Our Favorite New York Style Foods!

Because we love good food, we always do lots of research before we travel to a new place. Urbanspoon (now Zomato), TripAdvisor, and Yelp are usually the top three that we use for research (as well as asking any locals in the area that we know). I’ll type in the city we’re going, the type of food we’re wanting, the price point we’re trying to stay around, and then start going through page after page of the top recommendations. I’ll pick out all the ones that sound best to me and then I’ll cross reference my lists from each website. This process takes a little bit of time, but so far it has yet to lead us astray. This is how we’re always sure to get a taste of the best a city has to offer and all thanks to hundreds of other people who have left reviews.

We ate at a lot of places in NYC, but this list is of our favorite New York Style foods. From bagels to hot dogs to pizza! 🙂

99 Cent Pizza

99 cent pizza

Yes, there is such a thing as pizza for a dollar. We saw several of these places around the city, but Serious Eats led us here for a little snack in Times Square before our Broadway show. So in we went. We split this greasy slice of pepperoni pizza and it was delicious. Not the best pizza in NYC by any means, but for the price – it was a winner!

Bleecker Street Pizza

bleeker street pizza

The best New York style pizza award goes to Bleecker Street pizza. It was phenomenal. This picture just doesn’t do it justice. It was perfect NY style pizza with the perfectly foldable crust and deliciousness in every bite! I wish we’d been more hungry when we arrived because we only split a piece of pizza here as well. But it was amazing! Keste was still my favorite place we ate in NYC, but it’s a different type of pizza. Bleecker St Pizza is all about the NY style slices. And they are amazing. I can’t recommend them enough!

Bleecker Street Pizza Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Gray’s Papaya

gray's papaya

Hot dogs aren’t high on my list of favorite foods, but we felt strongly that while in NYC, we had to try their hot dogs. So research sent us here. The hot dogs are on the small side, but considering how cheap they are – it just means you need to get two! 😉 I tried their chili-cheese dog and just a regular one. I enjoyed them both!

Gray's Papaya Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Street Food Hot Dogs

DSC_1123

On our last day in NYC we were headed back to our hotel to pick up our bags when we realized that we didn’t have time to stop and eat lunch somewhere. So we stopped at the first food cart we saw and I got a chili dog and Christopher got a pretzel. His pretzel was just okay, but my chili dog was ah-mazing. No joke. I had no idea it would be so good from just some random street vendor whose cart looks identical to every other hot dog stand we passed. But it was! I literally stopped at the next cart I saw and bought another chili dog because it was so good! Ha! Also, in NYC… chili dogs come with spicy mustard. It seemed like a strange combo to me, but after trying it, I’m sold!

Cafe Grumpy

cafe grumpy

While I usually do most of the food research for our trips, Christopher does the coffee research because he’s the coffee snob connoisseur. 😉 We went to several different coffee shops during our time in NYC, but this one was by far his favorite. Not just his favorite in NY, but one of his favorites ever. Which is high praise. So if you’re craving good coffee in the big city – Cafe Grumpy is your place! Oh, and the logo… perfect for a coffee shop. 😉

Absolute Bagels

absolute bagels

And of course we couldn’t go to NYC without trying their bagels. We tried a couple of different ones, but these were our favorites (a spot called Hot & Crusty was a close second, though). The one thing that really surprised us about bagels in NYC is that if you order them with cream cheese, they come with a 1/2″ to 1″ thick cream cheese middle. It’s a pretty intense amount of cream cheese for those of us who are used to just a taste of a thin layer. I honestly ended up scraping off most of the cream cheese so I could actually taste the bagel. 😉 But! The bagels themselves were amazing!

Absolute Bagels Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

How do you decide where to eat when you travel?

If you’ve been to NYC, what was your favorite place you ate?

Love Rach

28 responses to “Our Favorite New York Style Foods!

