Walking with the dinosaurs (and other incredible things we saw in NYC)

We got to go to two museums while we were in NYC as well as hit up the New York Public Library which is like a museum in of itself. Exploring each of these places was so incredible! The buildings and architecture alone were amazing. And then all the stuff inside was so cool to see as well. πŸ™‚

Our first museum stop was the American Museum of Natural HistoryΒ (where Night at the Museum was set). It wasΒ incredible! We knew we’d love the dinosaur exhibit, but really the whole museum was so neat. Seeing animals up close and personal really helped us put into perspectiveΒ how massive some of these animals really are (like Moose and Whales!). Our other favorite part of the museum was the Rose Center for Earth and Space. It is amazing how intricate this planet we live on is. We walked away with this awed sense of “wow”.

american museum of natural history

american museum of natural history

DSC_0786You can’t tell from this photo, but these guys are ENORMOUS! They towered over us!

american museum of natural history

The next day we checked out the Metropolitan Museum of Art. We walked in knowing that we’d love the Greek and Roman statues, but we had no idea how cool the huge Egyptian exhibit would be! Not to mention how neat the Medieval Knights part was. Really I could spend days in the MET and the AMNH. They are just fabulous!

the MET

the MET

us at the MET2

the MET

And on our last day we went to the New York Public Library and you guys, it was kind of magical. I just kept thinking about how incredible it would be to go to this library to do research or work on editing photos. It was all so gorgeous. And in the children’s area they had the original umbrella that inspired the Mary Poppins series! Aaand to cap it all off – they had one of the original Gutenberg Bibles on display (one of only 48 surviving copies). Incredible!

new york public library
ny public libraryWhat? Your local library doesn’t have soaring ceilings with painted murals or lion spigots for water fountains? πŸ˜‰

DSC_1103

DSC_1112Oh you know, just hanging out in the children’s wing of the New York Public library reading Harry Potter (okay, clearly this is a fake, posed picture. We were in far too much of a hurry to see everything to stop and read. But I couldn’t pass up an opportunity for a photo! πŸ˜‰ )

gutenberg bible at the NYPL

Coming up next… a taste of Italy in NYC! πŸ˜€

Love Rach

26 responses to “Walking with the dinosaurs (and other incredible things we saw in NYC)

  1. The public library is high on my list. I have been to NYC about 4 times now, but never been here.

  2. my home town! Haven’t been back since my children were born, but can’t wait to make the trip and introduce my kids to their cousins and my roots!!! Glad you had such a great trip!!

  3. So cool! There are such awesome museums in the city. I’d love to go into the NYC public library too. When my cousin and I were in NYC years ago, we walked by it a few times but always during closed times. I bet it’s beautiful!

  4. Okay, so Moose… Back when I was nine, my family and I were driving home from the White Mountains after having hiked a mountain. It was around 9pm and quite dark, when my dad slammed on the breaks so hard our mini-van skidded a bit. I remember jolting awake and there right outside my dad’s window, towering over us, was a moose. Had my dad rolled down his window, he could have pet it. We all just sat there, completely silent and not breathing until the animal huffed once and trotted off into the woods. It was a crazy, and freaky, experience!
    That was one of many times that we’ve seen or almost hit a moose. πŸ˜‰ There are ‘Break for moose’ signs out here in my neck of the woods, but I’ve yet to see one in my own state. But up in the White Mountains? Those animals roam free, and we always drive slower than the speed limit at night or on super cloudy days because hitting one is deadly. (A ton of people in NH have bumper stickers that say ‘Break for moose, it could save your life’). There are even Moose tours, and people pay to be driven deep into the woods late at night to see those animals. (Nate and I almost went on one once, just for the fun experience. But we canceled, since we were getting up super early the next morning to hike).
    I’ve never seen a moose outside of the car, although I guess I did ‘get out’ of the car once to take a picture… Don’t worry, the moose was a good ways off in a swampy area. πŸ™‚ But we used to see moose tracks ALL the time while hiking up in the NH.
    We’re headed back up there in October, and Nate is hoping to see one for the first time. I’ve seen them a bunch of times (because I practically lived up there growing up), but he’s yet to see one.
    Soooo, yeah, wow that’s a long comment about Moose! LOL!!!
    Moving on… Ha, ha! LOVED this post! I didn’t make it to the museums when I was in NYC, but they’ll have to be on my list when I go back. How amazing to see those things! And I think that the library would be magical, for sure.
    Also, can we pause a moment and discuss how adorable your outfit is?!?

    • Oh my goodness, I had no idea how dangerous moose were until we were in the museum and Christopher was telling me about the number of people who die in car wrecks when they hit a moose and the moose falls on the car. I really had no clue how enormous these animals were until I saw them there! I can’t believe you grew up seeing them so often! I hope Nate gets to see one (in a totally safe way, haha) in October! You’ll have to tell us all about it!

      Yes! Definitely see the museums next time you go! They are so much fun! πŸ™‚

  5. I love these photos! Oo and that library? Amazing.

  6. WOW! All those museums and especially the library looks amazing! What a great experience!

  7. Ahhh!! I love this! Thanks for sharing! Looks like a blast! I went to NYC a lot last year and one or two times I went to the Public Library! It’s beautiful isn’t it?! And it’s right next to Bryant Park which is AMAZING!! Seriously, I love that place! Such a gem and not that far from Times Square (which is NOT my cup of tea!! LOL)! Glad that you had fun! Can’t wait to see your pix of NYC meets Italy! πŸ™‚

    • Oh girl, I am SO with you on not loving Times Square. It’s just so packed. I’m glad you share my love of the library right there! Such a cool spot! πŸ™‚ Oh, and the Italy post went up yesterday! And today was Chinatown! I’m trying to get these posts written as quickly as I can while I still remember all the details! πŸ™‚

  8. Those museums look so incredible! And you’re right, I’ve never been to a library nearly that impressive…

  9. Oooh now I want to plan an NYC trip!! We did not go to the MET on our visit. Brooklyn was small so I wasn’t sure if she would make it through there and the AMNH. I’ve gotta put that on the list when we go back. Loving the NYC recaps πŸ™‚

  10. We took Alex’s parents to the museum when they came for a visit this past spring and it was so fun!!

  11. i have wanted to visit this museum–so iconic of NYC!

  12. I know I’m such a broken record right now, but I love all of your New York posts!! We went to the Natural History museum and the Met too. The Met was SO much more amazing than I expected. When we were planning, I wasn’t nuts about going there, but once we went I could have spent a full day. The European paintings and statues were amazing…and the Egyptian exhibit…and the musical instruments…seriously, such a cool place! We didn’t go to the library, but it looks amazing! Our local library doesn’t even have its own door (it’s connected to a rec center and you have to go in through there), so I’m pretty sure the NYC one would have blown my mind! Like everything did there, haha. I love the “candid” shot of you reading Harry Potter! πŸ™‚

  13. This looks like so much fun! I’m not sure if I’ve ever been to the MET, but I’ve been to the other two. I haven’t been to the NYC Library since I visited New York with my parents when I was in eighth grade(?)….but I remember an overwhelming sense of dismay at seeing all of the books. I think I felt like the NYC Library held every single book that had ever been written, and I realized that there was no way I would ever be able to read ALL of the books! I think Rory Gilmore had a similar realization on an episode of Gilmore Girls one time…

Leave a Reply

