20 Questions

So my friend, Amy, told me that I should do this 20 Questions thing that has been going around. I love surveys. So much. But I feel like my answers are always the same so I haven’t posted one here on the blog in years. Side note: do you guys remember all those email forward surveys that used to go around back in the late 90’s early 2000’s? I thought some of my answers to those things were so clever. I loved filling out all 100 of those questions and then forwarding it to every single person I knew. Because clearly all of those people cared to know my favorite color and what type of socks I was wearing. 😉 It sounds crazy now, but it was just what everyone did at the time. Or at least what everyone I knew did.

But I digress.

On to the survey!

20 Questions 

1. Favorite food
Oh gracious. Of course we start with this question. If I had to only pick one. Just one. Then it would still be a tie between two. Ha! I’d have to pick pizza and spaghetti. But seriously, I love all Italian food. And Tex-Mex food. And good ol’ southern cooking. There is nothing like the comfort of my grandmother’s recipe for chicken ‘n dumplin’s at the end of a hard day. It’s like a big bear hug from the inside. Really it might just be faster if I tell you what foods I don’t like: fermented anything, super spicy food, celery, and most nuts (but I love nut butter! I just don’t like crunchy nuts). There you have it. I like pretty much everything else, ha!

2. Flip Flops or High Heels
Yes, please. Both. Wearing flip flops means I’m at the pool or the beach. And that’s a huge winner. And high heels most likely means I’m headed out for a hot date with my handsome man. So both are winners for me. Day-to-day, I wear strappy sandals all summer and boots all winter.

3. Favorite place to shop for yourself
Thrift Stores, Plato’s Closet, and Target

4. Standard coffee order
Grande decaf skinny mocha with coconut milk. My fav!

5. Road trip must have snack
We almost always head out of town on Fridays after work so we stop by Chick Fil A for dinner as we hit the road. Halfway through the trip we always find a Starbucks for a pick-me-up. And then in between we snack on beef jerky, granola bars, and whatever fruit I brought along. Not that we travel a lot or anything… 😉

6. DIY or Hire it out
DIY. By the way, we are in the middle of adding to our kitchen counters and I can’t wait to share it all with you! Christopher built these amazing cabinets and we spent all of last weekend sanding and staining them. They look awesome!

7. Top 5 TV shows
Oh my gracious, there have been so many great ones over the years. But if I had to narrow it down to only 5 then I’d have to pick the shows that I watch reruns of more than any others. So that would be: Friends, Gilmore Girls, Modern Family, Perfect Couples, and Big Bang Theory.

8. Favorite Book
If I have trouble picking five TV shows, there’s no way I can pick one favorite book. But I can tell you that the books I have read and reread the most. Definitely the Bible (especially Psalms, Isaiah, and the first four books of the NT. I love stories about how revolutionary Jesus was during His time on Earth). I blogged about my favorite YA fiction books here. Yup, I read like a teenager. Love that stuff. 😉 And I love, love, love Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. If you haven’t read it – do. It’ll make you cry. In a good way. That and her Mark of the Lion trilogy stand as four of my favorite books of all time ever.

9. Favorite form of exercise
Laughter. That totally counts as an ab work out, right? 😉 I also love family walks or hikes. Being active out in nature is my favorite!

10. How tall are you
5’8

11. Do you try something new at a restaurant or stick to favorites
Always favorites. Always. Christopher finds this the funniest thing. Every restaurant I go to, I already know what I’m going to order before I walk in. Because I know what foods I love. So that’s what I order. Christopher, however, believes in trying new things. So he rarely orders the same thing twice. Which means I always get to sample whatever is on his plate. Definitely a win-win for me. 😀

12. One make up item you can’t live without
I’ll be honest, I don’t wear make up very often. Maybe once a week or so. Very rarely in the summer when I have a tan. I have noticed, as I’ve aged, that my skin is more sensitive than it used to be. So last winter I experienced a little bit of dry skin and redness on my face for the first time. So I found myself grateful for a good foundation that could help even out my skin. I’m sure this winter I’ll be grateful for it again so I suppose I’d have to say that!

13. What’s on your nightstand
A sparkly vase filled with fun date night ideas for us to pull out at random, a Tervis filled with water, a tiny tiffany blue bowl that holds my wedding rings, my Bible, and journal.

14. What’s one thing that motherhood has taught you
That when my human children arrive, I can’t spoil them like I do my fur-child. I adore that mutt, but if he were a human and acted as petulantly as he does, no one would think it was cute. As it is, when he “talks back” to us with his whining/moaning voice, we find it kind of hilarious. Hopefully we’ll do a better job with the human version of kids when that day comes.

15. Music that reminds you of high school
N’Sync, BSB, Westlife, and 98 Degrees. All of which were really big before my “high school” time, but I was living in China at the time and those groups were HUGE there in the early 2000’s.

16. If you could live anywhere in the world besides your current city, where would you live
The beach. Oh yes, the beach. Or maybe Rome. I fell in love with Rome.

17. Tell us something we might not know
You might not know that we are currently in the planning stages for another big trip (think Europe) for next year! 😀

18. Website you read/browse besides blogs
Probably Instagram the most. I still check Facebook almost every day just to do a quick scroll through to catch up with my friends who don’t use Insta. And I go on total Pinterest kicks. I won’t use it for weeks or even months and then all the sudden I am obsessed with it again (usually when I’m looking for something in particular).

19. Morning person or night owl
My stay-up-all-night college self would be so embarrassed to hear this, but I’m a total morning person now. I wake up with the sun every morning and am crashing in bed between 10 and 11 every night. #oldpeopleprobz

20. What’s your best feature
I love that I empathize so easily with people. It’s hard on days when I hurt with them, but I love the days when we get to rejoice together.

