My FAVORITE part of our NYC trip!

We flew through Nashville for our NYC trip so my sister picked us up at the airport. Over dinner she asked what my favorite thing was and I began with my typical “Oh, I don’t know! How do you choose between so many amazing things?” And prepared to start listing off the first things that came to my mind. But before I started, Christopher smirked and told Abby, “I can tell you her favorite. Hands down it was Les Miserables. Her reaction to it tells you all you need to know.” At first I protested. I mean, yes, I adored Les Mis. But can I really say 100% that I loved seeing it even more than walking into Macy’s on 34th Street? Or seeing the Museum of Natural History? Or Keste Pizza? (See! So many favorites!). But Christopher has a point. I did have a pretty serious reaction to seeing it.ย But first I need to back up a little.

les mis

In 1996 I was part of the cast of Oliver Twist at the Cumberland County Playhouse. And in 1997 I was part of the cast of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dream Coat at the same playhouse. I blogged a little about it here. ๐Ÿ™‚ During this time, I fell in love with plays and musicals. I dreamed of going to Broadway someday. Not that I really knew what “Broadway” was as a 9 year old, but everyone talked about how amazing it was in relation to musicals. So I knew I needed to go someday.

oliver twist 1996{The cast of Oliver Twist in 1996. I’m on the front row rocking the plaid pants.}

In 1998 the Les Miserables 10th Anniversary Concert (the dream cast!) was released on DVD. And our family got a copy. You guys, I fell in love. As an 11-year-old who didn’t understand any of the “adult content” of the musical, I fell in love with the music. We moved overseas in 2000 and that DVD came with us. And I just continued to love it. By the time I was a senior in high school, I understood the more “adult” parts of it, but loved it all the more for the depth the lyrics conveyed. I ended up listening to it every day while I did my homework. It was the background music to my last year of high school education. I even chose one of the songs (“On My Own”) to translate for an assignmentย forย my Mandarin class.

chinese lesson{My sister and me with our Mandarin tutor when we lived in China. Obviously we were being very studious here. ๐Ÿ˜‰ }

Then fast forward a lot of years to 2011 when Les Miserables came to the Orpheum here in Memphis. It was my first time to see it live and Iย lovedย it. It was absolutely amazing!

les mis at the orpheum{Les Miserables at the Orpheum in Memphis in 2011}

So when we decided to go to NYC, Iย knew I wanted to see something on Broadway. Our top picks were Les Mis, Wicked, and Phantom. We nearly chose not to see Les Mis just simply because we’d seen it live before and we hadn’t seen the other two live yet. But I just couldn’t get past the feeling of how much I wanted to see it live again. And on Broadway! Christopher told me to go with my gut so we decided on Les Mis. Right after I bought the tickets I wondered if I’d regret it once we arrived in NYC. I shouldn’t have worried.

rach in the city{Noticeย the Les Mis sign behind me!}

My friends, we walked into that auditorium and I was giddy to be at a playhouse in NYC. To watch my first ever show on Broadway! My smile was enormous! Then the lights dimmed. And the first strains of music began. And I immediately started to cry. And not a cute cry. I wasn’t sobbing, but there were actual tears flowing and snot and everything. And I couldn’t stop. No joke, I cried for at least the first 10 minutes of the play. I was justย thatย happy. I’ve had the whole “happy cry” thing happen here or there, but it’s more like “tearing up” not so much actual tears. It was just too much for me in such a good way. A literal dream come true.

les mis blog4

Christopher thought something was wrong at first so he kept whispering to me to ask if I was okay. I just kept telling him, “Yeah… I’m just…SNIFF…so…haaaappy. SNIFF.” Thankfully no one else seemed to hear me (I mean, the music was pretty loud and I was thankfully quietly crying my eyes out, ha!). Butย we were both pretty surprised by my reaction. Typically when I’m really, really happy I get super giddy. Squealing. Clapping of hands. Floating on cloud 9. That sort of thing. Occasionally, I have moments where I am just awe struck and totally silent (like seeing the Colosseum for the first time – another dream come true). But crying out of happiness was a first for me.

les mis blog3

Eventually I got the tears under control, but they picked right back up throughout the musical as my favorite songs were performed. It was true magic, my friends. I’m not sure why it hit me so differently to be watching Les Mis on Broadway in NYC versus when we saw it here in Memphis. But it did. I think it was just that feeling of doing something I’ve dreamed about since I was a kid. Seeing Les Miserables on Broadway! The whole dreams come true thing. ๐Ÿ™‚

les mis blog2

So, after some time to reflect on our whole trip. I think Christopher was right. If I had to pick onlyย oneย favorite thing. This would be it. It was amazing. I get a little teary eyed just thinking about that moment of magic when I realized that I was literally sitting in the audience at Les Mis on Broadway. Magic. ๐Ÿ™‚

Love Rach

31 responses to “My FAVORITE part of our NYC trip!

