That one time we accidentally ended up backstage at a concert

Last night we went to a TobyMac concert. We went because Colton Dixon (from American Idol) was one of his openers and I love Colton Dixon’s music. My favorites are “Through All Of It” and “You Are” but really I love most of his stuff. And I love TobyMac’s “Steal My Show” (not to mention the fact that I still heart DC Talk all these years later). And I heard Britt Nicole was going to be there and I knew I liked her sound too. So this concert was a winner!

colton dixon

And it was. Hearing a few of my favorite songs sung live was awesome! Colton rocked it. I love, love, love his lyrics. Read this:

And this is Who You are.
More constant than the stars up in the sky!
All these years of my life I look back and I see You.
And right now I still do
And I’m always going to…

I could write a whole blog post about how this song has really touched my heart this year. I just love the reminder of God’s faithfulness. 🙂

And Britt Nicole… she rocks. She never stopped moving the whole time – she danced and ran out into the crowd and was just overall really a cool performer to watch. If you listen to mainstream radio, you’ve probably heard her song “Gold” and if you are more of a Christian station kinda person then you’ve probably heard “All This Time.”

tobymac2

Then it was TobyMac. Unfortunately around this time I started to not feel very well. But I wanted to hear “Steal My Show” since we were so close to it! So we stayed through the first half of his performance until he performed that song (which was AWESOME!) and then we headed out. Sorry, Toby! No hard feelings. It’s not you, it’s me. Really. You are a great performer. We hated to leave early.

And here’s where things got interesting…

You guys, I have the best sense of direction. Well, maybe not the best of anyone ever. But a really, really good one. I rarely get turned around. And I always know how to get back to the place I came from. Christopher, on the other hand, has a notoriously bad sense of direction. So he always just follows me because we both know that I don’t get lost.

Except apparently when I’m not feeling well. The concert venue was huge and we managed to come out the wrong door. Which meant we started walking around the building (THE WRONG WAY, I might add… we were so close to our car and didn’t even realize it). So we start walking around the building which would have been a really pleasant experience because the weather was gorgeous and we like to walk together except that I felt like I might throw up at any minute. So I gritted my teeth together and we forged on. Then we realized that we were walking admist a bunch of tour buses. We faltered for a minute, but then decided that we must be close to our car by this point (we weren’t – we were now on the complete opposite side of the building) so we kept walking.

It was the most awkward thing. As we walk up we notice that there are groups of people wearing all black (probably sound guys, back up dancers, band members, etc) standing around chatting and as we approach they all stop talking and stare at us. At this point we realize that we are somewhere we’re not supposed to be, but figure if we just keep walking, we’ll get where we need to be.

And then, wouldn’t you know it, a group of people walks up and Britt Nicole is right in the middle of them. She smiles kindly when in reality I’m pretty sure she was thinking “Oh my goodness, did these two people really sneak back here just to get an autograph? Oh well, be nice to the fans…” ha! She was really nice and said an energetic “Hi!” to us as we passed by to which we both automatically responded “hi!” So you know, now we’re naturally BFFs with Britt Nicole. 😉

At this point we realize that we are definitely in a place we shouldn’t be so we see open doors to the building and try to go back inside since we figure we might be able to cut back through. No joke, every time we walked close to any group of people everyone just stopped talking and stared at us. We really should’ve just asked someone for directions but instead we kept thinking that we’d figure it out. Christopher at this point says, “Hey look at that door over there… I bet it leads where we need to go…” Thankfully we only made it a few steps before we saw a sign announcing that it was a stage door. Like, we would have walked right out there as TobyMac was performing. Um… yeah… so back outside we went. And again all the people stared at us as we walked by pretending like we knew where we were going.

We kept walking around the building and as soon as we were far enough away that they couldn’t hear us, I burst into giggles. And Christopher goes “That was Britt Nicole!” And I’m like “Yes! And we almost ended up on stage!” Which I mean, we wouldn’t have. Because surely at some point someone would’ve stopped us. Or who knows, maybe we would’ve been perfect back up dancers for TobyMac. 😉

We finally made it to the car (20 minutes after we left our seats attempting to leave the venue) and I was so relieved to be heading home. But my, oh my, what a night.

Have you ever gotten turned around and ended up somewhere you weren’t supposed to be?

Love Rach

22 responses to “That one time we accidentally ended up backstage at a concert

  1. Too funny! I love that they all stared at you but no one offered to ask and see if you needed anything or were lost. Ha!

  2. Ahhhh, I love TobyMac!! I’ve seen DC Talk in concert before, but haven’t seen TobyMac yet… luuuucky! – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  3. Oh that is hilarious!! You’ll definitely never forget that concert! And I officially feel like an idiot. I didn’t realize until just now that TobyMac was part of DC Talk. Omg. Now I have to tell my daughter that. She loves TobyMac and not that long ago I was playing her some DC Talk songs and a few others that were my favorites when I was her age. She of course thought they were old and blah. I don’t know why I never realized that.

    • I know we already talked about this in person, but this whole thing cracks me up! I bet secretly Brooklyn thinks you are a teeny tiny bit cooler for liking TobyMac before he was just TobyMac. 😉

      By the way, I am working away at your photos. They are SO good (if I do say so myself)! 🙂

  4. Wow this is absolutely hilarious!! XD I’m glad you guys finally made it to the car (and I’m sorry you weren’t feeling well) but this is ridiculously funny. 😀

  5. I am always ending up in places I am not supposed to be in, but I do love me some adventure and this concert sounds like an AWESOME ONE for you! 😉

  6. This is too funny!! And it totally sounds like something I would do. I definitely don’t have a fantastic sense of direction EVER. I usually just follow Steve, haha. I love that you met Britt Nicole…and I hope you’re feeling better!

  7. Rach, this is CRAZY. I feel like ONLY YOU could accidentally end up backstage at a Toby Mac concert like it’s nbd. 😉 It’s an exciting story to tell, though! I hope you’re feeling better!

    On Fri, Oct 2, 2015 at 10:22 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “Last night we went to a TobyMac > concert. We went because Colton Dixon (from American Idol) was one of his > openers and I love Colton Dixon’s music. My favorites are “Through All Of > It” and “You Are” but really I love most of his stuff. And I love > TobyMac’s”

  8. I think backup dancer for Toby Mac would be a great story… this one is pretty great too though. 😉

  9. Haha!! I so wish that you guys would have walked out when Toby Mac was on stage. Hilarious. What an awesome memory!

  10. That’s awesome!! I LOVE DC Talk!! That was my first Christian CD in 7th grade!

  11. This was THE best story ever!!!! (Minus the not feeling well part)! Oh my goodness, that’s too hilarious that you walked right past Britt Nicole, and she was like, “Hi”!
    Wow, I am obsessed with every one of those artists, so I would LOVE to go to a concert like that with all three of them! How awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

