Pumpkin Carving… and Drilling!

Last night Brodie & Lyndal came over to carve pumpkins! Well, the boys carved pumpkins while Lyndal and I drilled our pumpkins! Yup! We broke out the power tools!

lyndal and rach

I saw this on Pinterest a couple of years ago and it’s such a neat idea! You empty the pumpkin by cutting a hole into the bottom of it so the top looks untouched. And then you use a drill to put holes in the pumpkin! I used a 5/16th bit in the drill and it made a big ol’ mess, but it was worth it because I love the way it looks! Lyndal used a 3/8th bit because her pumpkin was bigger than mine and if I had to do it over again – I’d probably use the bigger bit next time even on a small pumpkin. It just lets out more light. But I still love how both pumpkins turned out! Plus I love how easy this is. I mean, really… no carving or planning. You just drilled a bunch of random holes until it looked sufficiently “hole-y.” 😉

christopher's pumpkin

Christopher went old school classic and did Frankenstein!

polka dot pumpkin

Mine and Christopher’s pumpkins!

pumpkins!

All four of our pumpkins! Brodie’s pumpkin was by far the most detailed and it turned out really amazing! He free-handed the Mississippi State design. I was super impressed!

fire pit

We had s’mores around the fire pit and sat under the stars and watched the dying embers glow. It was such a good night. 🙂

Have you carved pumpkins yet this year?

Have you ever used power tools on a pumpkin?

Love Rach

36 responses to “Pumpkin Carving… and Drilling!

  1. What a fun night with friends!! I love the idea of drilling the pumpkins. I definitely would try that! Good tip to use the bigger drill bit.

    And mmm, s’mores. Yes please!

  2. How fun to use power tools on the pumpkins! They turned out great! 🙂

  3. I love that pumpkin idea! I am awful at carving them so we usually paint pumpkins or do something with modge podge. I like the polka dots and light shining through. And that State design is amazing!

  4. Love the idea of drilling in the holes into the pumpkins. They look magical! I bet it makes the carved pumpkins last longer too.

  5. Wow, those drilled pumpkins turned out really great!

  6. they turned out so well! you make me wanna run and get some pumpkins…

  7. I’d never seen that idea before. It’s super cute! Joshua and I tried carving the Nittany Lion for Penn State in our pumpkins a few years back…and well it didn’t turn out too great. Haha!!

    • I loved it when I saw it on Pinterest, but I was a little nervous that it wouldn’t turn out well (because we all know that replicating stuff you see on Pinterest can be hit or miss, haha!). But I love them! I think they are definitely winners!

      Also, now I kind of want to see pictures of your Nittany Lion pumpkins!

  8. What a fun night! I have never used power tools to carve a pumpkin, but that sounds like something my husband would love to do.

  9. That looks like a blast!!
    XO Ellen from Ask Away
    http://www.askawayblog.com

  10. i haven’t done it yet this year! LOVE how yours turned out. i need to do this!

  11. i have never carved a pumpkin. it seriously looks a bit terrifying haha.

    • It *is* a little bit terrifying. People tell you it’s not, but it is. There are knives involved. And nasty pumpkin innards. So I wear latex gloves (and get teased for it, but I do not like the feeling of the stringy pumpkin stuff on my hands!). But the whole process is worth it because once you get the pumpkin hollowed out, it’s super fun! Especially if you are just using a drill because it’s simple and requires pretty much no skill, ha! 🙂

  12. You guys are just the cutest! Loooove the polka dot ones, we will definitely be making a couple of those!! And seriously impressed with the Mississippi State free hand!

  13. Sooooo…. *insert sheepish grin* I have never carved a pumpkin in my life. Have I already admitted that before? I feel as though I may have. LOL! I know that I need to remedy this sometime soon (at the very least, I need to begin the tradition as Brady grows up)! 🙂 It seems like so much fun!!
    I can’t believe how nice all of your pumpkins look!!

  14. Fun! And to Brody’s pumpkin all I can say is wow!

  15. The hole-y pumpkin is really cute! I might have to steal your idea! And I agree–the M State logo is impressive! 🎃

  16. Oh my gosh!! I am stealing that idea! THAT IS SO SMART and so dang cute! Polka dot pumpkin 🙂 I love it! Jason would probably like it too because he hates touching pumpkin guts.

    • I am so with Jason! I wear latex gloves when I clean out pumpkins because I hate the feel of the pumpkin guts, haha! If you end up doing the drilled pumpkin thing, be sure to post pics! I want to see how it turns out for you! 🙂

  17. Sooo totally adorable!! And it looks so easy!!! I wonder if Wadie will notice his drill missing on pumpkin carving day.. ;)) I have to try it!!

    • Haha! I’m sure he won’t mind! The drill bits are even easier to clean off than I thought they would be as long as you get them cleaned off before the pumpkin stuff dries to them (so don’t leave it overnight). I can’t wait to see your pics! 🙂

  18. We don’t do pumpkins, but I love the drill version you did!!! Those two are my favorites! 🙂

    Anndd….We just went out and bought a fire pit! I can’t wait to use it soon! The nights are soooo chilly, it’s going to be perfection.

Leave a Reply

