Because today I’m craving potatoes

I love potatoes. And chili. And cheese. Put those three together and you have my favorite thing to order from McAlister’s Deli. Have you ever had their Spud Ole? It’s all kinds of awesome. So sometimes I make it at home. πŸ˜€

spud ole

This is more a meal idea than a recipe, but I still wanted to share because I love it so much. Bake a potato and then top it with chili, cheddar, jalapenos, and sour cream. Deeeeelightful! Typically we make our famous chili one night and then use the leftovers to make these chili potatoes later in the week. Two wonderful meals from the same batch of chili!

spud ole2

And another shot to show off all the toppings even better. πŸ™‚

What’s your favorite thing to top with chili? So many options! Pasta, rice, potatoes! Oh delicious carbs! πŸ™‚

Love Rach

17 responses to “Because today I’m craving potatoes

  1. Oh man, I could eat potatoes all day everyday.

  2. i LOVE potatoes. not with chili though haha. i like cheese, chives and sour cream. sometimes salsa. seriously, sometimes KC and I just have potatoes for dinner, no shame. well, he normally eats something else, but i could survive on potatoes alone!

  3. Oh my yum! This looks so good. I loveeee potatoes–in any form really.

  4. I looove potatoes πŸ™‚ Potato soup is a staple around here in the fall πŸ™‚

  5. Why did I never think to make this myself at home? I love McAlisters potatoes! Mmmmm.

  6. I LOVE chili on top of a baked potato! This reminded me that I haven’t made it in awhile… and I need to make it very soon!!

  7. This sounds amazing!! I love potatoes with chilli, and jalapenos could only make it better πŸ™‚ I’ve never thought of eating chilli on pasta or rice…that sounds fun!

    • Oh man, I love chili over rice. I started eating it that way when I was a teenager living at home. One day dad walked in the door with four extra people who he had invited to dinner and all we had cooking was a pot of chili – not quite enough for 4 extra people. So my mom made a pot of rice and served the chili over rice and topped it with cheese. It stretched the meal far enough that everyone had plenty. And our family liked it so much that we always had rice with chili from that point on. I started topping pasta with chili after I got married and heard about Cincinnati chili (which is traditional served over pasta). That’s actually how I’m chili eating it tonight! πŸ˜‰ I mean, you really can’t go wrong with adding carbs to your meal. πŸ˜‰

  8. this is one of my fave cold weather meals! nom nom! this looks SO GOOD.

  9. Pingback: Sweet Potato Spud Ole! |

Leave a Reply

