Kitchen Sneak Peak!

Okay so I just can’t hold out anymore! I want to give you guys a little sneak peak of what our kitchen is looking like right now! We still have lots more to do, but we officially have cabinets installed where there were none and that is all kinds of exciting to me.

starting to build

BEFORE: You guys probably saw this photo a couple of weeks ago on Instagram. We had sold our kitchen table and started building out the area where the cabinets would go. Oreo was enjoying his new access to this window and all the sunlight.

cabinets are in

AFTER: What our kitchen looks like as of this week! {ps. check out the Halloween lights – I can be festive for holidays other than Christmas… sort of, haha!}. But back to the point – check out those CABINETS! They are installed! And Oreo likes to insist on being in every photo. πŸ˜‰

christopher assembling the cabinets

Oh, and speaking of those cabinets… Christopher BUILT them! Not just assembled them (like you see in the photo above), but actually took pieces of wood and created these beautiful cabinets from a blank canvas. I have always been impressed with his carpentry skills, but these are a whole other level of incredible detail. I helped stain and install them, but he has done the majority of the work on these beautiful cabinets!

This weekend we are going to do the finishing touches to the cabinets and then it will be time to start counter tops! So so exciting! I’m looking forward to having this extra counter space! πŸ™‚ And once we’re entirely done I’ll put together an entire before-and-after post to share. But for now I just had to share this at least!

Are you working on any house projects right now?

Love Rach

46 responses to “Kitchen Sneak Peak!

  1. I LOVE them! Wow, I am very impressed! My dad is into carpentry and has made me many beautiful pieces for my house, and – honestly – the finished product is usually nicer than anything I could afford to buy… AND there is so much sentimental value. I love that Christopher is making such beautiful things for your home! It reminds me that I hope Brady will learn carpentry when he is older…
    I cannot wait to see the kitchen once it’s all done! πŸ™‚
    Right now, my small project is the bedroom. I can’t wait until it’s finished!!

    • Tell you what, if you teach my kids how to play piano, Christopher will teach Brady the art of carpentry! Now I just need you to live closer to me. πŸ˜‰ Seriously though, I love that your dad has made some pieces for you guys! Maybe he will be able to teach Brady a few things to get him started. πŸ™‚

      I am so excited to see your bedroom when it’s finished! It’s going to look awesome! πŸ™‚

      • Oh, that would just be too awesome! πŸ™‚ I would love to live closer to you. Who knows, maybe someday. I have friends and family moving to South Carolina, and Nate keeps telling me that we should jump on the bandwagon. I don’t think I could leave my family and go… But you never know. Ha, ha. πŸ™‚

  2. LOVE IT!!
    i can not wait to see the finished product!!

  3. thehipandthrifty

    Wow, love them! Those are beautiful and the wood fits really nicely with the wall’s color. onderful job! Plus, diggin’ the Christmas lights.

  4. woah, he built those? that is straight up amazing.

    • I know, right?! I was seriously so impressed! I mean, I knew he could build stuff because he’s built a few things for us in the past, but this was a whole new level of detail and awesomeness! Suddenly I can think of a million more things he needs to build for our house now that I know he can do this. πŸ˜‰

  5. WOW! Christoper has a carpentry GIFT! How amazing is that!

    A bunch of our friends have started building loooooong farm-style tables for their homes, and if Will and I had the room we would absolutely look into it ourselves. Maybe one day when we have a home πŸ™‚ I just love the idea of having a table big enough to seat anyone we want!

    • That’s such a good idea! Our dining room is a square so one of those big farmhouse tables wouldn’t fit very well, but we do have a big square table that seats 8 in there. I love it! πŸ™‚ If we had a different sort of space we might consider one of those tables! They really are so pretty! πŸ™‚

  6. Amazing job you guys! I love home projects, they are the best!

  7. Wow, that’s amazing he built those! Also, I love the color of your kitchen!

  8. Love the unique craftsmanship! Your kitchen will be one of a kind! So special πŸ™‚
    I can’t wait to have a home that the hubby and I can make our own!
    -Linds

  9. So exciting!!! We’ve been working on our house a lot lately! Our house is old so there is always something to do haha.

  10. Christopher really works magic! Every time you post about a project you are doing at your house I’m simply in awe.

    Today my husband and I went to buy some paint to do some touch-ups in our bedroom and we didn’t even pick out the right paint roller. We have little to no carpentry talent, haha. It’s really a shame!

    • Haha! It has seriously been a learn-as-we-go process! I can’t tell you how many times we did something wrong the first time (or made something more complicated than it needed to be). But after years of trial and error (and lots of Googling), we seem to be getting the hang of all these house projects. Of course, the carpentry thing… a lot of that is just his artistic talent. He’s incredible!

  11. Love! Love! Looove! I cannot wait to see the finished project. I love how Oreo sits in the sun, too! Lola loves to find her little patches of sun/warmth. So cute. Also, go Christopher!

  12. They look great! So impressive he made them!

    • ​I’m so impressed too! I was surprised when he said he wanted to try building them, but I figured it couldn’t hurt to at least try that first and if we didn’t like them then we could purchase some custom ones. Oh my gracious, am I glad he decided to build them. He saved us hundreds of dollars and they look SO good! Now that I know he has this much skill with the carpentry I keep coming up with new projects for him. πŸ˜‰ ​

  13. I love the cabinets – they look great. I can’t wait to see more πŸ™‚

  14. Those are fabulous!! Even cooler that he made them from scratch basically! Also, I really love the wall color in your kitchen!

  15. IT LOOKS SO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh my gosh! I love it!!!! And i love the name Oreo for a dog, by the way πŸ™‚ . So dang cute. K that is amazing he literally MADE/build those!! (and you had a hand in the outcome!) I love that πŸ™‚ It’ll be a fun memory, too! I always love stuff like that, houses where people did stuff in it themselves and stuff, I dunno! It just makes me happy haha especially if you’re there for a really long time and you tell your kids that you and your husband BUILD those. Just makes it extra special πŸ™‚

    • Yes!! I’m so with you there! I love that we can look in every room of our house and see something that we renovated (whether is was re-doing floors or walls or furniture). I love it. πŸ™‚

      And thanks! Oreo is a cutie and the name just seemed to fit. πŸ˜‰

  16. That’s so crazy… what a handy husband you have! πŸ™‚

  17. Oh my goodness, it looks AMAZING!!! You guys are so talented! I can’t wait to see the full before and after post πŸ™‚ Oh, and those Halloween lights are super festive!

  18. That looks great and adds so much more storage space! Hooray for having a handy husband to do these things! Oreo posing for the camera is adorable too.

  19. Rach!!!! I KNEW they were going to look great, but I didn’t know how great!!! I love the extra details with the wooden accents and all of the hardware. PLUS, as far as I can tell, the stain is an EXACT match! I’m absolutely amazed at what the two of you can accomplish! I can’t wait to see what it’s like when you get the countertop added!

    Congrats and two thumbs up!!!

  20. Pingback: That one time I forgot to tell you about the cookies |

  21. Pingback: Kitchen Renovation: We have counter tops! |

  22. Pingback: Kitchen Project: We have a Bar & Bar Stools! |

  23. Pingback: The Kitchen Nook: Before & After |

Leave a Reply