Do we have anything in common? Or are we opposites? It’s okay, I’ll still be your friend!

Love Rach

28 responses to “20 Questions

  1. “A sparkly vase filled with fun date night ideas” I love this! What a fun and cute idea!

    • It’s funny, we wrote those ideas and put them in there like two years ago and hardly ever think to pull one out. We just always have something specific in mind that we want to go and do. We need to pull one of those out soon! 🙂

  2. Fist pump YES on the “I hope I’m better at disciplining my human kids than I am my fur kids.” Our cats are total brats sometimes and we just think it’s funny.

    I’m so glad you did this! I learned some new things about you. I loved those 100 question email forwards back in the day – they were super fun. Now I can’t imagine spending that kind of time!

    I love your answer to #20. It’s just so you.

    • Oh goodness, yes! We had such good intentions about Oreo being so well behaved. But he’s just so stinkin’ cute so he gets away with everything, ha! Hopefully we’ll all be better about our human kids. They do have to grow up and interact with other people and such. Christopher keeps talking about how he’s going to be such a push over, but then I remind him of the people we’ve known that were spoiled by their parents and ask if he wants our kid to be like that. Which just kind of puts it in a different light. If we know what we want our kid’s character to look like as an adult, then we can start while they are young to help develop that. Of course that’s all much easier to type here than it will be in practice. But this is what we remind ourselves of. 😉 All that to say – I think you and Kevin and the two of us will all be awesome parents who don’t spoil our kiddos. We’ve all seen first hand what spoiled looks like, and it won’t be near as cute on a 25 year old as it is on our pets. 😉

  3. i love these questions AND answers!!
    those tv shows and music = yes!!

  4. I love these surveys! So fun to get to know you. Yay for planning another big trip for next year! Where are y’all headed? 🙂

    • We’re not entirely positive. The plan was to go to Greece, but we loved Italy so much that it’s hard not to go back. I imagine we’ll be country hopping a little bit this time. My sister’s family lives in Prague so we’d love to go and visit them as well. We’ll just have to see! 🙂

  5. oh my gosh, 10 and 11 pm? girl i am in bed by like 930 hahaha.

  6. So I guess you’re not a big fan of Kim chi? (If I’m spelling that right?) I always try some when we go to a Korean restaurant, but I can’t handle large doses. I’m so excited that you guys are traveling overseas again—I can’t wait to hear about your * mysterious* destination. 😉

    • Definitely no, haha!

      And girl, it’s a mystery to us too! 😉 The plan was to go to Greece, but it’s really hard for us to not hit up Italy too if we’re going to be that close! And then my sister’s family lives in Prauge so we’d like to visit them as well. My guess is that there will be some country hopping involved. 🙂

  7. Oh my gosh I love the mark of the lion trilogy soooo much! I’ve read them all a lot and they never get old!

  8. I totally forgot about those days of sending out surveys to each other and filling them out for all to read. Ha, ha! Wow, they really were SO popular for awhile!
    You and I are SO alike, right down to ordering favorites from restaurants. 🙂

    • They WERE so popular! It’s hilarious to me now thinking back on it that it was such a thing at the time. I can’t imagine sending out a survey like that to everyone on my email list now. Who knows, maybe I should try to revive it. I’m sure some of my distant family members would get a kick out of it. 😉

      I love that you order your same favorites! It’s just really the way to go! 🙂

  9. I love surveys like this. We have the exact same Starbucks order and friends is my favourite TV show, but I couldn’t decide on a favourite food, that’s just impossible.

  10. I LOVED those surveys too!!! My friends and I did them alllll the time! 🙂

    You don’t like nuts?!??! How can that be?!?!? They are one of my go-to snack items! So, that leads me to a question, what’s your favorite grab and go snack item? Oooh, I guess number 5 answered it. If you have other ideas, share!

    I can’t wait to see your kitchen!!!

    Getting outside is my favorite too!

    I’m the same way with restaurants…Why mess with a good thing or chance something you might not like?

    10 is LATE for my old night owl self these days! I haven’t seen 11 in AGES! LOL!!!!

    I’m not surprised to find that we have a lot in common!!! Basically I could have commented with a simple “Me too!”

    • Other than granola bars, beef jerky, and fruit – my other go to snacks would be boiled eggs (I usually boil a batch of them early in the week and go ahead and peel them then pop them in the fridge for snacks that week) and hummus. I like hummus with carrots or with pita chips or just by the spoonful. Sprouts’ garlic lovers’ hummus is my absolute favorite. So YUM!

      Girl, I can’t wait to see my kitchen finished, either! Ha!

      Oh yes, definitely “why mess with a good thing?”! Ordering favorites is the way to go! 🙂 ​

  11. Gilmore Girls is a fantastic show!

  12. Super fun to read! Platos closet for the win! 🙂

  13. I love these question/survey posts! That’s so funny that you already know what you are going to order before you step foot in one of your favorite restaurants because I am the same way, too! I feel like deciding what I’m going to eat before we get there is part of the excitement haha
    I’m always afraid to try something new for fear it won’t be as good as what I usually order. At least I’m not the only one!

    • Yes, yes, yes! Exactly! You totally get it! It’s nice to look forward to the meal you know you’re going to have when you arrive at the restaurant you’ve picked out. And to know you won’t be disappointed too! A definite yes! 🙂

  14. Oh, I love this!! I totally did those e-mail surveys too back in the day, haha. As you can imagine, since we’re so similar, A LOT of my answers match yours! The motherhood one…YES! Max “talks back” too…he literally sighs when we tell him to go to his bed or to sit when we have company. And I love your date night vase idea!

Leave a Reply

