I got a puppy for Christmas!!

rach and wookie3

Meet Wookie. He’s a cavapoo (Cavalier King Charles SpanielΒ & a Poodle) who won’t get much bigger than he is now. Santa brought him to the little girl I nanny. Which means that on the days I keep her, I get my fill of fluffy puppy lovin’. πŸ™‚

mal and wookie

Earlier this fall her parents asked me if I would mind an extra pup underfoot and I was all like “um, of course I wouldn’t mind! I LOVE puppies!!”Β When I told Christopher that Mallory was getting a puppy for Christmas he said, “Well hey, it’s like you are getting a puppy too!” So since then I’ve been telling people that I got a puppy for Christmas. πŸ˜‰ And of course I quickly follow that up with the whole story. πŸ™‚

wookie and emmit

Emmit is their other dog and I have been really amazed at how well the two play together. Em is just SO BIG (he’s a Goldendoodle) and Wookie is so itty bitty. And yet they play wonderfully together.

rach and wookie

Look at what a little teddy bear he is! He’s just so stinkin’ cute!

Did you ever get a puppy for Christmas as a kid?Β Wookie and Mallory are just the cutest together!

Love Rach

44 responses to “I got a puppy for Christmas!!

  1. Oh my goodness, I don’t typically like the look of poodles, but this mix is ADORABLE!

  2. Oh my gosh that puppy is SO CUTE! Also, the name is so so so perfect! ❀

    -Tia

  3. Oh my goodness!!!!!! Such a sweet little teddy bear. Adorable!!

  4. hahaha sounds like a perfect situation πŸ™‚ such a cute puppy!

  5. So adorable!! I’m actually kind of relieved that this was about getting a part time puppy because when I first saw the post, I channeled Oreo and thought, “Oh NO they DIDN’T!” Haha!

    Wookie is adorable.

    • Oh my goodness, you know Oreo so well! People ask us a lot of we’d get a second pet because they know I’ve volunteered with different pet rescue organizations and they are shocked when I tell them that Oreo wouldn’t like a second pet in the home. He’s such a spoiled only child. If we were going to get a second pet we should have done that when he was still young. When we used to keep foster pets, he liked to play with them, but then he also liked when they left, haha! So you know read what Oreo’s feelings would have been on a new puppy in the house very well! πŸ˜‰

  6. The title of your post popped up into my Hotmail account, and I totally had to read your blog right away… even though I’m supposed to be prepping for the next wave of piano students. πŸ˜‰ Ha, ha. I really thought you had adopted a new puppy to be friends with Oreo! πŸ™‚
    How CUTE is that puppy! And how fun that you get to play with ‘your’ puppy while you nanny. Absolutely adorable and fun!

  7. Aww he is the cutest! So fun the girl you nanny got a new friend! πŸ™‚

  8. He is so adorable!! I can’t show this post to Justin. He wants to get Jake a puppy (or let’s be real–he wants to get HIMSELF a puppy), but I’m thinking a toddler+ a newborn+ a puppy = a mom who is off the rails. πŸ™‚ So I’ve been telling him to wait….poor guy.

    • Oh my gracious, stay strong! Puppies are SO much work! I love Wookie, but I also love that he doesn’t live with me. Puppies chew on everything and have to learn to not bite (with those sharp little teeth) and they pee aaaaall the time. Again, he’s super cute and I only hang out with him for a few hours a day so it’s a pretty ideal situation. But I’m definitely not ready for a puppy in our house, haha!

  9. He is sooo cute! I’ve always wanted an Airedale, BUT….I might have just changed my mind! You’ll have to tell me more about taking care of Wookie in the months to come.

    I love that you consider him “your” dog too!!! πŸ˜€

    • Sure thing! He’s a sweetie. He’s definitely still getting the hang of the whole potty training thing. And he loves to chew on everything and bite with those sharp little teeth of his. So he’s learning what things he’s allowed to chew on. It’s a lot of work for the family, but the kids are obsessed with him so the love it. I love that they tire him out so he’s worn out and snuggles with me during their nap time. πŸ˜‰

  10. thehipandthrifty

    AHHH! He’s so cute it’s practically criminal! And Wookie is just the perfect name, haha!

  11. Dying over the puppy cuteness!!

  12. Oh my gosh how cute!!! I have been wanting a Goldendoodle but we are sticking with just one dog. I think that’s all we can handle, lol. I’ve never seen a cavapoo though!! I thought he was just a baby golden at first. Ah they are both just so cute!!

  13. Ahh! What a cute dog! So fun.

  14. So, so cute! It looks like a stuffed animal you sit on your bed!
    Getting a pet for Christmas was always a dream of mine, but since my dad is allergic to fur we could never have dogs or cats. One year I asked for a parakeet for Christmas and Santa brought one! I’m pretty sure it was one of my favorites Christmases ever!

  15. Awww!!!!!! How precious! LOL I really thought that you and Christopher got a puppy, but that’s JUST as awesome that you visit the puppy when you nanny!! Do you have to work on potty training him while you’re over?

    • Not too much. The kids run around and play with him and tire him out (and take him out to go potty frequently) so when the kids go down for naps, Wookie is exhausted too so he just lays down and naps for the afternoon. So it really is an ideal situation. πŸ˜€

  16. Totally looks like a teddy bear! How fun!

  17. what a sweetie pie! i was wondering how you knew this little man when i saw him pop up on your instagram πŸ™‚ kinda makes me wanna get another dog???? guess you’ll just have to post lots of pics for me when you’re watching him πŸ™‚

    • Stay strong, friend! Puppies are a LOT of work! You just need to find a friend who has a puppy for you to visit. They are super awesome to hang out with and not be responsible for all the time, haha! All the chewing and those sharp little teeth… and the peeing all.the.time. Haha! Wookie’s a sweetie and I love him, but I’m glad he doesn’t live with me. I’m thinking we may not get a puppy until we have kids old enough to take care of the puppy (like the family I nanny for). It’s working out well with Wookie! I will definitely post more pictures, though! He’s such a cutie!

  18. Oh my! Wookie is SO cute! What a fun mix of breeds, too! I hope you post lots of pictures on Instagram!! Have fun πŸ™‚

  19. hehe i love that. such a cutie!! i wish i could bring my charlie to work.

  20. oh my!! So cute!! Do they get the non shedding gene as poodles do??

  21. Oh my goodness!!! I cannot handle how adorable he is. And seeing him with Emmit makes me want to get another puppy for Max to play with πŸ™‚

    • Aww! Would Max like a little puppy brother or sister? Oreo tolerates fosters that we’ve taken in, but he’s such a spoiled only child that I’m pretty sure he’d freak out if we actually brought another pet in to stay. πŸ˜‰ Things I need to remember for our human children someday… socialization and sharing is important for your children! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

