Cruuuuuisin’!

We got home from our cruise on Thursday night and hit the ground running on Friday. This past weekend was full of celebrating Christmas with both family and friends (as I’m sure many of you saw on Facebook) which was really wonderful to be surrounded with people who love us all weekend. It was a go-go-go kind of weekend which is now being followed by a go-go-go kind of week. I mean, it IS just a few days before Christmas and my to-do list seems to grow longer by the minute. I want to share all the things, but I think I am going to have to be responsible and just say that I will try to catch up on all the things after the busy-ness dies down a bit.

So yes, I will blog about Harry Potter World. I have WAY too much to say about it to try and cram it into one short recap post. So that will be coming later. But for today I want to shareΒ a few favorite shots from our cruise. πŸ™‚

us in freeport

Our first stop was in Freeport, Bahamas. You can see seaweed in the water behind us. Most of this stretch of beach actually didn’t have seaweed, but we took the photo this direction because the rest of the beach was paaaacked with people. So the rest of the beach was even prettier than what you see in this shot. But it was nothing compared to the next day in Nassau…

us in nassau

Nassau was gorgeous. Just gorgeous. It felt so surreal to be there enjoying 85 degree weather in December! Christopher read about this stretch of beach close to the port called Junkanoo Beach and thanks to Trip Advisor he found a place on the beach called the Tiki Bikini Hut that had great reviews as far as a good place to get chairs & umbrellas. So we did. We arrived aΒ little beforeΒ 10:30am and we were the first ones on the beach. So they put our chairs IN the surf. You guys, it was glorious. The beach filled up as the day went on, but we had a perfect view.

us in front of our ship

The ports were great, but the cruise itself was marvelous too. I absolutely love cruising. I mean, all you can eat food is always a winner in my book. Plus sitting out on deck and watching the water and sky as you cruise by. Beautiful. Not to mention all the fun things to do on board. My normal favorites include: the marriage game, comedians, the gender showdown, towel folding class, and the hairy man competition. This cruise had all of these elements PLUS Christmas stuff! There was a Christmas show that had me all teary eyed when they sang Silent Night as the staff walked into the auditorium holding candles representing all the different countries that had come together on this cruise. And then best of all… Christmas caroling in the Atrium when it started to SNOW! Did you guys see this on Instagram already? It was my favorite moment of this cruise!

We had already sung a couple of Christmas carols and I was having the best time and then we started singing “Let it Snow” and it started SNOWING! I squealed like a 5 year old on Christmas morning. It was the best! πŸ™‚ Oh, and did I mention that this happened on Christopher’s actual birthday?! I told him that I got him snow for his birthday. πŸ˜‰

us

We had such a wonderful time! It was the perfect way to celebrate Christopher’s 30th birthday! πŸ™‚

Love Rach

41 responses to “Cruuuuuisin’!

  1. These pictures are all stunning…. especially that one in Nassau! It all sounds like so much fun. I can’t wait to hear more when things slow down a little!

  2. So glad you guys had a great time!! Those photos are lovely, and I wouldn’t have even noticed the seaweed! HA.

  3. I love cruising so much, and that snowing moment sounds magical! So glad y’all had an amazing time!

  4. Fun! That last picture is beautiful if you two! Happy birthday, Christopher!

  5. ahhh so fun! i cannot wait for our cruise, alas it is in june so no christmas stuff lol. nassau looks amazing!

  6. Oh my gosh, this makes me want to take a Christmas cruise! Ok, I need more details, how many days? Which cruise line? Also those beaches are gorgeous!!

    • This one was on the Carnival Sensation for a five day cruise porting from Orlando (Cape Canaveral). We went to Freeport & Nassau. We’ve previously done a 5 day Carnival cruise from Mobile to Progresso & Cozumel as well as a 3 day Princess cruise from Fort Lauderdale to Princess Keys (the Bahamas). We have loved all three of the cruises! Both Princess & Carnival have been great. I hear awesome things about other cruise lines as well, though. Are you thinking about cruising soon??

