In honor of 11 years together

As I’m sure many of you saw on Facebook and Instagram, yesterday was the 11th anniversary of the day Christopher and I first started dating. It has been a while since I last posted a video of my ramblings so I thought I’d do one in honor of our anniversary. The first take was 12 minutes long. So I attempted it again. And it was 10 minutes long. So I just edited out some of the excessive rambling. It’s now right around 6 minutes so hopefully that is a little more of a manageable length of time to listen to me being super cheesy. πŸ˜‰

As alwaysΒ forgive the excessive use of “like” and “um”. I’m not normally quite this bad about it, but I hadn’t taken time to think out what I wanted to say (other than that I wanted to share the pictures). So it’s just a lot of rambling. Thanks for hanging with me. πŸ˜‰

Do you celebrate small things?Β 

Have you ever looked back on a conversation from years ago (via chat or text or FB, etc) and found yourself cringing a little bit at how awkward it was? This is a huge reason I am so glad that Facebook wasn’t a thing when I was growing up. Social media is #forever. o.o

Love Rach

30 responses to “In honor of 11 years together

  1. That is so sweet! Happy 11 years of dating. πŸ™‚

  2. I love this! It’s always fun getting to hear voices of other bloggers πŸ™‚ Happy 11 years to you guys! Time really does fly by!

    • I know what you mean! Usually people sound about like I expect them to, but sometimes someone really catches me off guard. I know some people have commented that they were surprised when they heard me for the first time on a video. Either because my voice is lower pitched than they expected or because I have more of a southern accent (or less depending on where the person is from, haha!) than they expected. I’m a chameleon… I sound like whoever I spend time with. After 7 years of living in Memphis, I have definitely picked up the accent! πŸ™‚

  3. How cute are you??!!

    Happy 11 years! πŸ™‚ My husband and I have been together for 11 years as well. πŸ™‚

  4. Oh my gosh I LOVE this!!!!!! So dang cute! hahahah pretty sure I used to flirt with boys over AIM, too. It was the THING. I think about it now and I’m like did I really just sit on AIM waiting for my friends to get on?? haha so funny. Happy 11 years to you guys!! I still have our FB convo saved and oh man, I was SO weird!!
    xo, Candace | Lovely Little Rants

  5. WOW, 11 years?!?! Congrats! And here I feel like an old married lady with only 3 years coming up, haha.. – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  6. Happy 11 years!! That’s amazing! You two were made for each other πŸ™‚

  7. I celebrate the small things -it’s the little things in life that truly make me the happiest. A little flower gift. A hug. A snuggle. A salmon skin handroll (or 5 lol)…. I love the little things πŸ™‚

    Happy 11 years!

  8. Aww… I love how you guys started dating! Don’t you miss those simpler times? Oh my gosh…AIM…I miss those AIM days! Remember how exciting it would be to talk to your friends or someone you had a crush on…waiting for them to sign on? Haha

    Congrats on 11 years together!! That is truly amazing! It’s also crazy to see how much changes in 11 years! Although we don’t celebrate it, I always remember the day my husband and I met, our first date, and the day we became boyfriend and girlfriend. Actually, I almost cancelled on our first date (I was sick that day) which I always think back on because I don’t think we would be together today if I had cancelled! Actually I think I did cancel, but then thought better of that and went on the date even though I didn’t feel well. I’m kind of annoyed that I can’t remember exactly now…I’ll have to ask Tomas haha

    • Oh my goodness, yes! Waiting for someone to log on so you could talk… definitely. Our generation’s version of “waiting by the phone.” πŸ˜‰ And now teenagers all have cellphones and texting and social media and are constantly available to each other so they won’t understand it. Ah, the good ol’ days. πŸ˜‰

      Oh my gracious! You guys almost weren’t a thing! Crazy to think about! I’m so glad you decided to go on that date after all! You should ask him all the details and then blog all about it. I love hearing stories like these. Like, where did you end up going out to eat? And were you miserable all night? All the good stuff. πŸ™‚

  9. Congrats on 11 years! I love that you did this post with a video. It was so fun to hear you explain how it all started. I have a shoe box of old notes from my husband from jr. high and highschool and absolutely love reading back through them. It is so funny to look back at the conversations that started it all.

    • Could you see me inwardly rolling my eyes at our teenage angst? It was so funny to read back on all those old conversations. Oh gracious, we were a mess. I’m glad we got to grow up together, though. πŸ™‚

      I love that you still have all your old notes! How precious! I’m working on putting together a scrapbook of all our old letters and stuff. It’s taking me forever, haha!

  10. “DTR” how have I never heard of this term? I love it!! Congratulations on 11 years, you two are just the best.

    • Haha! Maybe it’s a southern thing? I first heard it when I went to university in the south. And I still live down here so I’m not sure if it’s used elsewhere.

      And thanks! It’s been a fun adventure so far. I look forward to the next 11 years (and the next 11 after that and after that and you get the idea). πŸ™‚

  11. AAH, happy 11 years!! I can’t wait to watch this video…as usual, I’m reading blogs while Steve watches tv super loud, haha. We celebrate our date-iversary too, and our meet-iverary πŸ™‚

    • Ahh! I love that you celebrate all the other dates too! We can’t really celebrate the day we met because we remember meeting each other on different days. Christopher claims up and down that we met before college even began at a luau party on campus. I met like 5,000 people that night so I don’t remember meeting him, haha! I remember meeting him a month later after a movie (a mutual friend introduced us). And he made a huge (very good) impression on me so I have trouble believing that I wouldn’t have remembered meeting him. But that’s what he claims, haha! How did you guys meet? I’m trying to remember if I’ve heard this story or not.

  12. One thing that I love about you and Christopher is that you guys recognize and celebrate so many things in life!! This is so weird, but today is mine and Jimmy’s dating anniversary! 7 years. Crazy! I know exactly what you mean about how if you didn’t start dating, you wouldn’t be married, so it’s cool to celebrate the day πŸ™‚

    Oh my gosh to old conversations!! I know what you mean, haha. I have saved all of mine and Jimmy’s emails… I have to look back on them now, haha. Also, I love the first picture you and Christopher took together. You are too funny “Why am I wearing a bandana?!” haha.

    • Aww happy (belated) dating anniversary!! How awesome! I have loved reading about yours and Jimmy’s relationship since you were in high school. I can’t believe how long I’ve known you (and feel kind of life I know him too!). πŸ™‚

      Oh my gracious, those early conversations… #awkward. πŸ˜‰ And YES to the bandana! I was such a free spirit when it came to clothing choices back then. There’s no telling what went through my head that day, ha!

  13. You guys really DO celebrate everything. But it is so sweet! πŸ™‚ It makes me wonder if Justin and I should be celebrating more…

  14. So sweet! Gotta love those AIM days. πŸ™‚ I love thinking about the early relationship days… But then I remember the angst and uncertainty and I’m happy we are married and positive that we love each other and will forever. πŸ™‚

  15. Soooo cute!! πŸ™‚ I think all the time, “I’m soooo glad there wasn’t facebook while I was growing up!”

Leave a Reply

