!! That’s so funny about the Wii being 2007-2009, but you’re right on! We still have ours but rarely play it. When we do, it’s usually bowling or Mario Kart, and still lots of fun! Haha 🙂 I hope your NYC trips goes well!!

    • Hey! Bowling and Mario Kart are the two we’re playing this week too, haha! Those were our favorites. The Wii was HUGE my last year of college. Everyone had one and we played it every time we went to anyone’s apartment/dorm/party. We played so much during the hey-day of the Wii. But then it just sits by the way-side now. We definitely need to pull it out and play it more often! I forget how fun it is!

  7. IF you find a good devotional, please let me know. Nate and I have yet to find one that we both really like… (Fun fact: I think that James is my favorite book of the Bible. 🙂 It’s just SO good)!
    And I CANNOT wait to read your recap about NYC once you get back!!!!! 🙂 You’re going to have a blast!

    • YAY for James! It’s my pastor’s wife’s favorite book too! She was sharing with us over lunch on Sunday that she loves how practical it is. What makes you love it?

      I’ve really enjoyed the SheReadsTruth devos that I’ve done, but we haven’t looked at the HeReadsTruth ones yet. I mean, I skimmed through one of them, but that was it. So after we get back from NYC we are planning to start that. I’ll let you know how that goes. I’ve also heard great things about You and Me Forever by Francis Chan (Amanda reminded me of it in her comment above). I just downloaded the app and it gives you the book and audiobook for free! And at the end of each chapter you can answer questions within the app. They also have a paperback study guide that you can purchase. I haven’t decided if we’re going to get that or not. We won’t start it until we finish with the Daniel study from S/HeReadsTruth. 🙂 Anyway, I’ll keep you updated on all of that!

      And YES! NYC! SO soon! In theory we’re taking photos with the NYC skyline in the background on Saturday afternoon so I have every intention of taking a photo of me waving at you! 😀

      • I think that saying James is practical is pretty much how I’d describe it too and one of the reasons why I love it so much. We just had a Bible study series on it at my church, and – as we read through it – I just kept thinking, “Oh, that’s SO good! Oh, wow! Why am I not reading James more often?!? 🙂 It’s just so challenging, but in a good way. I read it and feel as though I have practical points to follow in my daily life.
        Definitely keep me updated on the devotionals!! I’ll have to check out the ones you mentioned… Nate and I really do want to start one together, as it’s been awhile since we’ve done that.
        AND I will be taking a photo on Saturday of me waving at you!!! We should Instagram it, that way we’ll see it when it ‘happens’. Ha, ha! We don’t need to do a specific time or anything, because you’ll be on vacay and I know that you’ll be exploring at your own leisure. But I’ll do my best to post one Saturday afternoon of me sending out a wave to you! Ha, ha! Have FUN!!!

        • Yes definitely! There is so much rich truth in James! I know what you mean about reading it and thinking “Yes! Truth! I can do that today!”

          I’ll keep you updated on the devotionals and you do the same for me. If you guys find one you really like, let me know!

          Yes! Totally the wave on Saturday! I’ll post it on Insta too. That’s a great idea! 🙂

  8. I looks like a fun 30 days! My husband and I LOVE playing Mario Kart on the Wii. I don’t think my husband enjoys it as much as I do though, as I am so much better than him haha

  9. I still can’t get over how cool this “30 Days” concept is! I love that you guys are really sticking to it, and it’s probably better you’re saving most of your blogging for when you wrap up your 30 days. I love that in addition to traveling and visiting new places you are enjoying the simple things like going for walks and playing board games (some of my favorite relaxing pastimes!)

    Have a blast in NYC! Make sure to eat lots of good food!

  10. it really sounds like this time for y’all is much needed and you’re soaking it all in. keep doing that, and no worries about not posting as much girl! you’re LIVING LIFE and that is what is important! ❤ ❤

  11. Call us old school then because our Wii is the only game system we use. I consider it the party game system haha. I can usually laugh harder than I have in weeks just watching someone play a few rounds of Just Dance! lol And I have no recommendations on devotionals but I would love to see what is recommended. Most of the ones I see are gender based. We have one in the car that Brooklyn reads in the mornings on the way to school. It is supposed to be for teens but it really could work for anyone. It has hit me in the feels a few times with it’s perfect timing.

    • Haha! Totally old school! But I like it. I remember when the Wii was *the thing* we played at everyone’s apartment when we went over for any gathering. We really should pull it out for parties now still! It’s such fun! 🙂

      Someone above mentioned the You and Me Forever by Francis Chan one. I’ve seen one of the videos and I thought it was really good. There’s an app that you can download that has the entire book & audio book for free. I think we’re going to try it after the Daniel study! 🙂

  12. Yes please both of you stay healthy on your NYC trip! No food poisoning, okay?! I love all of the activities you guys have done for your 30 days (thus far)! I haven’t played Wii in a long time (my parent’s cat, Felix, chewed their Wii cord :() but I used to LOVE the dancing game… I can’t remember the name of it?!

    Jimmy and I tried a marriage devotional, The Love Dare, and we quit like halfway through. We just weren’t into it because it felt like it was for couples that fight 24/7 or something. As for devotionals, I like Jesus Calling. I know a lot of Christians are really divided on it, but I enjoy it!

    • Yes! We are definitely hoping to stay healthy on this trip!!

      For the first three years we were married, we started off the first 40 days of the new year doing the Love Dare. We really enjoyed it. But we realized that third year that most of the things in it were things we just already did for each other every day. I can definitely see what you mean about it being for couples who fight a lot or really take each other for granted. It’s been four years since we last did it so it might be worth pulling out to look at again. The one thing that we really liked about it (even though most of it was stuff we were already doing) was that it made us be sure to take time every day to think about and pray about our marriage. 🙂 Even the super cheesy devo that we were doing together this past month still sparked some good conversations just because it made us think about our marriage every day. 🙂

  13. Your thirty days sounds so fun! You guys have been spending some good quality time together–something that Justin and I need to do more! It’s so funny that you mention the Wii…we still have ours, too. And a few months ago, I saw a Wii Fit board at a garage sale for like $5, and I bought it because I remember really wanting one years ago. Justin was really skeptical of my purchase, because he didn’t think I would really use it. I tried my best to prove him wrong….for like a week. And then I quit using it, and it’s been collecting dust under the couch ever since. But Jake will be able to play on our Wii once he’s old enough! (Though he will probably want something newer by the time he’s old enough to really GET IT.) 😛

    • Hahaha! That sounds like me. “I will totally prove you wrong and use this all the time….. for a week…. okay fine, you were right” 😉 Maybe before Jake knows that there are other gaming systems out there, he can play with the Wii. It’s pretty simple. I’m confident a 3 or 4 year old could play with it at least some!

Leave a Reply

