The smoothie you need to try

When it comes to breakfast I tend to eat the same thing for months. Oatmeal, cereal, bagels, eggs, waffles, smoothies… whatever it is… I eat it and pretty much only it for months. And then suddenly I wake up one morning and I absolutely do not want it anymore. So I just switch to the next thing in my rotation. For the past two months, I have been on a smoothie kick. Specifically a chocolate, peanut butter smoothie kick. YUM!

chocolate peanut butter smoothie

Chocolate Peanut Butter Smoothie

Ingredients:

-1 frozen banana
-3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
-1 carton Oikos Triple Zero Greek Vanilla Yogurt (not a sponsored post – this is just my favorite yogurt! 15 grams of protein, no added sugar or artificial sweeteners!)
-1 tbsp peanut butter
-2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
-drizzle of honey (maybe a teaspoon’s worth? probably less)

Directions:

Put all ingredients in blender and then blend until smooth.

Pro Tip: You can make this with a regular banana, but it is even better with a frozen banana! And the more ripe the banana, the more sweet. So since I make this every morning, I currently keep a Ziplock in the freezer just for my daily frozen banana (broken into chunks before freezing). I put it in the blender and then replace it with the next ripest banana on the bunch so I’ll have a frozen one for the next day.

You guys, this packs 23 grams of protein into one shake. Which is an awesome start to my morning. It definitely keeps me full longer than some of my other favorite breakfasts have so I’m glad that this has become a favorite of mine. At least for now, until a month or two from now when I wake up one day and I’m suddenly over it. I stay on breakfast kicks for approximately 3-6 months so we’ll see how long this one lasts. I’m crossing my fingers for it to stick around! 🙂

Do you eat the same thing for breakfast every day? 

Are you a smoothie person?

Love Rach

37 responses to “The smoothie you need to try

  1. Smoothies are classic, you just can’t go wrong! This one looks so good.

    • So true! I haven’t blogged about it yet because I’m waaaay backlogged on sharing recipes I’ve tried, but I made the mango banana smoothie that you shared on your blog and I LOVED it! It doesn’t quite have the protein punch I need to eat as a daily breakfast, but it makes an amazing treat! So thanks for sharing that! 🙂

      • Oh that’s awesome! I hardly wanted to call that a smoothie because it was so simple, so I think calling it a treat is more like it. It’s mango banana “nice cream” 🙂

  2. Yum! I’ll try this!!!

  3. Mmm, looks tasty! I’ll try this for sure. 🙂

  4. Yum!!! I love bananas smoothies for breakfast! I had one yesterday 🙂 this looks awesome!

  5. Omg yes. I love peanut butter chocolate things. I’m the same as you, stick to one breakfast (or just meal in general) thing for forever and then eventually get sick of it. I’ll have to add this to my list of things to love and eventually get sick of! 😉

  6. WOW! This sounds so good! …and all that protein?! I LOVE it! …and I totally hear ya! Haha, I’m the same way with breakfasts! It’s very easy to get stuck in a rut! Hahah

    • Oh girl, the protein in it is the bomb dot com. I have such a hard time keeping myself full for long periods of time so foods high in protein are on point for me! 🙂 And I love that you are all about your breakfast ruts too. Nothing wrong with that! 😉

  7. I go through food phases, too. I LOVE smoothies and this one looks amazing! I actually just bought some cocoa powder and peanut butter for a cake I’m making so I already have two of the important ingredients. I will have to try this this weekend!

    • Did you get a chance to try it?? What’d you think? I love it! 😀

      • Just made it this morning, with a few alterations! I used different yogurt and milk and no honey. It’s delicious! I think I added too much milk to mine though, so next time I will have to keep an eye out when I’m pouring (I don’t like to measure unless I’m baking haha)

        • YAY! I’m so glad you liked it! 🙂 I hear you on not measuring things sometimes. I can definitely be bad about that. I made it with too much milk one time and it was definitely more “liquidy” than I prefer. I rarely measure anything for this smoothie anymore because I make it every morning. But once you get the hang of what the amounts look like in the mixer, it’s pretty simple. 🙂

  8. I’m the same! I eat the same thing every morning for months and months and then suddenly I want a change. I’m nearing that point and I think I’ll try this as my next rotation since I have cocoa powder already! Pinned 😀

  9. This looks so good! I have been craving a good smoothie lately. 🙂

  10. If you say I need to eat.. then I guess that’s what I shall do 🙂 I’ve been obsessed with overnight oats these past few weeks. I honestly cant seem to get enough.

  11. This sounds yummy! And I finally tried this yogurt, YUM! I had been looking for a better option and this one was perfect.

  12. I am on a smoothie kick right now too. Most mornings I do a yogurt, spinach, and fruit smoothie. I think I will have to mix things up a little and try this one out!

  13. This sounds so good!! I ate the same breakfast for literally YEARS before I didn’t want it anymore (pb & toast with sliced banana and cinnamon), and now I’m on a smoothie kick too, so I’ll have to give this one a try! Oh, and I’m all about the frozen banana in smoothies, too 🙂

  14. I am soo with you on the food repeats! I love that yogurt, too! I am lactose intolerant, and I have had it numerous times with no problems! WOO! Also, love smoothies! This one sounds so good 🙂

  15. Pingback: A healthy start to the day |

  16. Pingback: Favorites: The Routine Things |

  17. Pingback: Peanut Butter Blast Smoothie |

Leave a Reply

