The Perfect BLT (a picture tutorial)

I love a good BLT. There aren’t a lot of sandwiches that I like, but I really like a good BLT. None of this 1 piece of bacon on crumbly bread with wilted lettuce and half a tomato. No way. If you are going to eat a BLT. Make it a good one. There was one summer when I just about lived on the BLT from Arby’s. Well, that and soft tacos from Taco Bell. Look, don’t judge me. I was in college. 😉 Anyway, I loved that BLT from Arby’s. And recently I was thinking about that BLT and thought I might stop by Arby’s and get one. Well, wouldn’t you know, they don’t have it on the menu anymore! I was appalled! But thankfully I remember all the things I loved about that sandwich so I decided to recreate it at home. Prepare yourself for a very visual recipe. 😉

A Picture Tutorial: The Perfect BLT

The Perfect BLT (1)

You have to start with good quality bread. No cheap-o bread. Something dense is best. I went Italian for this sandwich, but a 9 grain would be really good with this too.

The Perfect BLT (2)

Add Peppered Mayo. One of the most important parts. You need that extra zing. I took a scoop of olive oil mayonnaise and cracked some fresh pepper into it. I added a squirt of lemon juice and it was perfect.

The Perfect BLT (3)

Make sure your peppered mayo covers the entire surface of both slices of bread. You want every bite to be incredible!

The Perfect BLT (4)

Add lettuce. I like red leaf because it’s pretty. Use whatever you like, just be sure it is good and crisp! No wilted lettuce on this majestic sandwich!

The Perfect BLT (5)

Pick a ripe tomato and cut thick slices for your sandwich. Maybe eat a slice or two on the side (with fresh cracked salt and pepper is my fav!).

The Perfect BLT (6)

Ah, yes. Now it’s time to add the bacon. I like center cut bacon in general so that’s what I had on hand for this. It would be even better with thick cut slices. But since I didn’t have this this day, I improvised…

The Perfect BLT (7)

Double the bacon! Perfect! Now, this is looking like a solid BLT!

The Perfect BLT (8)

This is probably obvious, but now it’s time to close your sandwich. And gaze upon the beauty of your artistry.

The Perfect BLT (9)

Now slice it in half. Because sandwiches taste better after they’ve been sliced in half. Also they are a lot easier to eat in halves.

The Perfect BLT (10)

Gaze upon the beauty one last time because that sandwich isn’t going to sit there long once you try a bite. 😉

And that, my friends, concludes today’s picture tutorial of how I make a BLT sandwich. Cheers!
Love Rach

28 responses to “The Perfect BLT (a picture tutorial)

  1. Oh this looks so tasty! I totally agree that sandwiches taste better when they’ve been cut in half.

    And pepper mayo!! Genius. Genius, my friend.

  2. don’t judge me but i don’t think i’ve ever had a BLT. i’m not the biggest fan of bacon, to be honest. i can feel the judgement hahahaha just kidding. that bread looks delicious though.

  3. This is the way I would do my bacon for a blt too!

  4. Yum yum yum! I’m obsessed with sandwiches and lunch meat has been (by far) the hardest thing for me to give up since pregnant – I’ve been living off of BLT’s!!

  5. thehipandthrifty

    BLT. YES. I like mine with cheddar cheese and some mild guacamole, but not too much. MMMMMmmm. Bacon….. 🙂

  6. So, BLTs are my #1 favorite sandwich ever! I would add one essential step to your tutorial: toast the bread first. It makes for a crispier sandwhich and keeps the bread from getting soggy in the middle with the mayo.

    • That’s a good idea! Weirdly enough I only like toasted bread if there’s melty cheese involved, ha! But Christopher loves crispy things always. I should try toasting the bread for his BLT the next time we make them. He’d like that!

  7. The mayo….genius! Now I want a BLT…so badly. YUM!!!

  8. I am now CRAVING a BLT! Gasp, this looks so good!! (Although I’ve never tried it with un-toasted bread, now that I think of it. But I certainly wouldn’t discriminate! There’s bacon in the sandwich. Enough said, it’s delish)! 🙂
    I like how you ‘doctored’ the mayo a bit. I’ve never tried that, but I will in the future! It all sounds sooooo good!! 🙂
    If only I could reach into my computer and grab that sandwich for a taste. Ha, ha. YUM!

    • Let me know what you think if you try the peppered mayo! It’s so yummy! And you aren’t the only one to mention toasted bread being an important part of a BLT. I tend to only like crispy bread if there’s melty cheese involved (ha!), but Christopher likes it all the time! So I should try making his with toasted bread next time! That’s a great idea! 🙂

  9. I never thought to add a little pepper to the mayo. This looks way too good… I love that you gave pictures of each step to make sure to pass the craving along. 😉

  10. love the idea of the pepper…genius!

  11. haha I love the photo tutorial! I don’t eat bacon (I know!), but I love a good veggie/cheese sammy. 🙂

  12. Oh I love a good crisp BLT! Do you ever watch The Kitchen? I like their sandwich rule on mayo or sauces….”crust to crust in a must” lol. Definitely a must.

  13. Love this! I am so with you on spreading condiments all the way across the bread. So important!! You’re so right that sandwiches literally taste better when they’re cut in half, haha.

  14. I LOVE BLT’s! And yours looks delicious. I’m feeling a bit ripped off though, because never ever has Canadian Arby’s carried a BLT! I hate when chains withhold that kind of goodness from us! 😉

Leave a Reply

