Slow Cooker Chicken Enchilada Soup

So this past week it finally dipped into the cooler fall-like temperatures. I say “finally” like I’ve been waiting impatiently for it to happen. That is definitely not the case. You guys know I love summer. I mean, yes, I love to wear my skinny jeans with boots and to pull out all my cute scarves, but if I had the choice… it’d be summer year round. I’m more than happy to celebrate Christmas on a sunshiney day at the beach. 😉 But I digress.

So, it’s officially fall here. Both on the calendar as well as in the brisk morning air. Which means it’s officially soup season. I do love soups. I make them year round, but I find myself making them most in the colder months. And this is definitely the kind of soup that is perfect for a chilly day. I found this recipe on Gimmie Some Oven and it’s a huge winner! Christopher, in particular, loves this soup. If you’ve never had Chicken Enchilada Soup, then you really should give it a try. It’s healthy, quick to make, and delicious!

Chicken Enchilada Soup (1)

Slow Cooker Chicken Enchilada Soup

Ingredients:

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 1 pound)
2 cups chicken stock
1 1/4 cup (or 1 10 oz can) red enchilada sauce, homemade or store-bought (we used her homemade sauce recipe and it was delicious! A little spicy, but very good. Next time I think we will only use 3 tbsp of chili powder instead of 4. But I still highly recommend it!)
2 (14 oz) cans black beans, rinsed and drained
1 (14 oz) can fire-roasted diced tomatoes, with juice
1 (15 oz) can whole-kernel corn, drained
1 (4 oz) can diced green chiles
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 onion, peeled and diced
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp salt, or more/less to taste
optional garnishes: chopped fresh cilantro, diced avocado, diced red onion, shredded cheese, sour cream, tortilla strips/chips

Directions:

1. Add all ingredients to a slow cooker and stir to combine. It’s okay if your chicken is frozen or dethawed as long as it’s still raw and not yet cooked. Cook for 3-4 hours on high heat or 6-8 hours on low heat, until the chicken is cooked through and shreds easily. Use two forks to shred the chicken.

2. Serve warm, with optional garnishes.

Note: You can also refrigerate in a sealed container for up to 5 days. Or freeze leftovers for up to 3 months.

Note: To make it a FREEZER MEAL: you can freeze this recipe before cooking by putting all ingredients (including the raw chicken) into a Ziplock bag and freezing until you’re read to cook it.

Chicken Enchilada Soup (3)

Deeeeeelicious!

Is it soup making season for you?

Have you had chicken enchilada soup? Gimme Some Oven knows what’s up with this recipe! So good!

Love Rach

33 responses to “Slow Cooker Chicken Enchilada Soup

  1. Yum! I was just thinking of cooking a soup for Landry and I to eat on all week for lunch! Alan doesn’t like soup. Boo!!! Thanks for the recipe!

    • I always forget that Alan doesn’t eat soup. That’s SO strange to me, haha! I hope you and Landry like it! I’d definitely tone down the spice if Landry will be eating it too – maybe even down to 1-2 tbsp of the chili powder instead of the 3-4. If you end up making it, let me know how it turns out! 🙂

  2. Oooh, what a great way to use the slow cooker. I need to get my slow cooker out and make this.

  3. This looks and sounds so good! I love soups. I’ve been craving soups since July. I am SO excited for cooler weather this year, which is crazy because, like you, I love me some warm temps. But I just feel like it’s time for a change this year. Come on, cool! And soups. I want to make all the soups.

  4. Nothing like a good slow cooker soup recipe! Will definitely give this one a try. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  5. I am SO going to keep this in mind. Looks delicious.

  6. I’ve made a very similar soup in the past–topped with avocado and eaten with tortilla chips–oh man, it’s good stuff!

  7. Slow cooker recipes are the BOMB! I loveeeeeeee the melt in your mouth meat texture 😀

  8. looks amazing – always on the look out for new slow cooker recipes!

  9. This looks delicious! Is it spicy?

  10. Ahhh this recipe sounds amazing and so perfect for the fall, thanks for sharing, Rach!!!
    xox Nadia
    http://mielandmint.blogspot.co.uk/

  11. Yum! I am loving the cooler weather (especially with how pregnant I am this year) but I would be happy if we don’t get as slammed with snow as we did last year. I have been looking for recipes to freeze for after the baby is here so I am printing this one out now. Can’t wait to try it!

  12. this looks so good! pinned it 🙂

  13. My mouth is literally watering. You are once again helping me add more meals to dinner next week! It’s still pretty warm in AZ right now but it’s slowly dipping into fall! I love it but I also love summer even more. Bitter sweet!!

    • Oh girl, I so hear you! Summer is my jam! But at least I love Christmas too. So it makes the cold worthwhile for a couple of months. But come January, there is no longer any excuse for it to be cold in my book, haha! January-March are the looooongest months for me. 😉

  14. This looks so good and it totally inspired me! My friends sent me a huge care package this year filled with food and I had quinoa so I made this soup with it. I used quinoa instead of beans. I can’t get all the ingredients here but I can get peppers (which surprised me) and I have homemade tortillas seasoning that my sister gave me 🙂

    I want to try this again when I come back to the states with the green chiles and fire roasted tomatoes! Yum!!!

    • ​Using quinoa in this is such a good idea! I just might have to try that! I’m glad you liked it! I remember how nice it was to have some semblance of “American” food while living overseas. Hope you guys are doing well! ​

  15. OH my goodness, YESSSS. This looks heavenly! And I just discovered Gimme Some Oven recently!! Im so enjoying going through her recipes and trying them!! Do you cook from there often?! I’ve loved everything we have tried so far!! And I’m with you.. Looooooove soupppp!

  16. Pingback: 13 of the Best Freezer Meals |

  17. Pingback: 18 Favorite Go-To Healthy Recipes |

  18. Pingback: The Nesting… |

Leave a Reply

