Soup Weather

This past Sunday was cold. And rainy. And just kind of generally yucky weather. And my friends know that I hate the cold. They also know that I’m notorious for decorating for Christmas as soon as it drops below 65 degrees. So on Sunday, two different people asked me if I had decorated for Christmas yet. Which literally made me laugh out loud. I’m bad about decorating early, but so far I haven’t decorated in October… yet. πŸ˜‰

Anyway, it may not be quite time for me to decorate for Christmas, but this cold and rainy weather makes it the perfect time for soup! We’ve been enjoying minestrone around these parts. The base of this recipe isΒ one I got from my momΒ and the rest of it is a mix of a couple of others I’ve seen floating around the internet. It’s so absolutely delicious!

minestrone soup

Minestrone Soup

Ingredients:

1 tbsp olive oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 large sweet onion, chopped
8 cups beef broth
4 cups water
1 (6 oz) can tomato paste
1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes
1 (14.5 oz) can French style green beans, drained
2 cups cabbage, shredded
2 whole carrots, diced
1 small zucchini, diced
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/8 tsp ground sage
1/2 tsp basil
1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp rosemary
1 bay leaf
1 (15 oz) can red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 (15 oz) can cannellini beans
2 cups shell pasta

Directions:

1. In large soup pot, sautΓ© garlic and onion in olive oil until soft.

2. Stir in broth, water, tomato paste, diced tomatoes,Β green beans, cabbage, carrots, zucchini, salt, pepper, sage, basil, oregano, rosemary, and bay leaf.

3. Mix well, bring to a boil.Β Lower heat, cover and simmer slowly 1 hour.

4. Bring back to boil. Add kidney beans &Β pasta.Β Cook 15 minutes until pasta is tender. Ladle into bowls and serve.

I know that seems like a lot of ingredients, but if you notice – it’s a lot of different spices that you probably already have around the kitchen. And if you keep your pantry stocked with canned goods then you really only will need to buy the fresh vegetables. So it’s not near as complicated as the length of the ingredient list makes it seem. πŸ™‚ Enjoy, my friends!

Is it soup weather where you are?

Does anyone else decorate for Christmas before Thanksgiving? Typically on the first cold day in November, you’ll find me decorating. I love Thanksgiving, but I have absolutely no problem celebrating Thanksgiving surrounded by Christmas decor. πŸ˜€

Love Rach

32 responses to “Soup Weather

  1. Pingback: 13 of the Best Freezer Meals |

  2. Oh this looks so good! I love any soup with zucchini in it! My husband is a stickler for waiting until December to bring out the Christmas stuff. If I lived alone, I know I would decorate much earlier and watch Christmas movies anytime it was chilly though.

    • Yeah girl! I’m glad you’re with me in spirit even if you can’t be in action. πŸ˜‰ It’s officially November now, but we just had the weather warm back up so I’m thinking decorating might not happen until next week when the temps drop again. But we shall see! I’m so excited that it’s finally close to time, though! πŸ™‚

  3. Your recipes have been on point for me lately, lol. I was just thinking I wanted something like a pot roast or stew but without the meat this week. I have a bountiful basket co-op this Friday so hopefully I get a lot of good veggies to throw in this soup! Also, for as long as I can remember, I’ve been a strict no Christmas decorations until the day after Thanksgiving. When it was just Brooklyn and I, we spent that Friday putting up the tree, drinking sparkling cider and watching Christmas movies. Since we moved into a bigger house and I need a tree in every room (lol) I’ve started decorating earlier. I am really thinking as soon as my Halloween wreath comes down this weekend it’s time to drag out all the Christmas decor boxes!! Waiting until Thanksgiving just doesn’t give me enough time with all my snowmen and santas and trees and Christmas cheer! πŸ™‚

    • Yay! I’m so glad the recipes have been so on point for you lately! That’s awesome! I’m thinking I’ll be sharing some a pretty serious carb centered meal later this week. It’s just the time of year for soups and comfort foods. πŸ˜‰

      And double hooray for decorating early!! So it’s the 2nd… have you decorated yet??

  4. Ahhh yum! I love this time of year!

  5. I love soup weather so much! This looks so delicious!! πŸ™‚ Hope you guys are having a great fall!

  6. oh man i am a sucker for a good soup! seriously, nothing warms me up or is more comfortable than a big ol bowl of soup.

  7. It really is soup weather here in the UK, it’s turned chilly. This looks so hearty and comforting.

  8. I’m not quite sure it will ever be soup season here in Kuwait. However that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy a bowl or two. In fact I had some just the other day. Didn’t look near as good as yours though. Mmm!!

  9. YUM!! πŸ™‚ I love soup so much, and I’m excited that soup season is back. I definitely will need to try this one, for sure!!

    • Have you been making any yummy soups lately? Any recipes I need to try??

      • Have you ever made Giada’s (from the Food Network) Sweet Potato and Rosemary soup? It is a staple here at my house, because it is SO delicious!! πŸ™‚ Also, Paula Deen’s corn chowder (I think it’s called Chef Jack’s corn chowder?) is absolutely delicious as well, although more of an indulgent soup.
        Ooh, and last but not least, if you like mushrooms, the Creamy Hungarian Mushroom Soup from Eating Well is really yummy… and healthy too. (If you can’t find it, let me know, and I can send you the link). This recipe is a staple at our house too.
        Hmmm, I LOVE soup season!!

  10. It is definitely soup weather! And I love that you’ve had people ask you if you’ve decorated for Christmas yet. I just saw a post…10 more weekends until Christmas! Ahhhhhh!!!!!

    • AHHH! SO SOON! And wouldn’t you know… now that it’s November we’ve had the weather warm back up to the 70s! HA! So now it doesn’t “feel” like the right weather to decorate. It’s supposed to get cold again next week, though. I’m guessing decorating will begin then! πŸ™‚

  11. minestrone is my favorite!

  12. I am printing this recipe right now! It is most definitely soup weather in Pittsburgh (though it’s going to hit 70* one day this week, which is very unusual!). I am with ya on celebrating Thanksgiving with Christmas decor!

    • YAY! I’m so glad you’re with me on decorating early! Or who knows… maybe we’re decorating “on time” and everyone else is just decorating late! πŸ˜‰

      Let me know what you think of the soup if you end up making it! We sure love it! πŸ™‚

  13. Mmm, this looks so so so good! Minestrone soup might be my very favorite!

  14. I always love your recipes!!! SO YAY when I saw this post haha πŸ™‚ It is finally cooling down in AZ so this is perfect soup weather! And it looks so good, AND we made a goal to eat healthier so this fits the bill to a T. Thanks RACHIE πŸ™‚ and by the way, that’s so funny you’re KNOWN for decorating for Christmas as soon as it gets below 65 haha! I would totally decorate now but I think Jason would die haha he doesn’t like when I try to start celebrating things more than like a month in advance hahah boys.

  15. That soup looks so good!! It’s definitely soup weather here, and my Christmas decorations have been up since Nov 1, so you’re not alone in your early decorating tendencies πŸ˜‰

  16. Pingback: 18 Favorite Go-To Healthy Recipes |

Leave a Reply

