I’m still here!

Hello friends!! I am missing writing regularly in this little corner of the internet. I know I keep saying it, but this fall/Christmas photography season has been so busy. Which is awesome. Because I love what I do. But I will say, I let myself get so overbooked this season that I’ve had to give up three of my favorite hobbies. Since busy season began I haven’t gone to the gym or read a book and I’ve hardly been present on this blog. I miss those things. But I know that as this busy season winds down, I’ll miss the fast pace of the photography world. So I’m trying to be sure I enjoy it while I can before the winter lull sets in.

photo editing

That’s my current edit list. Only six more to edit! I have a handful of sessions still coming up later this month (as I photograph a session, it gets added to the edit list which is why those aren’t on there yet), but for the most part – busy season is ending. My goals for this week are pretty straight forward: finish all editing early, respond to emails,  go to the gym at least once, and attempt to catch up on at least some blog reading. We’ll see what gets accomplished!

So I have had to re-prioritize my hobbies, but that’s just during the “day time working hours.” Our nights and weekends are still packed full of social life, volunteer work, and of course… LOTS of Christmas right now! 🙂

opryland collageUs outside Opryland Hotel in Nashville this past weekend. Their lights are incredible! And all their decorations are huge! Look at that bow nearly as big as I am that is an “ornament” on an enormous tree!

us at Ice!Us with our friends, Stephen and Julia, at the Opryland ice display. 2 million pounds of hand carved ice kept at a chilly 9 degrees! So pretty! There was also an ice slide that we went down where I felt completely undignified (you lay on your back with your feet in the air which reminded me of a trip to the OBGYN, ha!), but it was SO much fun! 🙂 We had lots of laughter this past weekend. 🙂

I want to blog about ALL things Christmas related, but that would be several posts worth. So instead, let it be recorded here that our holiday season has been and is currently packed full with evenings around the fireplace, Christmas caroling, making cookies for our neighbors, Christmas parties, lots of twinkly lights, Advent readings, a couple of trips, lots of time with our families and friends, and a ridiculous amount of delicious food. I mean, really… what more do I need to say? Tis the season, my friends! 🙂

What Christmassy things have you been up to lately?

What are the first things to go when you get busy with work or life? For me it was the gym & reading. I’ve been attempting to hold on to blogging a little, but it has been pretty pitiful lately, ha!

Love Rach

32 responses to “I’m still here!

  1. Blogging is definitely the first to go for me too when life gets busy, but lately it hasn’t been tooooo crazy. I’ve actually requested to work less at Starbucks to help more with my family so that’s fun.

  2. Aww we’ve missed ya! I took my first set of Christmas photos for a couple friends of mine last Thursday. I didn’t charge them anything of course because I’m still a total NEWBIE haha! Do you have any recommendations for resources related to editing photos? I’d love to learn more! I have Lightroom– do you think Photoshop is worth the investment?

    • Girl, that’s awesome!! I want to see the photos you took! Are you going to share a few on your blog?

      I use Photoshop, but I know a lot of photographers who use Lightroom primarily. I’ve fiddled around with it a bit, but honestly I get really stuck in my ways and I started with Photoshop so I haven’t taken the time to learn LR yet. 😉 Also, as far as actions go… I love Pioneer Woman’s free set and pretty much everything by Florabella (they are expensive, but worth the investment!).

  3. Glad you’re enjoying your busy season! We went to ICE at the Gaylord in Dallas, and it was so much fun! The sculptures are so pretty. 🙂

  4. i’m glad you updated us–i know how busy you are. whew! glad you had some fun too during all of that. i’ve never been there at christmas but have heard how pretty it is.

  5. oh my gosh, that ornament is insane! hope it gets less busy for you soon 🙂

  6. I’m glad you’re busy with photography, which you love, and not something that’s boring to you, ya know?! That’s always a bonus. I am so glad the crazy busyness is going to wind down so you can enjoy other fun stuff in your life!