  1. We didn’t manage to see a show in NYC, but I have seen les mis before and it is incredible. One of my favourites!

  2. so wonderful, so glad you enjoyed your time there so much. I just love visiting the city. The very first Broadway show I saw when I was a child was Annie in 1979, and then A Christmas Carol. It really stuck with me. The last few shows I’ve seen on Broadway was Phantom (a MUST see), Aida (nina simone’s daughter played the lead, incredible!) and Hairspray (fun).

  3. I love love love that it evoked such strong emotions (happy ones!) from you. What a beautiful memory!!! Les Mis is a great show – I’m sure it’s amazing on Broadway.

    I’ve seen Rent, Movin’ Out, and Aida on Broadway. I’d probably react the way you did if I were to watch Wicked on Broadway!

  4. Les Mis is such a great show! Love the dress you wore!

  5. What an amazing opportunity! Sometimes there is just no stopping the tears from rolling down. So glad you guys got to go!

  6. Okay. Color me officially jealous. I NEED to get to NYC again someday soon!! โค – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  7. awww i loved reading this! i have never seen Les Mis, at all, ever, but I totally understand seeing something that evokes strong feelings or brings back memories.. I cried when we saw the Goo Goo Dolls and Matchbox 20 on our honeymoon, I didn’t expect to, but I was such a huge fan as a teenager and they never came to Oz and I think 15 year old me just came out that night and allllll the emotions lol.

  8. What an amazing trip! I only saw Les Mis the movie, but I would love to see the show!

  9. Sounds amazing!! I love that you had such a powerful reaction! ๐Ÿ™‚ I can definitely relate. My family always makes fun of me because a lot of times I cry when I think about Christmasy things. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. you sound like me! i cry whenever i see a broadway show. i cried from the first 2 notes of the lion king and my friends were like, really? Yes, really! hehe

  11. Oh wow, that is just so incredible! Girl, I’m SO glad that you were able to do something that important and special to you. How beautiful!! It sounds like the musical has been a huge part of your life, so I’m not surprised that seeing it on Broadway touched you in that way.
    I loved this post SO much!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It definitely has been a huge part of my life! And most of my siblings’ lives as well. In fact, my oldest sister married a guy who also LOVES this musical. He’s from Slovakia and speaks 7 languages (my sister speaks 3 fluently and their kids are tri-lingual as well #overachievers ๐Ÿ˜‰ )… which means that he can sing parts of this musical in several languages! He knows it by heart in at least 2, maybe 3. The first time my niece, Katarina, started singing one of the songs from Les Mis in both Czech and English, I about cried. It’s just such beautiful music. And of course, well loved by my family. It’s entirely possible that we sing songs from this together as a family. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Aww I love it! Your long anticipated excitement sounds about equal to my seeing Taylor Swift in concert lol. Happy tears and all! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. I LOVED reading this!

    I’m so thankful you got to experience something so wonderful. I have to admit I also loved it because I don’t know too many people that clap their hands, scream and cry with excitement! I’m the same way and sometimes I feel like a crazy woman but I just can’t stop myself!

    So I’m clapping with excitement for you =)

  14. Ah, I love this!!! I’m so glad Les Mis was such a dream come true for you ๐Ÿ™‚ And it’s so cool to see this after we were literally just on that same street! Oh, and girl, I am no stranger to the happy tears (and mine are never cute haha)…embrace them! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. This is such a sweet post! ๐Ÿ™‚ I got to see Les Mis when I went to NYC with my parents when I was in eighth grade. (Justin and I didn’t shell out ANY cash for Broadway during our most recent visit.) I didn’t have the same connection with the play that you did–I had only see the movie version (starring Liam Neeson)–so I was kind of new to the story. But it was still really powerful. I remember feeling shocking during the French Revolution scene when the boy climbs to the top of the rubble and waves the flag….and I looked over to see my father with his head tipped back, fast asleep. How does someone sleep through that?? Not everyone appreciates Les Mis, I guess…

    Les Mis (the more recent version with Anne Hathaway) is one of the few movies that I have gone to see at the theater by myself, just because I couldn’t find anyone else who would go with me!

    • AH! I would’ve gone with you! What’s wrong with people?! I am more than happy to watch Les Mis (in any format) over and over, haha! In fact, just thinking about it has me wanting to listen to it. So I’m pulling up the music right now. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  16. Pingback: Things I’ll remember from 2015 |

Leave a Reply

