Visiting the family farm (and other Thanksgiving week happenings)

Last year was the first time we had ever had the opportunity to sit at one table with both sets of our parents and eat a Thanksgiving meal together. And this year we got to do so again. Both times due to family stuff going on. But we find ourselves grateful to be part of families who love and support each other. To know that our two families love and care for each other is such a precious gift.

thanksgiving with the famOn the left are my parents and sister, Abby. At the end of the table is one of my mother-in-law’s best friends, Mya. And on the right are Christopher and me with his parents. Behind and around us sit my extended family on my dad’s side.

While we were in this part of Arkansas for Thanksgiving lunch we stopped by the family farm. What’s that you say? I haven’t mentioned a family farm before? Well, that’s because I haven’t been to it since I was a kid. It’s where I grew up visiting my great-grandmother, Rachel Morris (who I’m named for). After she passed away the farm went to her two children (my grandmother being one of them).

morris farmMy grandmother and her three children (my dad is in the lighter colored shirt). {photo courtesy of my cousin, Maggie}

So random fun fact for the day: my family brought rice farming to Arkansas. Which it turns out is a pretty big deal. I was so glad to have an opportunity to visit the family farm again and to hear my grandmother, dad, aunt, and uncle telling stories about years long past in this place.

us at the farm

I also loved getting to take Christopher out to the farm and show him the things I remembered from my visits here as a kid. My memories of the farm include: an outhouse, picking up pecans from the biggest pecan tree in the world (at least that’s what I thought until I visited last week as an adult and saw that it was, in fact, a very normal size pecan tree), wearing my great-grandmother’s wigs, and mosquitoes the size of my face. It was a good place to grow up visiting. 🙂

vendettis{photo courtesy of my cousin, Maggie}

We spent the rest of the week with my parents-in-law, but it was pretty low key so I don’t have many pictures from it (also it was pouring rain every day after Thursday so that limited the things we could do outdoors which is typically what we do when we’re with my parents-in-law). However, I did manage to snap a really precious shot of Christopher and his dad decorating the Christmas tree together.

tony and christopher decorate the tree

Christopher’s dad has dementia so there are good moments and hard moments. We had some of both this past week, but this was definitely a precious one. The best part of  this Thanksgiving week was being surrounded by so many people we are thankful for. 🙂

Did you grow up visiting a farm? Or grow up on a farm?

Have you ever celebrated a holiday meal with both sides of your family at the same table? 

Fill me in on your Thanksgiving! I’m behind in blog reading and hope to catch up soon, but until I do – I want to hear at least a snippet! 🙂 

Love Rach

24 responses to “Visiting the family farm (and other Thanksgiving week happenings)

  1. That’s awesome that your family owns a farm, and that it’s still in the family! It looks like you had a great Thanksgiving as well.

  2. Your Thanksgiving looked like so much fun! I love the picture of you and Christopher at the farm together. My grandparents have a large farm too. I remember thinking our favorite climbing tree was HUGE, when in fact the first branch is only about three feet off of the ground. 🙂 I think farms are so good for kids to grow up around. It is so neat that your family brought rice farming to Arkansas!

  3. I ADORE farms!! Oh man, what a fun time! Gorgeous family as always.

  4. i don’t think i have ever actually been to a real farm! haha. that’s pretty cool about your family bringing rice farming to Arkansas. love that your families can get together for a holiday meal.. with the whole different countries thing, i doubt we’ll ever be able to do that!

    • Since my parents-in-law happen to live in the same city as my grandparents, they have become like family to each other. Which is sweet. And my parents travel there often to visit so they have gotten to know my in-laws pretty well too. 🙂 So having all of our parents together isn’t a huge stretch (though it is unusual for the holidays). However, I hear what you are saying. Getting together with our siblings… that’s the hard one. My siblings are spread out across the world so we typically all get together about once every 3-4 years (there was even one 7 year stretch where we didn’t see each other). Not one time have both sets of our parents and all of our siblings (my 4, his 1) been in the same room. Not even for our wedding. 😦 On the bright side, it’s nice to have family in different countries to have an excuse to go visit. 😉

  5. You have a farm in your family?! HOW COOL!! That would be so fun to grow up visiting and making such fun memories 🙂 That is also really cool that both families have gotten to do thanksgiving together twice now!! That really is so special you all got to be together 🙂 I was going to ask if the girl across from you was your sister and then I read it haha you totally look like sisters!
    xo C

    • Haha! She sure is! We’re told pretty often that we look a lot a like! There was a time when we were teenagers when I lot of people couldn’t tell us apart. Which is crazy to us because I am so dark featured and she’s so light featured, but I guess people focus more on our facial structure and mannerisms than our coloring.

  6. thehipandthrifty

    Wow! That’s kind of awesome about your rice farming family history–It’s incredible that it has been in your family for 100+ years! Glad you had a great time with your family this Thanksgiving, too.
    P.S. I told my Ree Drummond’s-blog-fan aunt about your blog over thanksgiving and she’s completely hooked! 🙂

  7. I loved this so much!! 🙂 How fun that your family has a farm!
    I’d love to bring my husband up to the farm that my great grandmother lived in up in Canada. I used to visit it every summer as a little girl, but I haven’t been there in years!

  8. This is awesome!! Such a great experience! I love farms!! 🙂 Glad that you got to enjoy seeing the fam!

  9. I think that is so great that you can get both your families together. Sadly that has never happened for us, only at our wedding 😦

    • It was nice having our parents together. It doesn’t happen often. But I definitely understand what you are saying! Our whole families (both sets of parents and all of our siblings) have actually never all been together at the same time. Not even at our wedding. My family lives so spread out across the world that it’s hard to get us all together at the same time (usually we see each other about every 3-4 years). So I definitely understand that!

  10. I’m glad you were able to be with both your family and Christopher’s on Thanksgiving!! Since Jimmy and I have been married, I am learning how rare/hard it is to get both parents + siblings all together (and we all live within an hour or so of each other, haha!). When it does happen, it’s so special, no matter what the circumstances!

    I love that you could show Christopher the family farm! I didn’t know pecans grew on trees. I am going to google “pecan tree” now because I want to see what they look like! Sorry for being a dork 😉

    I LOVE the photo of Christopher and his dad putting ornaments on the tree. That must have been such a nice, special moment!

  11. It’s so nice to have BOTH families together. That’s so sweet! A few years in a row my family and Drew’s family got together for Christmas Eve dinner and I loved it so much! Glad you had a great Thanksgiving! XO

Leave a Reply

