Things I’ll remember from 2015

For my last post of 2015 I wanted to look back at some of the things that I know I’ll remember about this year.

princess party

A huge one for 2015 was that this was the year “my girls” graduated from high school. I’ve been mentoring them since they were in 7th grade so it’s hard to believe they are all off in college now. A favorite memory with them this year was our final princess party. It was precious. ๐Ÿ™‚

recovery

We’ve had a lot of health stuff/surgeries/sicknesses/etc going on this year. Among them was Christopher’s ACL surgery in January and me gettingย food poisoning in the Dominican Republic. As hard as some of this has been and as much as I might like to forget those parts of 2015, I’m thankful for the way we so tenderly care for and support each other. And we have both been overwhelmed by the kindness and support of friends and family this year.

us on the beach3

A new thing for 2015 was the Our 30 Days thing we did.ย Aย break we took from “real life” to just be together. It.was.awesome. Since then we’ve learned to be much better about carving out time for us which I have loved!

photographer rach3

My photography business has continued to grow and I have continued to be amazed by the growth. I’ll remember 2015 as the year that Iย let myself get way overbooked (especially Oct-Dec). I came out of busy season with my head still attached so that’s good news, but I want to have a better plan in place for next year. I’m working on that. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But all in all, this business has been awesome and I am unbelievably grateful for my clients, mentors, and encouragers. ๐Ÿ™‚

us at grand canyon6

Of course, like most years, 2015 was full of traveling for us. My favorite trips were to Vegas,ย the Grand Canyon, Destin (even though we had a terrifying experience with a rip current this year, we still love Destin!), and NYC. And of course the Bahamas, but that is part of the next one…

us in nassau

Celebrating Christopher’s 30th birthday with a trip to Harry Potter World (thatย post is still coming!) and taking a cruise to the Bahamas! Awesome-sauce! Definitely a solid way to end 2015! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m not sure what all 2016 will bring our way, but I have a feeling it’s going to be pretty awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚

Love Rach

20 responses to “Things I’ll remember from 2015

  1. What a year you’ve had! So glad that you made it through your busy photography season with your head on straight. You are so talented – I always love seeing your photos.

    I’m on the edge of my seat waiting for the Harry Potter world post!

    • I’m being soooo slow with that Harry Potter World post, haha! I think it’s because I have SO MUCH to say about it all and it’s hard to condense down what I want to share. It’s not something I can throw together quickly and post. Surprisingly my photography business is continuing to stay on the busy side this January. I didn’t anticipate that so I haven’t had quite as much free time as normal. But at least I’m back to the gym and blog reading again! I’ll get that post up eventually! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Wow, 2015 was a big year for you! I can’t believe “your girls” graduated from high school! I remember the early days of reading your blog when they were all younger… time goes by so quickly! I am sure they’re well-equipped for adulthood if they spent any time in your presence ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your photography business has just amazed me, Rach. It’s so clear that you’re talented with photography AND creative. The two of those together with your radiant personality makes for one awesome business!

    Also, all the traveling you did sounds like a blast. I’m with Amy–on the edge of my seat waiting for the HP recap ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It’s hard for me to believe that they’ve graduated as well! Time has flown by!

      Like I mentioned to Amy, โ€‹I’m being soooo slow with that Harry Potter World post, haha! I think it’s because I have SO MUCH to say about it all and it’s hard to condense down what I want to share. It’s not something I can throw together quickly and post. Thank you so much for your kind words about my photography! It’s hard to believe that it has grown so much so quickly. Surprisingly it is continuing to stay on the busy side this January. I didn’t anticipate that so I haven’t had quite as much free time as normal. But at least I’m back to the gym and blog reading again! I’ll get that post up eventually! ๐Ÿ™‚ โ€‹

  3. I hope you can share more of your photography on here! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I can’t wait for your HP recap. That was definitely a highlight for us in 2015!!!! Happy New Year friend! XOXOXOXOXO

    • I’m being soooo slow with that Harry Potter World post, haha! I think it’s because I have SO MUCH to say about it all and it’s hard to condense down what I want to share. It’s not something I can throw together quickly and post. Surprisingly my photography business is continuing to stay on the busy side this January. I didn’t anticipate that so I haven’t had quite as much free time as normal. But at least I’m back to the gym and blog reading again! I’ll get that post up eventually! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Sounds like an eventful year! Sorry to hear about the surgery and food poisoning and at least you had lots of fun times in between. Happy 2016!
    Dresses & Denim

  6. Love that you were able to mentor those girls all through high school – that’s so special! You guys really had such a great year!! Can’t wait to see what 2016 has in store! ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy New Year!

  7. This is such a nice recap! It’s hard to believe that some of those things happened nearly a year ago–time has flown by! You guys had such a fun year and I’m so jealous of all of the traveling that you do! ๐Ÿ˜› Justin and I are constantly drowning in debt–still paying off grad school, etc. Maybe one day when we are debt free we’ll take a cruise or international trip. ๐Ÿ™‚ P.S.–Will you continue posting some of the pictures that you take for your business? Or are those only going to be posted on your photography page now?

    • You know I hadn’t thought much about posting photography photos here lately, but I should. You aren’t the only person who has asked about that. Maybe that will be an upcoming post! ๐Ÿ™‚

      And girl, I remember what it felt like to be saddled with all of that debt. No fun for sure! Graduate school is so crazy expensive! I hope you guys are able to get it paid off soon! You guys will have such fun taking trips with that extra $$!

  8. Happy New Year! It looks like you have had a great 2015 and here is to an even better 2016! I look forward to seeing more of your photography ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. what an incredible year! i loved this trip down memory lane for you. i hope 2016 is even better.

  10. i hate the sickness (blahhh) but other than that 2015 was so good! – so many good memories and moments and growth! i can’t wait to see what 2016 holds (especially for your photography!)

Leave a Reply