  1. Your food posts from NYC are killin’ me. I want it all!

  2. All this food has made me hungry. I love pizza!

  3. Love this! I am the same way with finding places to eat. It doesn’t matter if it’s just a weekend trip to a city we have been to 20 times, I’m always looking for a hole in the wall local place or something new and trendy. I love finding great food in a new place. I also like blog searching for places. I feel like I can get a good honest opinion from other travelers. I can’t remember the place we had bagels in NYC but yes to all the cream cheese. I was kind of surprised at first but I couldn’t eat all that. I also thought it was weird that most people didn’t want cream cheese. Most were getting the sandwich style bagel breakfasts. It was different to me at the time but it was yummy too so I can’t blame them lol

    • Yes! All the cream cheese! Yeesh! The bagel sandwiches are good too, though! Definitely what I should’ve done that time instead of getting blueberry cream cheese. It about made me sick, ha!

      And yes, I’m so glad you are with me on researching a spot before you go to be sure you are eating the best food! 🙂

  4. Oh and my favorite NYC place we went…..Serendipity. I just LOVE that movie so we had to go have ice cream while we were there.

  5. doing research is one of my fave parts of the trip!! i secretly always wanted to try a foodcart there–glad to know it was good!

  6. TVFoodMaps.com. It says the restaurants that have been featured on the Food network and all the other food shows. 🙂

  7. Yum, Yum, and DOUBLE yum!!! 🙂 This post made me so hungry!!!!!

  8. This post made me crave Pizza like crazy! I will have to remember to try out cafe grumpy next time we are in NYC… that coffee looks amazing!

  9. I’m really craving pizza and bagels now!

  10. That is so true about the heaping piles of cream cheese…you go anywhere else and they barely put any. Honestly, I’ve gotten used to the heaping cream cheese pile and if I get any less I feel jipped haha

    I miss that NY greasy pizza. Could go for a piece right about now!

  11. Wait, Urbanspoon changed its name?! Wow, I am behind! I wonder why they changed it?!

    99 cent pizza is such a good deal! Also, I am with Christopher on being a coffee snob, haha! When Jimmy and I travel, either he or I research restaurants, but I am always on the lookout for a good coffee place 😉

  12. These all look so delicious!! We saw some 99 cent pizza places while we were there, but we were afraid to go into them…now I kind of wish we had tried one! And I love the Grumpy’s logo…so cute!

  13. You are such a good planner! This is probably why my eating experiences (and EVERYTHING experiences) when we travel are just so-so. Half the time we go on a trip it is spur-of-the-moment with very little research involved. I should take a page from your book!

    I am so unresearched, in fact, that I didn’t even realize UrbanSpoon had changed its name. Weird! And NYC chili dogs look pretty good. My sister lives in Cincinnati and she always insists that we eat at Skyline Chili to get a real Cincinnati chili dog. And honestly…they are pretty gross. Very tiny (and they taste more like Vienna sausages) with so much chili piled on top that you have to eat it with a knife and fork. And their chili is sweet instead of spicy…very heavy on the cinnamon and nutmeg. Not my favorite, but my sister is kind of obsessed.

    On Thu, Sep 17, 2015 at 10:34 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “Because we love good food, we always > do lots of research before we travel to a new place. Urbanspoon (now > Zomato), TripAdvisor, and Yelp are usually the top three that we use for > research (as well as asking any locals in the area that we know). I’ll type > “

    • I haven’t had Skyline Chili yet, but I hear great things. I have a recipe for Cincinnati Chili that I make sometimes and we LOVE it, but since we’ve never been to CinCin, we can’t compare it to the actual thing, ha! When I make it to Cincinnati eventually, maybe I’ll skip the chili dog and have the chili over spaghetti instead (that’s a thing there, right?). 🙂

      Yeah, Urbanspoon changed their name… I still type “urbanspoon.com” into the search bar when I am going to their website out of habit and it automatically redirects me to Zomato. That way I can pretend a little bit that they haven’t changed the name, haha!

Leave a Reply

