I’m dreaming of a plaid Christmas…

Hello my friends!ย We’ve spent the last two weekends celebrating Christmas with family and we’ll spend this coming weekend as well as MLK weekend celebrating Christmas with family as well. So we’re really only halfway through the celebrations at this point. I love Christmas so this is pretty wonderful in my book. ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0251

We spent actual Christmas day at my parents’ house this year. They liveย across the bay from Mobile, AL and this year it wasย 80 degrees and raining all week. And so so humid. Totally “Christmas weather”. ๐Ÿ˜‰ On the bright side, from Wednesday when we arrived until Sunday when we left, we never stopped eating incredible food. I come from a family of great cooks so when we get together, there is no shortage of delicious food. ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0393

That’s my fam rocking plaid. We’re cool like that. ๐Ÿ˜‰

DSC_0350

Check out that fort! Christopher and our nephew, Wesley,ย were so cute playing board games in the fort. ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0303

Aren’t we adorable? My 9-year-old niece posed us like this and the photo actually turned out pretty cute. For those who are new to the blog – that’s me with my younger sister, Abby (middle) and one of my older sisters, Holly (right).

DSC_0407

With my mom and two of my sisters. I can’t put into words how grateful I am for these ladies.

I came home withย a full stomach and a full heart. I also came home with a cold thanks to half my family being sick. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But it’s worth every crumpled up tissue to have been able to have that time with my family. We’re home for a couple of days before we head out again so this week will be catch-up week as I try to get caught up on all things photo editing, cleaning, laundry, and blogging. Hopefully come January I’ll be back to my normal blogging schedule. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have you made it through the holidays without getting sick so far? A couple of people we know have had the stomach bug so I’m more than happy to have missed that one!

Are you finished with Christmas celebrating or do you still have more to come?

Love Rach

27 responses to “I’m dreaming of a plaid Christmas…

  1. Aw how sweet! Love the plaid family photo. How awesome you have two more Christmases to look forward to ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I LOVE the plaid photo, because I definitely rock plaid a LOT! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thankfully it’s very ‘in’ here in New England, because I love it!
    And I definitely caught the cold going around… No fun! I hope you’re feeling better soon!!

  3. The plaid family photo is great!! So cute.

    Yay for a holiday filled with great food and family time! I’m sorry you’re sick though! I hope it passes quickly!

  4. PLAID + SHEET FORTS = YESS!

  5. awh you and your family are all so cute!! haha like you all look soooo much alike!! I love that your niece posed you!! It really did turn our to be a cute picture. I got a cold last week but luckily it’s gone now! Crossing my fingers that’s the last cold I get for the year ๐Ÿ™‚
    Happy new year!!
    xo C

  6. i have not been sick yet! fingers crossed i don’t get sick. kc’s grandma had a cold and she cooked the food and i was like uhhhh haha. love all the plaid! enjoy your extended celebrations!

    • Oh man! I’m pretty sure that’s how I got it from my sisters. We all cooked Christmas dinner together and both of them were sick. I’m glad you stayed healthy, though! And hopefully you will continue to stay healthy this winter! Sickness is no fun!

  7. Merriest Christmas Rach! Love the plaid. I don’t want to jinx us by saying the status of our health, but so far, so good. Although Scott sprained his ankle last weekend.

  8. Thankfully no one was sick in my family this year! Loving the plaid ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Love the pictures with your family! We are sick right now too. Cold season is no fun. Hope you are feeling better soon!

  10. Yay for lots of Christmas celebrations! I think that’s one of the fun things about being married–you automatically have at least two Christmases to celebrate with family. The pictures of your family are beautiful. You all rock plaid, and I especially love the sister pictures. You and Holly have the same facial expression in the one where you were posed! If I saw you both, I don’t know I’d be able to tell if you were sisters (versus you and Abby who resemble each other more), but when you smiled the same way in the picture it was really clear. Too cool!

    I hope you’re able to catch up this week and feel better. So glad you could avoid the stomach bug!

    • I think we must have a lot of similar expressions because people tell us in person that Holly & I look alike all the time. Of course they say that about Abby and I as well. But I really hear it equally about both of them. What’s always funny is when someone gets to know us well enough that they can see how much Holly & Abby look alike. Which is hilarious because their coloring is nothing alike, Holly is 8 years older, and Abby is 9 inches taller. But we all have similar smiles, facial expressions, and gestures. So if you know one of us well, you’ll see the likeness in our sisters.

      And thank you! I am feeling much better now! I’m hoping that will be the last of the sickness we face this winter!

  11. thehipandthrifty

    Merry Christmas! We do something like the plaid theme, only we call it “Redneck Thanksgiving”; We have formal or at least semi-formal Thanksgiving dinner, then on the day after we eat all of the leftovers outside, and the table is decorated in the most fancy ridiculous way…with redneck table ware.; camouflage tablecloth, bandana napkins fanned into mason jar drink glasses, etc., and we all wear bandanas or other redneck clothes. It’s so much fun!
    Glad you had a great Christmas! And nice to see that you guys keep it going–we are squeezing every last minute out of our Christmas tree/lights, but if it were up to me, we would take them down only to put up Valentine’s Day decorations! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Happy New Year/Five More Days of Christmas!

    • What a fun idea!! I love that you guys have that tradition!

      Oh yes, I leave Christmas decor up as long as I can. ๐Ÿ˜‰ We have our final Christmas celebration on January 16th this year so I suppose it will all come down a little after that. But I am with you on loving it all! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. I love the picture of you with your sisters holding hands, LOL. You guys look so cute in your plaid! I tried to arrange coordinating outfits one Thanksgiving for a DeAngelis family photo (which would be the first DeAngelis family photo EVER–of ALL of us together), and it was a disaster. I thought we could wear black shirts and jeans or white shirts and jeans, and then Justin’s dad protested that he doesn’t own a pair of jeans (come to think of it, I’ve only ever seen him wear khaki shorts down in Cocoa Beach…or dress slacks), and we thought he could borrow a pair from his son-in-law….but it just didn’t work out. My side of the family is SO into taking pictures together (probably because of my photographer sister), but Justin’s side of the family just isn’t that way! It feels much more forced to try to gather everyone together and pose them and get them all to smile. LOL…All that to say, you have a very photogenic family! I wonder if they would be so good at posing for pictures if it weren’t for you!

    • Haha! Oh goodness, that sounds stressful! Good for you for trying, though! And girl, I totally grew up in a family that takes pictures. My mom is probably a big part of why I document life. She was always taking pictures of us and scrapbooking everything. The first time Christopher met my family, he was in a family photo. No joke. We all lined up on my grandmother’s front porch, Christopher included, for a photo. My family is totally into “take a group pic every single time you get together” which is totally normal to me even though as an adult I now recognize that it’s kind of unusual. And since we’re all used to it, it take 5 minutes because we all know how to pose. But I will say, the fact that I have all my pro equipment now has definitely upped our family photo game. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. Pingback: That one time I forgot to tell you about the cookies |

Leave a Reply