  7. What a perfect birthday celebration!!! SO much fun and just hearing about the snow and carols in the atrium gave me the chills πŸ™‚ The only cruise I’ve been on was a Christmas one, too and they are beyond magical! Can’t wait to hear more about Harry Potter World!! Happy Christmas week!

    • Ahh! I love that you went on a Christmassy cruise too! I was worried that it wouldn’t “feel” like Christmas if we were in the Bahamas the week before Christmas, but the cruise ship went all out in decorating and having Christmas themed shows. Even the guys who set up our chairs at the beach were wearing Santa hats with their Hawaiian shirts and shorts, ha! Plus, we celebrated *actual *Christmas in south Alabama this year and it was HOT and humid all week. It was in the 80s on Christmas day. So it’s not like normal Christmas weather anyway. πŸ˜‰

  8. So fun! I’ve never been on a cruise but have heard good things about them.

    Was the snow real snow or fake snow?

  9. That caroling picture is amazing! So glad you two had a wonderful time! XOXO

  10. I can’t wait to hear more!! πŸ™‚ These photo’s are so beautiful and this was the perfect recap post. I agree, there is nothing like going on a cruise! Nate and I are already dreaming of the day when we can bring Brady on one. πŸ™‚

  11. i’ve never heard of anyone cruising near christmas, but that seems like the BEST idea!! i love the snow and everything. i would have reacted the same way!!

  12. Awww, looks like you had a blast!! I have never been on a cruise but would love to go one day πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas, lovely!
    xox Nadia
    http://mielandmint.blogspot.co.uk/

  13. This looks like so much fun! I would never think to go on a cruise during the holidays, but my aunt and cousins did that for Christmas a few years back. They agreed to not buy each other any presents, but to just save up their money for the cruise instead and treat themselves. They sent out a (late) Christmas card with a picture of them all on the boat that year–it was neat! 😊

  14. I love that it started snowing! Magic!
    It’s been 75-80 degrees here in Austin and will be for CHRISTMAS tomorrow too. It’s perfect weather but so weird. Haha

    • Girl, I hear ya! It was 80 and so so SO humid on Christmas day in the Mobile/Gulf Shores area where we were for Christmas. Such weird weather for Christmas! Though it’s better than it being super cold. I’m not so much a fan of the cold. Hope you had a great Christmas, girl!

  15. Such an awesome cruise!! I’m so glad you and Christopher could get away together and enjoy the warmth of the Bahamas!! Also, the snow on the ship… love it! I am soo pumped to hear about Harry Potter World!

  16. WOW!! This looks amazing! Sounds like you had a blast πŸ™‚ Happy 30th to Christopher!

  17. WE JUST GOT BACK FROM A CRUISE TOO! We went over Christmas and it was glorious! We weren’t as big of fans of Nassau… The market place people were very pushy and kept begging us to buy stuff. We went to Grand Turk and Half Moon Cay and we liked those a lot more! It was our first cruise and it was amazing! We are going to start saving now for the next one! Glad you had a good time!!

    • You know, it’s weird, but some of our friends were in Nassau two days before we were (on a different cruise) and they said the same thing you did! But honestly, no one even talked to us in the straw market! And we were some of the only people walking through when we did. I don’t know if it’s just because it was the time of day or what. But really no one bothered us. I was really surprised to hear our friends say something similar to what you said here. But since you experienced it too, maybe that’s more the norm? Or maybe we just caught it at a good time (we went by in the late afternoon when it was hot and not many people were out)? Either way, I’m so glad to hear that you loved the rest of your cruise! That’s awesome! πŸ™‚

  18. Oh my gosh this looks so fun! What beautiful scenery. I love that there was SNOW on Christopher’s birthday!

  19. Pingback: Things I’ll remember from 2015 |

  20. Pingback: Harry Potter World!!! |

  21. Pingback: We’re headed back to Europe! |

  22. Pingback: How we travel so much (and how we got round trip tickets to Europe for $400) |

  23. Pingback: How we travel so much (and how we got round trip tickets to Europe for $400) |

Leave a Reply

