A dusting of snow

We don’t get a lot of snow here in Memphis. Every year we get a dusting or two of snow and then usually in February or early March (or sometimes both) we have an ice storm that comes and sometimes includes a bit of snow on top of the ice. It snows all around us (north & south) several times during the winter, but because of our position on the river, we tend to not get snow. So when we do, it’s a cause for celebration.

us2

Especially for my sweet husband who grew up in Illinois where he had snow all winter long. Snow is one of his absolute favorite things so every time we get even a dusting, he is like a kid again. πŸ™‚

us3

I love how magical snow makes everything. I’m not a cold-weather person in general. But if it has to be cold, then there should definitely be snow. Most definitely. πŸ™‚

shoes in the snow

Last year we took photos on a day when we got snowed in and they turned out to be some of my favorite photos we took of us last year. So on Saturday morning we went to a park and took these shots. Which I absolutely love, love, love.

us1

The snow is gone today. Most of it melted Saturday afternoon and what was left melted yesterday. But it was magical while it was here. I look forward to our next snow fall! πŸ™‚

Does it snow much where you live?

Love Rach

39 responses to “A dusting of snow

  1. Aw, what cute photos!

  2. Awww, these photo’s are so adorable! I’m so glad that you were able to play in the snow before it melted.
    Normally we get LOTS of snow, but this winter has been strangely void of it. (I think it’s due to that El Nino weather pattern, or something like that). Anyway, we haven’t had one decent snowstorm yet… just flurries here and there. It’s quite odd, and I almost miss it. (I happen to agree with you… I hate the cold, but – if it has to be cold – then there should be snow). I wanted to bring Brady sliding on a little hill, but there really isn’t enough snow yet.
    On the other hand, our temps haven’t been as cold either. It’s been in the 20’s or 30’s range, instead of the negatives or the single digits. Sooooo, I’m pretty happy about THAT! πŸ™‚

    • Oh man, that’s crazy you guys haven’t had a ton of snow! I just assumed that you did. Especially with all the storms that blew through the north this past week! I always think of it as being really snowy where you live because of that vlog you did with you and Sarah in the snow. I bet you’ll get snow yet this winter! And I’m sure Brady will LOVE it when you do! πŸ™‚

  3. I love these shots and that blue blanket is such a pretty touch. What a nice color and a beautiful knit! I wish we would get a dusting of snow a few times a year πŸ™‚

    • My sister made that blanket for me! She gave it to me at Christmas and I just love it! πŸ™‚

      It’s funny you mention the lack of snow because it makes me think of Avalon growing up and not seeing snow in person. Which makes me think of my sister’s kids (yup, the same sister who made the blanket for me). They live in south Alabama and rarely even get flurries. Her kiddos love to “travel north” to visit us (which, yes we are north of them, but we’re not exactly “the north” ha!) and see the little bit of snow we get every year. The first snow that they got to see was a pretty big deal for them. πŸ™‚ Hopefully you can take your little one to see snow one of these winters! πŸ™‚

  4. Love these photos! So cute and pretty! We don’t get a lot of snow in Texas either (just those ice storms you mentioned), but we are living in Chicago for a year, and it snows here a lot!

    • Oh man! I’m sure it does! My husband is from a town in Illinois just south of Chicago and his photos of the snow they got every year when he was growing up are pretty incredible. By the way, I hope you are enjoying Chicago! I love that city! πŸ™‚

  5. awwwww how cute are these photos! i am not a cold weather person at all, and i really don’t hate snow that much lol i just hate driving in it. it sure can be pretty though!

  6. I love these pictures! Definite framers πŸ™‚ We have a lot of snow up here in Michigan, the ground is pretty much covered from December – April, haha!

    • ​Thank you, sweet friend! I’m having a couple of them printed for our mantle! πŸ™‚

      I don’t know how you do it with all the cold! I get whiny about the cold from January-March here, haha! And it’s honestly only *really *cold for about half that time. I can’t imagine December-April with snow! It’d be beautiful, but so so cold!

  7. These pics are gorgeous! I love the idea to wrap up in a blanket together for them. This winter has been a little more mild in New England (still some snow but nothing like last year) and I am enjoying the break this season.

    • Thank you, sweet friend! I loved how these shots turned out! The blanket was a handmade gift from my sister and the perfect addition to these wintery photos! πŸ™‚

      I’m glad you’ve had a break from the crazy cold this year!

  8. cuties!! frame, frame, frame these!!

  9. Such cute photos! I really wish we have some snow like that this year.

  10. Yay for a “snow day”!!!! πŸ™‚ It’s beautiful and the pictures you guys took are TOO!!!!

  11. I adore these photos!! Perfect photo opp for you two adorable people.

  12. Aww, this is so sweet! I love that you take joy in the little things, like freshly fallen snow. It really is so beautiful. I’m glad you were able to get some gorgeous pictures to remember it, too! I also agree that if it’s going to be cold, it might as well snow πŸ™‚

  13. I LOVE warm weather, but pics like this make me kinda wish we had snow!!! πŸ™‚

  14. I big love these photos! I need to find a great Tipton county location for snow photos. We got a pretty decent amount of snow Friday (for us) and it kept snowing on and off throughout the day.

  15. thehipandthrifty

    Aww, this is such a sweet post! πŸ™‚

  16. These photos are so adorable!! I especially love the ones of you guys with the blanket. I totally agree with your take on snow (only fresh snow though, not the gross dirty stuff we have here now.) I definitely take all the pretty photo ops for granted since it’s snowy here so much of the time!

    • It’s funny… we pretty much never have dirty gross snow because snow never stays around long enough to get gross. Maybe 2-3 days at most. So I rarely see the dirty stuff. I’ll see pictures on the news of brown/grey snow on the sides of the road and I’m always a little surprised because I forget it doesn’t always melt the day after it snows everywhere else, ha!

      Ps. speaking of photo ops… I miss your fashion posts! And your foodie posts. And really all your posting, ha! Do I need to have Steve bribe you into blogging more? πŸ˜‰

  17. These pictures are so cute! I love the idea of wrapping yourselves up in a blanket! Who did you get to take them? On Jan 25, 2016 9:17 AM, “WordPress.com” wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “We don’t get a lot of snow here in > Memphis. Every year we get a dusting or two of snow and then usually in > February or early March (or sometimes both) we have an ice storm that comes > and sometimes includes a bit of snow on top of the ice. It snows all aro” >

Leave a Reply

