The perfect end to our day at Universal Studios

Last Friday I shared with you guys some of our favorite Harry Potter World highlights and today I want to share some of the other fun things we did at Universal Studios while we were there. Starting off, of course, with a photo of us with the big Universal spinning globe!

universal (3)

This is actually not our first time to take a photo here… back in August of 2008 Christopher and I honeymooned in Orlando and took a photo in this exact same spot. Look how cute we were:

universal (4) 2008

D’awww… look at us. Just babies! I miss his long(ish) hair! He keeps it cut short now for work which I also like, but I sure did love those long(er) locks. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyway, back to our visit last month! We chose Universal (instead of Disney) because I really, really,ย reallyย wanted to go to Harry Potter World (don’t worry, Disney, we’ll get you next time!). So we really didn’t look too closely at the other things that Universal offered until a couple of daysย before our trip. And that’s when I found out that they host the Macy’s Holiday Parade in the month of December. This was my actual response when I saw that:

happy surprise
Every year after the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade in NYC, Macy’s sends some of their floats down to Universal Studios for the Macy’s Holiday Parade.

macy's holiday parade

For you to understand how important this is to me, you have to know that I grew up watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade every Thanksgiving with my family. Not to mention growing up watching Miracle on 34th Street every Christmas Eve (which begins with Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade). There is so much love in my heart for Macy’s that when I was there in NYC a couple of months ago, I was floating around on cloud 9. I’ve always wanted to go to the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, but well… it’s cold. And crowded. And I’d rather be with family at Thanksgiving. So this was beyond perfect!

universal (8)

And of course, the absolute best part… Santa waving to us at the very end of the parade. Dreams really do come true… ๐Ÿ˜€

universal (1)

If that wasn’t enough, Mannheim Steamroller also happened to be at Universal Studios playing a free Christmas concert that night. They were incredible! That was definitely Christopher’s favorite part of the night! And then the evening ended with the lighting of a GIANT tree.

universal (5)

That’s me at the bottom of the giant tree next to one of the enormous ornaments! Reminds me of the massive ornaments we saw at the Opryland Hotel last month! Also,ย while I am quite a bit more pale this time of year than the rest of the year, I’m not quite as ghostly as I appear in that photo. Thank you, old point & shoot camera for that. ๐Ÿ˜‰

You guys, it was theย perfect end to our day at Harry Potter World. I am so very thankful that we got to go! ๐Ÿ™‚

Did anyone know about this whole Macy’s-sending-the-ornaments-down-to-Orlando for the Macy’s Holiday Parade? Because that was just an awesome surprise for us!

Would you ever want to go to the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade (or the Macy’s Holiday Parade)?

Have you been to a Mannheim Steamroller concert before? They are so good!

Love Rach

19 responses to “The perfect end to our day at Universal Studios

  1. That’s so awesome that the parade goes to Universal. That is definitely where I would choose to see it versus live in NYC on TG. Like you said – so cold! Orlando in December – not cold. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Looks like you guys had a blast. I’m so glad. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Seeing the Macy’s Day parade holds the same special place in my heart, and I always want to say that it’s a ‘bucket list’ experience for me. (But like you, I don’t want to miss family on Thanksgiving! And – yes – it would make for a cold day to stand outside). Ha, ha. I LOVE that the floats are sent down there for people to experience!! I had no idea this happened, but I might have to go to that parade someday! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m soooooo glad that you had FUN!

  3. Love the then and now picture of you guys!!! You have been together for a LONG time. ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

    I had no idea that the Macy's parade happened more than once or in more than one place! I would have had the same reaction as you…All that beauty in NICE weather?!!? That sounds wonderful! Truth be told, I would actually love to brave a NYC winter once and witness the parade and the craziness in person. We'll see. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great pictures and even better memories!!!

    • Girl, you are so brave! I’d love for you to brave the weather and then blog about it so I can experience it through your eyes, haha! In my head I always think it would be neat to be in NYC for the Macy’s Parade AND on NYE, but then I remember that I hate the cold and crowds, haha!

  4. That is so neat that Universal hosts the Macy’s Holiday Parade! I would love to see it there because I’m with you-it would be neat to see it in NYC, but I’m not all about those crowds! haha.

  5. I think I would freak out over the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade too! I didn’t realize that they did that at Universal! My family was supposed to go to the official parade in NYC for Thanksgiving one year (my sister worked for Macy’s corporate office at the time), but then my sister went and got pregnant, ๐Ÿ˜œ and she had her baby at the beginning of November, so we postponed our trip… And it just never happened. But maybe we’ll go sometime. The upside of watching it on TV is that at least you get to stay warm!

  6. oh this is so cool! meanwhile, i can’t get over that honeymoon picture! y’all are so adorable, and i love how you got the exact same picture during this trip. so cute!

  7. I have always wanted to go to the Macy’s Thanksgiving day parade, but I have two big problems…..cold and my mom’s amazing dressing, lol. I can’t miss her dressing and I am not the best about cold unless I’m going to go play in some snow. But I never knew they sent some of the fun to Orlando. That would be perfect. Sounds like you had great timing for that trip!!

  8. Hey, we went to Universal on this side of the globe (in Singapore!) during Christmas break and also really enjoyed the special Christmas entertainment (though no Macy’s Parade here!). I love Miracle on 34th Street, I bet the parade was awesome!

  9. So cool that the parade comes to Orlando, too…and awesome that you guys got to be there! Also, that TREE!

Leave a Reply

