This is my Fight Song

Over the past couple of years I have received some difficult news from my doctor. Recently I got hit with another wave of difficult news from the doc. There have been moments in the past couple of years when we have grieved and been worried and we have definitely experienced those feelings in the past month, but like every time we hear hard news – we don’t stayย there. Looking back, it’s amazing to me how much we have grown over this time. Each trial that comes our way, just draws us closer together. We are fighting this. Side by side. Hand in hand.

Lately I’ve had the chorus to Fight Song by Rachel Platten stuck in my head. Do you guys know this song? The whole song doesn’t really fit my situation, but the chorus is spot on. Check it out here:

This is my fight song
Take back my life song
Prove I’m alright song
My power’s turned on
Starting right now I’ll be strong
I’ll play my fight song
And I don’t really care if nobody else believes
‘Cause I’ve still got a lot of fight left in me!

Awesome, right? If you want to cry, watch this version where Rachel Platten sings it with a kid who is fighting cancer.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s important to deal with grief. I wrote about that a little bit here. We are definitely working through the difficult feelings and moments. But that’s not the end of it. We are looking forward. We literally name our blessings every day. Because we are grateful, but also to remind us of all the good in our lives.ย We are full of hope. And we are fighting this together.

Thanks friends for sticking with me through some of the more emotion filled posts. You guys are awesome. ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you have a “Fight Song” that you play on repeat when you are dealing with something difficult?
Love Rach

37 responses to “This is my Fight Song

  1. That’s a great fight song! I usually listen to “I’m Alive” by Kenny Chesney.
    Hugs my friend-praying for more blessings for you.

  2. Love that song! Praying for you both, Rach! โค

    -Tia

  3. Love this and you, friend. You’ve got the fight and you and Christopher are stronger than ever.

  4. “…but like every time we hear hard news โ€“ we donโ€™t stay there” love what you said there!! I think that is the one of the most important things after going through a hard time. You take time to process and grieve, and then you plan for the future. Live in the present and plan for the future. That’s why I try to do! It’s sometimes very hard, but when you have amazing people beside you, it’s a little easier :). Praying for you, Rach! Love ya!

  5. I’m sorry to hear this, Rachel. I’ll keep you in my prayers. I don’t have one particular song but more ones that speak to me in different situations, if that makes sense. But I know the song you’re talking about. It’s a good one!

    • I know what you mean about different songs that speak to you in different situations. I have a whole list of songs and scriptures that I turn to depending on the situation. ๐Ÿ™‚ I started to list a couple of my favorites, but the list started getting long, haha! So suffice it to say that I know what you mean. ๐Ÿ™‚ And thank you so much for the prayers! We so appreciate them!

  6. You are such an inspiration. Your thankfulness at all times is a beautiful testimony. Love you!

  7. I am sorry that you are having a tough time. I am sending you a big hug!
    I think all these things just make us stronger!

  8. Sorry to hear you are going through a difficult time, but I love how you always stay positive and remember all the great things you have going for you in your life. It’s definitely an attitude we could all benefit from adopting ourselves!

    • It’s hard to focus on the bad when you are literally naming your blessings out loud. We are dealing with the difficult moments, but we don’t want to live our life in those moments. We want to be able to step outside ourselves and take an honest look at life. And we honestly have been blessed with so much. Each day is such a blessing. We don’t ever want to lose sight of that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. i hope everything is okay darl. thinking of you!

    this song is great. i love when you find a song that speaks to you, and this one is so inspiring.

  10. I’m sorry to hear this Rach. I can totally relate to receiving difficult news from the doctor and having to emotionally hold myself together and stay positive. I’ll be praying for you, and if you ever need to chat with someone who might understand a little of what you’re going through– I’m here!

  11. Pingback: Photography Favorites: Kiddos |

  12. My brother told me about this song recently and I LOVE it!!! She has a great voice and this song carries sooo much power with it. Have you ever heard her song “Remark”?!?!? I love that one too: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dKYNMy4ZxKE

    We serve a great God, Rach. As much as it hurts, watching you trust Him is so beautiful.

  13. Sending so much love and so many hugs! Life is so unfair and cruel sometimes. But I truly believe that (although grieving is important, as you said), focusing on the good and on the blessings in each day will truly help you keep that smile on your face. It’s okay (and healthy) to cry sometimes! But I love how no one can steal the joy that God gives us, even if happiness is difficult due to circumstances.
    You are such a beautiful person, inside and out. I pray that God brings healing and an abundance of blessings!

    • “But I love how no one can steal the joy that God gives us, even if happiness is difficult due to circumstances.” Amen! So true! Thank you so much, precious friend. You know how much your prayers and support mean to me. Love you!

  14. That song makes me feel so empowered every time I sing the chorus! Thoughts and prayers during this time. I’m glad you are able to keep counting blessings even when you get bad news. It’s sometimes hard and definitely easy to get down and only see the bad. Stay positive and keep looking at positives and lessons to come from the hardships.

  15. Some have said that this song is hokey, but I actually really enjoy it!

  16. hugs and prayers for y’all in this time of need!!

  17. thehipandthrifty

    a) I never heard a live version of that song! It rules!
    b) Meep! That video DID make me cry! I love how spunky the kid was, too! :’)
    c) This post and the one it led to were so powerful. Keep that spirituality and trust in God in your heart and you can’t lose, no matter what the circumstances. ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Praying for you, friend!! You have such a wonderful perspective…your words and attitude are so inspiring. Also, I love Rachel Platten, and I knew that song, but weirdly didn’t know she sang it. The video with the child…oh my goodness. It definitely made me cry!

    • Thank you so much, precious friend! You are such a blessing to me!

      I know, right?! The little kid singing “fight song” is just super emotional! What a strong little fighter! And it puts things in perspective at the same time. We have a lot to be grateful for!

Leave a Reply