    I love all of these pictures! I can’t believe how big that ornament is! Also, that ice slide sounds totally undignified, haha!! I hope you get a chance to blog more about your Christmas season because I’d love to read all about it and see pictures 🙂

    First things to go when I get busy: my sanity/ability to not cry at the drop of a hat, haha. Jk. Kind of. Mostly blogging, meal planning, and long journal sessions go when I get busy!

    • I know, right?! That ornament was huge! The whole tree was super enormous! It was just crazy! And the ice slide was ridiculous, but so fun!

      Oh so true! I forgot “long journal sessions” that’s totally true when I get busy. They definitely get much shorter!

  7. I understand the needing to take a time off from blogging during busy seasons! 🙂 I’m so glad that you’re doing something that you love (and so incredibly good at) AND that you’re making time for fun Christmas activities. Thanks for keeping us all posted when you can!! 🙂
    (LOVE the pic of you and the giant Christmas ornaments)!!

  8. Beth Marczynski

    I haven’t been to the gym either and the new book I started the first week in Nov. is still on my nightstand, page 31 bookmarked! I did get my Christmas Decorations out and put the outside decor up – but now everytime I walk by my pile-O-Christmas I grab one or two things and set them out. My Advent wreath and sparkly SnowGirl along with a Canvas of Santa Winking are up. Only two more holiday parties to cater and then I can turn my full attention to my Hubby, home and dogs! Merry Christmas!

  9. It has been getting SO busy lately! going to the gym has definitely been at the bottom of my “to-do” list… I’d much rather do something fun and festive! Like spend time with friends or go Christmas shopping… plus with all the craziness of school I feel like I barely have a free minute!
    PS love the Nutcracker… and your sweaters?! SO cute! ❤

    • I am with you! I definitely have done a lot of Christmas shopping and hanging out with friends lately as well. As of tomorrow we’re headed out on vacation and I’m actually looking forward to having time to exercise, haha! Which is funny for me because it’s usually against my rules to go to the gym while on vacation. But I’ve missed it so much that I’m actually WANTING to go, ha!

  10. I love when people just go all out in celebrating Christmas. Your holidays sounds so merry and bright. It was neat hearing about your schedule and life as a photographer. It seems like such a cool job and I have no doubts that you are so sweet and fun to work with.

  11. This is how I am feeling about grad school! I am loving it but am SO busy it’s hard to find time for blogging and reading and etc hobbies. As of Tuesday I have a month long break so I am beginning to catch up on all of the things. Like your blog! Yay! Haha. Ps Love that ice slide story. Haha!

  12. I am right there with you, friend! With semester exams in full swing next week and all the Christmas stuff on top of that, it has been a busy time!

  13. Awh no wonder you’re so busy you talented lady, you!! 🙂 But seriously that is so awesome!!! Like really in AZ photography is so saturated so I always wonder how people get gigs!! Obviously it’s the talent!! So really that is so impressive. Yay Christmas stuff!! Jason and I need to hop on that bandwagon!! I feel like we haven’t done too many Christmas things… that needs to change!!

    • Haha! I’m not sure how saturated the market is here in Memphis in general, but I do know that in our class at church alone there are 3 other photographers, ha! But there always seems to be enough work to go around. 🙂

      And yeees! You need to hop on the Christmas bandwagon! Important! 😀

  14. Lovely pics, Rach!! Hope you get everything done on your list no prob, girl! Such a busy time of the year, isn’t it? 🙂
    We are loving Christmas markets here in the UK in December ❤
    Though, I wish it would finally snow and not rain 🙂
    xox Nadia
    http://mielandmint.blogspot.co.uk/

  15. Wow, talk about the busy time of year! But so good you love what you do. ❤ Happy Holidays!

  16. Pingback: Things I’ll remember from 2015 |

  17. Pingback: The perfect end to our day at Universal Studios |

Leave a Reply

