A taste of Italy in NYC

Our very first stop in NYC after dropping our stuff off at the hotel was to go to Keste Pizzeria. We’d heard that they had true Neapolitan style pizza and that it was the best in the city. Since our favorite pizza in Italy was from Naples, we knew we had to try this place out.

keste collage

Oh my gracious, you guys, it did not disappoint. I could close my eyes and imagine I was back in Naples again. We both absolutely loved it. We ate lots of delicious foods while we were in NYC, but this was definitely one of my favorite meals.

Kesté Pizza & Vino Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

That evening we ventured down to Little Italy to check out America’s first pizzeria. A little place called Lombardi’s that opened in 1905.

lombardi's collage

It seemed to be a mix of Neapolitan style and NYC style pizza. Very tasty, but honestly – not the best pizza we had in New York. The sauce was pretty sweet and the crust chewier than what I’ve come to love of Neapolitan style pizza. Honestly, if I hadn’t already eaten at Keste, I would have loved this place way more. It honestly is good. I just like Keste better. However, their bruschetta was tasty! And we love that we can say that we’ve eaten at the oldest pizzeria in the US! 🙂

Lombardi's Pizza Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

DSC_0992

Also, let me just take a minute to discuss how adorable Little Italy was. It’s such a small area of town, but precious. We enjoyed just ambling around and taking in the sights there!

rach in little italy

True story, I saw these lights and I excitedly said, “Christopher! They have Christmas decorations up already! How fun!” Because I always have Christmas on the brain. Christopher smiled and kindly said, “Do you think maybe they’re lights just for Little Italy because that’s the color of the Italian flag?” HA! Of course! But I still secretly think that they are both Italy-lights and Christmas lights. 😉

One night we checked out Chelsea Market and it was absolutely adorable! All very hipster looking with it’s exposed brick and metal. But very clean and cute.

chelsea market

There’s a little Italian grocery store inside called Buon Italia that we loved. The best part… we found type 00 flour!

DSC_1020

This is one thing we haven’t been able to find here in Memphis and all the recipes we have from Italy call for 00 flour. We are SO excited to try it out on our next pizza night! 🙂

I can’t remember where I first heard about Eataly, but from the time I knew of its existence, I knew I had to go. It’s part grocery store, part restaurant. Since we got there kind of late one evening, we decided to get focaccia bread pizza to go.

eataly

It was the perfect late night snack! Their focaccia bread is really good and topped with all this goodness – even better! 🙂

We ate even more pizza than I featured here, but it was NYC style so I’ll blog about it in a NYC favorites post. This is just a taste of Italy in New York. We enjoyed reliving some favorite Italy memories while we ate good food and explored all these places. 🙂

Love Rach

29 responses to “A taste of Italy in NYC

  1. I’ve been to New York too many times to count and I actually don’t think I’ve ever been to Little Italy! Seems crazy!

    I definitely want to check out Chelsea Market sometime. That’s awesome you were able to find special pizza flour! In Argentina the flour is labeled by the “zero” type as well, although I didn’t know there was a special flour to make pizza with. We have 000 which is all-purpose and 0000 which is for baking and also self-rising flour. Next time I’m at the supermarket I’ll have to see if we have the 00 flour or a flour that is specifically made for making pizza.

    Can’t wait to hear more about NYC!

  2. Mmm, I want one of each of the foods you listed in this post. Or maybe two of each. It all looks and sounds so delicious!

    I think it’s just practical that Italy’s flag colors allow them to keep Christmas lights up year round. 😉

  3. You look wonderful! That food is making me hungry!

  4. One of my favorite things about NYC was the amount of delicious food options there was to pick from! During my visit, my sister and I were full…but we still stopped at a restaurant, because we just HAD to try it while we were there! LOL!! I love that I hadn’t even heard of these specific restaurants until your post! Soooo much awesomeness to pick from!
    I love Italian food, so I’ll have to remember these for when I go back someday! 🙂

    • Haha! YES! That’s exactly how we were! I think we almost never ate a full meal. Most always we split something from each place because we knew we’d be stopping somewhere else soon for food soon as well. 😉 And yes! Remember Keste for when you go back. Oh my gracious, SO good!

  5. Love this post! We went to NYC last December. I had read about the amazing Christmas shop in little italy. It was the perfect place to get personalized christmas ornaments for our family! Love following your blog!

  6. Scott would be in heaven if he had this much pizza! That pic of you in Little Italy is so cute! Isn’t Eataly fun? My sister took us there when we visited her in the city. Such a cute spot with great people watching. I accidentally left my purse on the rooftop deck and it was still there when I came back to get it. I was so relieved and happy to know my worries about it definitely being snatched up by some big city thief were proven wrong.

  7. OK, so this post literally made my mouth water, lol… – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  8. Okay tHis seriously is making me hungry for some pizza and craving some traveling adventures too!

  9. I have put that first pizza place on my list of places to visit in NYC (I go there tomorrow). The pizza looks amazing and I hope it compares to the pizza I ate in Rome.

    • It’s definitely different than the pizza we had in Rome. Most of the pizza we had in Rome was on cracker-thin crust and this one isn’t quite that thin. But it’s still a lot more like traditional Italian pizza than the other stuff you find in the States! I hope you have fun in NYC!

  10. ooh i love good authentic pizza!! yummy.

  11. Pingback: Our Favorite New York Style Foods! |

  12. I thought they were Christmas lights too when I saw them in the picture. 🙂

  13. The lights were totally for Christmas and Little Italy ;). Hahah that is just so funny! A mix of Neapolitan and NYC style pizza sounds like a win-win to me! I love the picture of you with the lights behind you. Gorgeous! Also, so glad you found the 00 flour! I never see it anywhere, either!

  14. Haha, I love that you thought the Italy lights were Christmas lights…they can definitely be both 😉 This is totally making me want to go back to New York and eat at these places!! We stopped by Eataly too, but we didn’t end up getting anything because it was so crowded, and most of our group was really tired. The stuff you guys got from there looks delicious!

    • Oh my goodness, yes! It was so crowded in Eataly! That was a big part of the reason we took the food to go. Not to mention that the focaccia bread pizza was a reasonable price vs the restaurant parts of Eataly that were super pricey!

  15. Okay….so next time I meet up with you, we definitely need to get ITALIAN food because you know all of the best places to go! And you can fill me in on if it’s legit Italian or not. These pizzas look so good!

Leave a Reply

