A bit of a hodge podge post

As you guys know, I’m in “busy season” with my photography businessย so that is keeping me really busy during the days when I don’t have the kiddos I nanny. But you may not know that Christopher is also in busy season with work. It’s a quarter close for him so October is always busy (as well as January, February, April, and July). So naturally since we’re both so busy with work right now, this is the perfect time for Christopher and I to decide to move forward with our kitchen renovation. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Okay, maybe not the best time, but we didn’t want to put it off past the holidays because we have other projects to work on! ๐Ÿ™‚ So we have been spending the time we’re at home working away on that (which, by the way, I am so excited to share with you as we get more of it put together!).

Since we’ve been busy with work stuff and home stuff, I haven’t taken as much time to write here all the funย otherย stuff! So I want to do a quick recap of some of the highlights from the past week.

Last Wednesday we went to Fall on Beale to hear Chase Rice and LoCash. Kelsi came with us and let me tell you – we made some memories! Christopher and I are huge Chase Rice fans ever since we first saw him in concert.ย This time around it was a little more low key (just an acoustic set), but still really good!

We attended a couple of classes this past week that the Alzheimer’s Association hosted. One on legal & financial information and the other on communication strategies. Both were really good and helpful. As Christopher’s dad’s condition progresses, we want to be as much help as we can be to both him and Christopher’s mom (who cares for his dad).

compassion experience

We spent Saturday volunteering with Compassion International. They are one of the organizations that partners with people like us to sponsor children around the world. We sponsor four kiddos with them and honestly those kids deserve a blog post of their own so that one will be coming! We volunteered with CI on Saturday, by helping them out with something called the Compassion Experience. Watch the video below to learn what the Compassion Experience is all about.

Our job wasย to getย people set up with the ipods and headsets which meant that we got to talk to so many people who care about the children who are living in poverty around the world. By the end of the night my voice was nearly gone and we were so tired, but it was the good kind of exhausted. I asked Christopher how he felt as we were driving away and he responded with, “I’m tired, but I don’t think I’ve ever walked away from volunteering and not been really glad I did it.” And I think he’s spot on. ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, and finally – I went to a baby shower yesterday and someone had found the CUTEST little boy clothes from Target! I always love showers for little girls better than for boys because they just generally have cuter stuff for girls. But apparently Target is currently on point with the baby boy clothes because my gracious – they were adorable! So if you have a little boy or are expecting one, here’s my PSA for you: go to Target. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Alrighty, I know this post was all over the place, but this is what happens when I don’t take as much time to blog. It just all comes out at once, haha! Thanks for sticking with me friends! ๐Ÿ™‚

Love Rach

24 responses to “A bit of a hodge podge post

  1. fall is sooo busy isn’t it!! sometimes i don’t even know how it gets so busy for me, but it’s inevitable! and i am so sorry to hear about your father in law’s condition. my grandmother has alzheimer’s and it’s been hard and strange to say the least. especially for my mom. i know you guys will be a great support to his mom! and how amazing that you’ve already been to conferences and learning!! that’s amazing! sending love to you guys!

  2. oh my gosh i almost spent so much money at target on the weekend, so many cute baby clothes! i didn’t even have a baby to buy for, oops.
    so sorry to hear about your father in law, but Christopher is spot on about volunteering!

    • HA! I love it! I’m glad I’m not the only one tempted to buy baby clothes even when there isn’t a baby to buy for. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Every now and then I see something and I think “my future kid needs this” but then I think about how much style changes over the years and I don’t want to put my kid in something that was “so last season” (especially if by “last season” I mean “something from 3 years ago” haha!). Hopefully Target will stay on point with the boy baby clothes if I end up having boy babies someday. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Sounds like you guys are staying busy!! Haha I love fall but it does seem like the start to chaos! Can’t wait to see the kitchen when it’s all done ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. As if I needed another reason to go to Target!!! haha!! And I can’t wait to see the kitchen reno!

  5. I was just at Target today and noticed how cute their baby clothes are! Can’t wait to see your completed kitchen when it’s ready!

  6. I love that you are so busy right now with the photography!!

  7. I know how it is to feel busy! Can’t wait to see your kitchen reno! ๐Ÿ˜Š

  8. Beale! Sounding familiar to me now due to my research. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Can you remind me of your email address, friend?
    And yay for kitchen renovations and volunteering and things! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. This really is an insanely busy time of the year, but that is how I like it ๐Ÿ™‚
    I can’t wait to see more about your kitchen renovations.

  10. I can’t wait to read about the house updates… love those posts! I just got Eliott’s Christmas outfit at target the other day. I wouldn’t normally be this prepared… but it was too cute to pass up!

    • I know, right?! Their boy clothes are just SO adorbs right now! And I look forward to sharing the kitchen update! We have so many things we’ve been working on in the house – we just need to take the time to document it, haha!

  11. i think that is wonderful that there are resources like that for the families of those with Alzheimers. You guys are great for the volunteering you do.

  12. I love Target clothes!! Old Navy has some really cute stuff too. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love baby clothes shopping so much. Ha, ha. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

