A Surprise Visit!

This weekend was filled with so many good things! I can’t fit all the goodness into one post so there will be a couple to cover it all. We celebrated my grandparents’ 58th anniversary this weekend so my oldest sister and her family flew in from Prague to surprise them! Which meant that for the first time in 3 years I got to spend the weekend with all three of my sisters and their families! Not to mention all my aunts & uncles and cousins on my dad’s side! It was a packed house, but in the best way. 🙂

sisters2.jpg

All four of us together. I am so beyond grateful for my sisters! Getting to spend the weekend with all three of them was wonderful!

with katka and marek

And of course getting to see my niece & nephew who live in Prague was so great. It’s been 14 months since we last saw them and my gracious, they have grown so much in that time!

christopher with the kids2.jpg

That’s four of our nieces and nephews crawling all over their uncle Christopher. He’s such a good sport. They literally sat all over him and parroted back everything he said. Kids figure him out pretty quickly – he’s a big ol’ softy when it comes to giving them all his attention and just about anything they ask for. So naturally they adore him. 🙂

the fam.jpg

13 of the 18 members of my immediately family. Missing my brother, Matt & his family who weren’t able to make it. I sure do love this crew!

Have you ever surprised family with a visit? My grandparents were SO thrilled! And the rest of us loved having Melissa’s family present as well! 🙂

Do you have nieces & nephews? Do you find yourself being slightly mauled with love by them? 😉 

Love Rach

20 responses to “A Surprise Visit!

  1. Family time is the best! So glad you got to surprise your grandparents!

  2. that is so wonderful!! i’m glad you got to see them.

  3. How cool that they made a surprise trip for the party! I bet your grandparents were thrilled. 58 years! Congrats to them. Their family legacy does them proud, I’m sure.

  4. Awwww, how AWESOME is that!?! My heart is so happy for you! I can’t imagine having sisters live so far.
    With family so close, I’ve never had the oppertunity to do a surprise visit like that. (Although I remember how excited everyone was when I came back from Florida on college visits. But I was only gone for a few months at a time! ha, ha). 🙂 What a fun thing to do for your grandparents!
    And since Brady is the first grandchild on both my side and Nate’s side, neither Nate or I have any nieces or nephews. I can tell it’s fun to have them though!!
    P.S. I love that your grandparents were married for so long. 🙂 So sweet and beautiful!

    • Yes! This is why I love all your family posts! I love the idea of living close to all my siblings! Tell you what, if you want to surprise successive, you can surprise visit me in Memphis any time! 😉

      I have three older siblings and the closest one to me in age is 5.5 years older so they have had lots of years to be giving us nieces and nephews. 😉 I’m sure you and Nate will be naturals at spoiling your nieces and nephews someday! 🙂

  5. Aww, I love this! What a special weekend! There’s nothing better than family time 🙂 Happy Anniversary to your grandparents!!

  6. ❤ ❤ ❤ this is fantastic.

  7. aww this is so wonderful! i can’t remember the last time my family were all together, that’s so lovely. happy anniversary to your grandparents!

  8. I’m so happy you could spend time with your sisters! And nieces and nephews. So cute! I don’t have any nieces or nephews yes… I hope to one day. I so want to experience that!

    • Oh my goodness, you will be such a fun Aunt!! All your nieces and nephews are going to adore you! Because (a) you make incredible bread and I had an aunt who made incredible bread and I thought she was AWESOME and (b) I’m guessing you will always have pets – or at least some in & out of your house (and my aunt who had a dog was the coolest in my book!) aaaand (c) you’re just so much fun! Yes, yes, you will be the “cool” aunt! 🙂

  9. Aww, this is adorable! I love that you got to surprise your grandparents. And you and your sisters are all so cute!

  10. Pingback: An Anniversary Celebration! |

Leave a Reply

